We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice hotel in a quite location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Astir Odysseus Kos Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Astir Odysseus Kos Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Astir Odysseus Kos Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   PO Box 359, Tigaki 85300, Greece (Formerly Iberostar Odysseus)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in Tigaki
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A nice hotel in a quite location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

I have just returned from a very relaxing weeks stay at the Iberostar Odysseus. We booked a seaview room which also overlooked the swimming pool, beyond which was a small beach.
The room was kept spotless during our stay and towels were changed on a daily basis. I was pleasantly surprised to find that the safe deposit box in the room was free of charge as was the fridge (which was restocked with soft drinks water & beer on a daily basis). There was satellite television in the room which over 30 channels however only 3 of these were in English. The food was a bit repetitive, but you could always find something to your taste. I found the staff to be friendly and helpful during our stay. For a forty euro deposit you could hire beach towels which you then changed at the spa on a daily basis. There was a daytime entertainment programme which consisted of (water aerobics, archery, shooting, zubma ect) which was good, however the evening entertainment could have been improved. I found the gym to be very good filled with very good quality equipment. The hotels location is a bit isolated, however the local bus service stops right outside the front of the hotel and the return journey into Kos town is only 3 euros.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

650 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    385
    197
    52
    12
    4
See reviews for
222
285
10
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chester-Le-Street
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

I stayed at the Iberostar with my wife between 15th September and 22nd September 2012. The hotel and the saff were excellent and the meals were also very good. The hotel appears to have been aimed at the European market as it did not appear in either the 2012 or 2013 Thomson brochures. The entertainment tam worked very hard but explaining what was about to take place became laborious when you had to endure it being repeated in English, German, French, Dutch (possibly Flemish???? I don't know) Russian and Slovak.
While I like to get away from those Brits who crave nothing more than a luke warm pint of Boddingtons in a make believe British pub, the lack of British tourists at the hotel did detract from the holiday.
There were 2 main low points of the week, one relating to a stoutly built Greek security guard who will appear from nowhere and was overly attentive towards British guests. And the 2ND related to the final day when we'd requested to keep our room on until 8pm as we had a late nightflight back to the UK. We were initially told that our room was needed for new guests and that we could have an half hour slot in one of the hotels rooms but this would not be allocated until the evening of our departure. When we went to the main reception desk for the room key we were informed that we could use the shower facilities in the Hotels Spa complex on the lower ground floor. This was less than ideal bearing in mind that all of our valuables and pasports were in the main changing area as we were being showered and I would not have been impessed if i'd paid to use the spa facilities and was surrounded by hoards of people struggling to get dressed for their evening meal. Overall a very poor start and finish to an otherwise enjoyable and relaxing week. A HOTEL WHICH CLAIMS TO BE 5* SHOULD DO BETTER THAN THIS FOR IT'S GUESTS!!!!!

Room Tip: Don't boter upgrading to a junior suite unless you're planning on taking your entire family...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

Went away to relax and unwind and this hotel made it happen. