We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FAB” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mayflower Apartments

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tigaki
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mayflower Apartments
Save
You added Mayflower Apartments to your Saves list
Tigaki, Tigaki 85300, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Tigaki
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“FAB”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Had the pleasure of staying at these apartments for two weeks end of September. Elia and Christos and all the staff were wonderful and contributed to a wonderful holiday, you really become part of the family. Rooms are kept immaculate by the friendly cleaners who always greet you with a smile. BBQ night is a must, great food and dancing. I could go on and on praising this place but all the other reviews say it all. Book it and you wont be disappointed.
Special mention to friends we made whilst staying there, Jen and Morris and Nigel and Elaine, thanks for the memories:)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    15
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
64
81
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

This was our 3rd time at the Mayflower, yet another wonderful holiday. Really not much more to say than all the other reviews but then if they were not true would hvae not been returning for the third time. Pre this holiday had alredy booked to go back in May next year but will not be as a couple but with our two grandchildren and daughter....looking forward to that. Many thanks once again to every one at the Mayflower for the great welcome and being able to stay at these lovely apartments. By the look of the reviews better build some more, My advise book early.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leek, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Just returned from our first to the Mayflower apartments and can honestly say it was one of the best holidays we have had as a family. We were welcomed by Elia and her son Christos, who treated us like long lost friends.
The apartments themselves are well maintained and are a good size. The whole staff work tirelessly to keep the rooms, pool area and bar spotless. We stayed in room 103, which overlooked the mountains. The location of the apartments is really good, as they are a few hundreds meters to the main road down into town and beach.
There are plenty of restaurants and bars to keep you entertained in the evenings. We used Sagitarius, Vassilas and Spyros for food and there was a quality kebab fast food place.
The beach is extremely long and sandy, though it was quite windy on the 2 occasions we went there.

I used the services of Silia travel in Tingaki for a day trip to Turkey and Paradise Beach. Both days were really good value and Nicos the bus driver was really helpful and friendly.

The local bus service gave us the opportunity to travel to Kos town both in the day and night, which we all really enjoyed and at €2 per person was a bargain.

Overall I would highly recommend Kos as a place to visit and in particular the resort of Tingaki and the Mayflower Apartments. Indeed, we are already looking to return there in 2014.

Room Tip: Room 103 is on the lower ground and has stunning views of the mountains. The rooms overlooking the p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We stayed here as a family of four (2 separate rooms) in September 2013. We had a first floor sea facing room and a ground floor mountain facing room, both of which were more than adequate and had very pleasant views. From the moment we arrived, Elia and her team were friendly and welcoming - genuinely so. As we were tired from travelling, we ate in the Mayflower for the first night and sampled a variety of the dishes on the menu as a kind of meze between us. Debbie, who does the majority of the cooking, is a delight and her food is excellent - sourced from her own farm. The Soutsoukakia meatballs are to die for, as is her delicious rice.

The bus up to Kos town is regular; 25 past the hour going, on the hour coming back (except for 12 and 2) and costs 2Euros each way. Kos town is well worth a visit (at least once) as the area around the harbour is a gorgeous maze of winding cobbled streets with plenty of shops, bars and tavernas. Also well worth a visit is the 13th Century Fortress of Kos (3 Euros entry. Concessions for over 65s) also the ancient Agora, Western Archaeological site and Roman Odeon. The only slight frustration with the archaeological site was that there didn't seem to be any info boards or site maps to explain what you were looking at. Still, my fiancée and I had fun making up our own explanations - some likely and some.. err.. probably not so likely.

If you have time, we would highly recommend an island tour taking you up to the ancient Asclepeion (remains of what is said to be the first ever hospital), the lovely mountain village of Zia, Pyli, Antimachia and Kefalos. We also visited the thermal hot water springs of Thermes. Be warned; when they say hot water, they mean hot water!

Car rental is readily available and the island is very easy to navigate, It only takes about an hour to drive from end to end and most places can be reached within 20 minutes.

In Tigaki village itself, there are a wealth of bars, tavernas, tourist shops and supermarkets as well as 2 ATMs. The Tavernas we found to be reasonably priced and offered a wide choice of good quality food.

Everyone on the island of Kos were welcoming and friendly, even the border guards at the airport were jovial!

We also took the opportunity of enjoying the weekly Greek BBQ night at the Mayflower which was terrific value at 12Euros each for which you get a huge plate of BBQ chicken, pork souvlakia, stuffed tomato or pepper, salad, potatoes, bread and tzatziki followed by traditional Greek dancing (audience participation is mandatory!)

Minor grumbles: the beds are very hard and with Kos being an agricultural Island, there are a lot of farms nearby. Therefore if you have a sea facing room, be prepared for noisy cockerels and dogs which seem to sleep in the day and come out at night! As a result, sleep quality was compromised a little but this did not ruin an otherwise fantastic holiday.

