We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Self catering in Tigaki, Kos” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Angela Tingaki

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tigaki
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Angela Tingaki
Save
You added Angela Tingaki to your Saves list
Tigaki, Tigaki 85300, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Tigaki
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Self catering in Tigaki, Kos”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2011

We got a last minute deal to Tigaki, Kos and were allocated the Angela Apartments before we left. For under £200 per person for the week (flights, transfers, accommodation) we are not complaining.

The apartment was as expected - it was a standard lower than the economy rooms at Butlins but with the added bonus of being in Greece.

Our apartment was dirty on arrival (sheets / floor / shower) but we cleaned this ourselves. The kettle was a bit dangerous not turning off and burning hands so we had to pull the plug out of the wall to stop it continually boiling. There was a loose plug socket and an extremely temperamental shower that went from a dribble to a jet wash, from scalding to freezing. However, the apartments are not far out and the general shared areas are fine. On arrival George and Nikki were very friendly. As we spent very little time at the apartments (we wanted to see Kos and Tigaki, the beach, sunset, town etc and not just the very small pool bar) we were not as well received as those that spent all days at the apartments spending their money at Angelas although we did purchase groceries at their supermarket.

The trip felt a bit expensive due to currency exchange rates and our £ not going so far, this is just an observation and not anything to do with Angelas! Would we go back - yes, definitely to Tigaki and possibly to Angelas if there was a good enough deal to be had - however, on our travels there are many many apartments for rent in Tigaki, some are beach front and most have a better location - I would probably pay a bit more for different accommodation...

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    57
    21
    10
    14
See reviews for
42
99
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

Me and my girlfriend stayed at The Angela on the 15th - 22nd July, we booked it last minute meaning that it didn't cost too much (under £200 each).

We found the Angela to be to our taste, basic but clean with the owners welcoming us as soon as we got off the coach. Nicky and George are very friendly and always speak, even when they are very busy. I would recommend eating at thier establishment at some point, as Georges food is very nice!

The hotel room was spacious surprisingly with a double and single bed, a bathroom and kitchenette (two cupboards, a sink, a small 2 ringed cooker, kettle and fridge). The towels were changed and the room cleaned 3 times a week, with the sheets being cleaned once a week.

I would recommend hiring a fan, as the greek weather is very hot even at night, and the option of opening the doors is a no, no! Not because the area isn't safe, but because it can have a high number of midges that come off the Salt Flats just up the road. *DONT LET THIS PUT YOU OFF THOUGH< IT IS WORTH IT* The A/C is 7euro per night, which we found to be a little steep, so we hired a fan for only 2euro's a night, which kept us nice and cool.

The hotel has a small pool and patio area with sun loungers, however very rarely was this area full! Even though the pool is small, it is clean, but it's recommended you shower after you get out as the chlorine is a pain.

We dined at the hotel at night on occasion and also had drinks late at night where we met lots of other holiday makers. This a very friendly place to visit, everyone including the staff are very pleasent and all do thier best to say hello.good evening where they can.

I would recommend 'Spyros' just down the road, this was the first place we ate, and we both agreed it was our favourite!
There is a supermarket at the Angela, but if you don;t mind the walk in the heat, there is another much larger supermarket just up the road offering more choice at better prices.

We would not hesitate to visit the Angela again, we had a fantastic time here and will remember it well.

Room Tip: Room 45 has a 'sea glimpse'
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

My husband and I have just returned from a very cheap last min. booking with Olympic to the Angela App. in Tinaki, Kos,Greece. on the whole it was a very pleasent stay. The owners Geogio and Nicki were the perfect Hosts and did everything they could to make our stay memorable. As with most appartments in Greece the facilities were a little sparce. a two ring cooker, a kettle, and only one pan, however enough to knock a few basic meals, on the down side the appartments were not cleaned to a very well. whilst the towels were changed every couple of days the sheets were not changed at all during our stay. and the toilet paper waste bin was only emptied 3 times during the week . a we were on the ground floor and there was a disgusting smell coming
up from the drains. The rooms on the upper floors did not have this problem and seemed to be cleaned to a higher standard. The meals in the hotel were good and the restraunt and pool area were cleaned every morning. It was a very inexpensive holiday, but they say" you only get what you pay for"

Room Tip: request a room on the upper floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

This was our third time in Tingaki, but our first staying at the Angela, which we decided on because of a great deal we found online. We were there for 2 weeks and had a lovely time.

The room was spacious, comfortable and clean, with towels and bedding changed regularly. The shower was OK - I've definitely had worse in Greece! Air conditioning is available at €45 per week, which is pretty standard in terms of cost.

