We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“" had a great time, wish we were back"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zorbas Beach Hotel

Save Saved
You added Zorbas Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Zorbas Beach Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Tigkaki, Tigaki 85300, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 22 hotels in Tigaki
Greenock, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“" had a great time, wish we were back"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Arrived at hotel at 3am to be greeted by very friendly receptionist, check in was very quick and we were told that sandwiches and drinks were left at the bar for us. Room was lovely (243), pool view, just behind the pool bar. Room was cleaned everyday with fresh towels, maid was very friendly. Air conditioning was amazing, best I think we've ever had. We would like to say a special thank you to anna maria, the hotel reservations manager, who arranged for us to see a family room, which was bigger than we had but was a bit further to the pool. We spent our time at the main pool were all the entertainment goes on, and there's plenty of it! There was always sunbeds available throughout the day. The Thomas Cook entertainment team are amazing, Ricky, Katy, Natalie and Owen who joined near the end of our holiday. They work so hard, always playing different games for both adults and children around the pool and entertaining the guests at night with many different shows. They were so friendly especially Katy and Ricky who always came and spoke to you and gave us some great laughs! You both really made our holiday especially our daughter Abbie who loved getting involved in all the activities. The kids club also run by Thomas cook reps were also very friendly and although our daughter never attended, they still made us very welcome. There is also another two pools, one of which is adults only. The hotel is spotless from the pool areas to the reception area. Staff were always extremely friendly and were always willing to help. The food and soft drinks were dissapointing. The soft drinks were not the usual coke cola, fanta etc but very cheap tasting alternatives. The food we felt was the same stuff over and over again. The salad bar and the desserts were lovely.There was a children buffet approximately 4 nights out of 14 and it was the same things as adults only in a different place. We have been going all inclusive for a very long time and we expected a better choice. The location of the hotel is about 20min walk from centre were you will find lots of restaurants and souvenir shops. You can get a taxi in for 6 euros or the bus for 2 euros each. The beach here is beautiful and has lots of water sports available. On our departure we had paid when we booked our holiday to keep our room till 6pm but had asked to extend this, and again Anna Maria arranged for us to keep our rooms till 9pm for an extra 10 euros. When we got picked up by the coach Katy and Ricky both came to say goodbye and came on the bus to give us a send off speech which was very nice and unexpected. zorbas beach is a beautifull hotel and we would certainly go back and recommend it.

Room Tip: Room 243 has pool view, and is far enough away from entertainment stage to cause any disturbance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
george l, Διευθυντής at Zorbas Beach Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Guests,

Staff and management thank you for your comments.We hope to see you soon.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

431 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    164
    177
    67
    12
    11
See reviews for
186
150
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

Lovely, clean hotel. A good variety of food and lots of it. Greek night at the a la carte was superb. Pools are spacious and clean. Good sized room and effective air con. Thomas Cook reps, Phil and Becca, were lovely, so friendly. Did 3 trips : Bodrum, good apart from jewellery shop stop; Nissyros - beautiful, a great day; Waterpark - good fun, though time there could be a little longer. A VERY surly, rude driver did put a dampener on the day though. He picked us up 45 mins late so lost that time at the park, then screamed at my son who had taken a bite of his roll on the coach, though no signs anywhere saying no food or drink and hadn't been told not to- wouldn't have been a problem, but we should have been told, as he obviously found it a problem! A minor blip and nothing to do with the hotel.
Entertainment team lovely and very friendly. Kids Club team absolute stars - my children loved it with them and the signing in and out system was very secure and I knew I could relax while they were with them. Children really enjoyed the mini disco and evening entertainment.
Thank you Katie, Natalie, Ricky, Shaun, Lauren, Tina, Emma and anyone else I haven't mentioned - you made my children's holiday!
Only negative of hotel are the air hockey, table football and pool tables - two out of order and the other in high demand. Ideally, should be free as they cost a euro a time and most parents were pestered constantly for money for the games.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
george l, Διευθυντής at Zorbas Beach Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for your comments about the personal and Thomas Cook team.About the games (billiard,air-hockey,etc.) ,we're sorry but sometimes because of so much use are broken.We called the technician and he was coming as soon as possible.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Just returned from a very relaxing holiday at the Zorbas Beach Hotel. From the moment we arrived to when we left the staff were fantastic. Food was of good quality and there were three pools to chose from with towels provided. Definately would go again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
george l, Διευθυντής at Zorbas Beach Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Dear Guests,

Staff and management thank you very much for your comments.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Just back from a relaxing two weeks in Kos at the Zorbas Hotel located just a short distance from Tigaki.

Great hotel, although the word is loose; in actuality the 'area' is a collection of apartments built around three swimming pools. It's billed as a four star but if all of us who have stayed there are being honest, the accreditation is generous. No more than three stars in my opinion.

Ok then, let's get to the nub of the review. Pros and Cons. Much easier to list than write prosaic prose.