Will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Sea view rooms have lovely views of the sea and surrounding islands but tend to be slightly noisier...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for the last week in August, arrived home yesterday. The apartments are very well looked after, food, bar, pool and grounds are all excellent and this is capped off by delightful staff. Nothing too much trouble and would not hesitate to recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Stayed at the Mayflower from 17th to 28th Aug 2013. After reading all reviews carefully we decided this was the place for us - not on main road, not in town, close to reataurants & Beach, good bus service into town, small facility family run. Chose Tingaki after reading that Beaches were good and they were - nice sand and gentle slope into water with tavernas off the beach and plenty of affordable loungers/parasols for hire - some free!
The Mayflower - was clean, plenty of space around the lovely 25m pool, staff and other guests friendly, simple food available all day, well-stocked bar, Greek Night good fun, pool and table tennis, free WiFi in reception area,
We had a one-bedroom apartment in the annex which was great (302) and away from the bar and pool but only a 30sec walk. All the basics were there - power shower, separate kitchen and bedroom (Matress was on the hard side but I never got backache - I took my own firm pillow to avoid neck-ache, the supplied pillows are typically European, very thin and small. You will need to take a reading light if you read before sleep as there is only one main light in the bedroom) with single bed in main room, TV with couple of English news channels (but had no tie to watch it anyway!) Kitchen had sink, Fridge, Hot Plate, Kettle, 4 sets of bowls plates glasses cups etc. (BRING YOUR OWN BREAD KNIFE THOUGH). Hairdryer in bedroom. Air-con in Lounge and in Bedroom (€10 per day). Balcony went right around 2 sides of ther apartment with table & chairs for relaxing.
Bar stays open till 2am (officially) but Cristos will stay and help you drink till breakfast if you want. A great host.
We took Mosi spay and electric units for the bedrooms but did not need them.
15min walk to beach (we walk briskly though) and on the way you can pass a good Bakery open all day. Lots of Restaurants in Tingaki - in our view best was DANA just off the beach (Eat there and get free loungers and parasol on the beach) next to Miki's Bar (other reviewers like Miki's Bar but we never saw it in action so can't comment but plenty of others in Tingaki. Avoid Sagitarius this year as some guest complained about the food. Also think twice about MENI - food reported good but service very slow. Of the others you have much choice but Spyros do great bread and Lamb Kleftiko is fantastic - Nissiotiko quite nice and Vassilis also good (has wood burning Pizza oven for a taste of home!
Do hire a Car (3 days is enough) and get to Mastichari, Paradise Beach (Bubble Beach), Thermes - the thermal beach outside Kos Town, Zia (Book a table on the Roof Garden at Olympia2 for a sunset dinner), Asklepieio - for the Roman ruins and the Hippocrates Hostpital. Use the bus to get to Kos (€2 each way) and visit the Templar Castle for great views over Kos Town.
On the main road near the Mayflower is a winery which is good for a short visit and to buy some good wine (the Rose is very good). Drink the House wine in most reataurants - cheap and quite nice.
Temp. was between 30-35degC each day and no sign of clouds. Tnigaki Beach gets windy someties which helps cool it down a little - very nice. All beaches have showers (why don't we do that in UK??) and the toilet facilities in the Cafes are usually very clean.
Great thing about Kos for us was that it was never too crowded, food was always good quality and usually a good price, great weather, beaches, pool and everyone was friendly with good enough English.
Go and enjoy. :-)

Room Tip: Try to book the annex but if not choose a mountain view rather than one overlooking the Pool if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed at the mayflower with my partner and nine year old twins 31st july -10th August, like most reviewers we couldnt fault it. Lovely large immaculately clean appartments with balconies facing Zia, in fact the whole complex was spotless. The family and staff that run this business were very welcoming and nice food if you wish to eat there and fabulous cocktails prepared with great expertise by Christos. A little off the beaten track but that was perfect a little oasis nice and quiet, ten fifteen minute walk to the beach. We ate only once in Tingaki whilst on the beach and the staff were really nice. We did a few trips through Thomson which were fantastic and one which we booked in town which was much cheaper and a bit of a disaster, We can recommend the fish and grill with Captain Yiannis it was the best laugh out on his boat do some fishing and sail to his private cove for some snorkeling were he barbeques the fish that is caught amongst other delicious food, seconds and thirds and some wine if you like. He was funny and happy and generous with his hospitalily and even let the children sail the boat! Also a trip to Nisyros to see the live volcano we had a great tour guide very knowledgable. Zia by night to see the sunset and a lovely meal.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mayflower Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayflower Apartments

Address: Tigaki, Tigaki 85300, Greece
Location: Greece > Dodecanese > Kos > Tigaki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tigaki
#2 Family Hotel in Tigaki
Number of rooms: 21
Also Known As:
Mayflower Apartments Tigaki
Mayflower Apartments Hotel Tigaki
Mayflower Apartments Kos/Tigaki, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mayflower Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.