We prefer to go to the beach, so didn't use the pool area at all, but those who did seemed to enjoy it. Again, everything was very clean and well maintained. There is a fantastic little shop with pretty much everything you'll need to stock your fridge/cupboard - plus some nice souvenirs to take home too. The bar was great (it has WiFi) and we had lunch there a couple of times during the fortnight which was very tasty. We didn't eat in the restaurant bit in the evening, but it looked pretty good - we just liked to go out every evening. If you are looking for other restaurants in Tingaki, we really liked Oneiro and the place with the blue & white checks (I think it is called Nisiotiko - something like that).

One of the best things about the Angela is the friendly welcome and atmosphere that Nikki and George create. Always cheerful and really helpful with anything you might need. It is also fantastically located and just a 10 minute stroll down to the beach. We felt it was excellent value for money and if we saw a similar cheap deal we would definitely return to the Angela

One word of warning about Tingaki itself - there are a lot of mosquitoes this year, far more than usual. Lots of people were suffering from bad bites, so arm yourself with the strong stuff. We used some with 100% deet and that seemed to do the trick.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

nikki ang george are amazin people the appts were lovely we had an amazin view,i cant believe how many times a week we had the maid in cleaning!!!!!!! and she was lovely,the cook was excellent the shop was stocked with everything you needed fresh bread every day mmmmmm,we ate there several times the food was great,the pool was soooooooooo clean i was in and out of it all day my hubby lived in it lol just amaxin holiday thanks guys xxxx

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2011

We went for a week with Olimpic Holiday- very good company, nice reps, transfers etc -no problems at all.
Angela Hotel is cery basic but clean and comfortable enough for self catering.
It is not 5 star but has got everyhting what you need-beds, kitchen corner, shower-but there is hot water only during the day- in the evening when we were back from our trips or back from the beach-sorry-only cold shower!! Toilet paper to the bin next to toilet- so what? Everywhere is the same- that is no problem. Cleaner lady came 3x in 7 days and did good job, towels changed only 2x. You have to buy toilet rolls.
Pool area- for us was not nice, next to the main road, very small and too close to the bar and poeple sitting there, drinking all day. I still do not know why some poeple are going for holiday to spend days by the pool area? Kos was so wonderfull to explore- lovely beaches( Tigaki, Marmari and Paradise beach), we hired bikes for one day and baggy for next day and we had so much fun, saw fantastic views, really great time.
£ island trip was really good- long day on the boat, swimming, snorkelling, visiting great places, nice luch provided and we have seen dolphins!!!That was great!!
Beach in Tigaki is lovely- 3 Euros for sunbed(6 Euros for 2 beds plus umbrella)
We did not need air cond as is was not hot, hot-just about 30-it was enough.
Staff at the hotel nice but we did not go to make friends there and we only ate once there-good food but nothing special and we go to Greece to try something special so we were dinning in other places.
Are we going back to Greece? Of course
Are we going back to Angela? No
But if you are looking for cheap, basic accomodation ,just to keep your stuff when you are out- this is really good place to go.

Room Tip: upstairs with garden view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2011

I echo most of what has been already written.
I travelled alone and found the experience very good. Apart from one night (more of which to come) I bought and prepared all my own food with the, admittedly, very basic cooking equipment and ate well. I shopped at the Angela's shop and the supermarket and found a brilliant roadside stall just past all the beaches on the Kos road where the produce was far more plentiful and cheaper than in any of the shops.
On day 2 I hired a bike which was brilliiant. Nicos (down the left nearest to the beach) gave me a deal and I explored all the beaches within a few miles radius and found it easier to get about this way than walking which can be tiring in the heat.
Most days I was in the pool at about 7.00 am which was a good way to start the day. It was always clean and inviting.
My meal out was at Alikes (or Alykes) which was the furthest out on the left of the town and facing the windsurfing beach. Having tried it for coffee I went there on my last day and had an excellent meal with great service and a free drink to finish off the event. Can't fault them.
I never ate of drank at Angela's - for no particular reason - but found Nikki and George always friendly and helpful.
Would I go back again? Quite probably.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Angela Tingaki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angela Tingaki

Address: Tigaki, Tigaki 85300, Greece
Location: Greece > Dodecanese > Kos > Tigaki
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Tigaki
Number of rooms: 42
Also Known As:
Angela Tingaki Tigaki
Angela Tingaki Hotel Tigaki
Angela Tingaki Kos/Tigaki, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Angela Tingaki, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.