Here we go.

Cons.
* Food. As a veteran of AI holidays, I can say that the chefs and management fall way short in terms of variety and quality that is required to claim four stars. What they serve is adequate and no-one will ever go hungry, but a full review by the Management is required with special attention to be paid to the snack bar (operating between main meal times) which is simply awful. Tea and coffee should be available in the main restaurant too at lunch and dinner - a major mistake not to do this in my opinion. Of the three meals on offer, breakfast is the best, with the worst being the evening stuff. Oh, and stay away from the so-called a la carte part. Regurgitated food from the main restaurant is what is served there - be warned.
* Night Time Entertainment. This critique is done with a heavy heart as the Thomas Cook team really do work very hard and operate in a long day environment. They really try their best, but outwith the participatory part of their 'set' - Rock the Room - the show time segment is poor. I couldn't understand why they bother with this section as it is clearly rubbish. The interactive stuff was/is much better and involved the guests who were really keen to take part. Why not a Karaoke? Perhaps more games? Evening bar staff too are very surly, especially the young lad who was on duty the entire two weeks we were there. Ricky, Katy and Natalie are great fun and as above really do work their cotton socks off, but lack experience (and it shows).


Pros
* Very clean all over the facility. Rooms are generous in size and are cleaned every day to a good standard.
* Staff in the restaurant area are brilliant and they work very hard. They deserve special credit given that their supervisor is a right royal pain in the backside, who at every opportunity likes to have a go at his charges for minor offences in front of guests. A terrible management style which reflects badly on the establishment.
* Location. What? Really? Yes, really. Located just a 15 min walk from Tigaki and a 20 min bus ride to Kos Town, it's perfect. Many other reviews have a gripe about where Zorbas is situated and fair enough, but for me, it's not an issue and a real bonus.
* Three pools. Fantastic. If you want to join in with a wee bit of action during the day, there is a family pool, if you want away from that and take the kids too a further area is available (great size and at the front of the complex facing the sea) and then there is the restful adults only pool free from kids. Oh, and plenty sunbeds too, which meant a decent sleep and no early morning scrambling for position at any of the pools.

Summary? If you are looking for a restful holiday and are really not fussy about what you eat, then book Zorbas. We had a great time and had a ball, but it's not a place we will be returning to, however on the whole would recommend. Four out of five is about right, with half a star knocked off each for the food and entertainment.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
george l, Διευθυντής at Zorbas Beach Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Guests,

I think you had a nice time in our hotel.About those you didn't like,we will try to do our best,because we want our guests be satisfied.Thank you for your comments.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

This was our first all inclusive package holiday, and we were very impressed. As soon as we arrived the quality of the staff was superb, we arrived late but the food was made available to us, the hotel was clean, lovely layout and the food was high quality with a good selection every day. The pool bars were brilliant and the staff were fantastic and friendly. The Thomas Cook entertainment team were absolutely fabulous they kept the kids busy and the kids clubs were great to give the kids a break from the sun and 5 mins peace for the adults too. Overall a fantastic holiday and we will definitely go back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
george l, Διευθυντής at Zorbas Beach Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for your comments. We are looking forward to see you again.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leicester
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

we arrived at the zorbas with a open mind and left very happy the room was very clean and spacious the hotel overall was well set out and very clean the food was high quality from 7.30am until 11.30pm we stayed around the big pool which was made even better by the entertainers ricky katy and natalie who all worked very hard they made the nights entertainment well worth staying up for all in all a very good holiday our daughter loved the kids club excellent team

Room Tip: we had a family room on the second floor 615 very spacious and clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
george l, Διευθυντής at Zorbas Beach Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Guests,

Staff and management thank you for your comments.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

First impressions I was disappointed, didn't feel like four star, however facilities like the choice of three pools, plenty of sunbeds. Food in general was pretty good even for a veggie. Couple of good bars in tigaki strip and everyone is pretty friendly. The Thomas cook team at Zorbas were fantastic all friendly and pretty easy to talk to. They do an amazing job considering how long they work :0) they always have something happening throughout the day and into the evening. Evening entertainment was always something different and they involve all people who wish to be involved. We had a really good time every night it would be one reason I'd go back to Zorbas. A huge thanks to the entertainment team (Natalie, Ricky and Katy) it's always nice to get away but even better when the evenings are fun.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
george l, Διευθυντής at Zorbas Beach Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for your comments. We hope to see you again.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Zorbas Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zorbas Beach Hotel

Address: Tigkaki, Tigaki 85300, Greece
Location: Greece > Dodecanese > Kos > Tigaki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Tigaki
#6 Family Hotel in Tigaki
#6 Romantic Hotel in Tigaki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Zorbas Beach Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Zorbas Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Zorbas Beach
Zorbas Beach Tigaki
Zorbas Beach Hotel Kos/Tigaki, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zorbas Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.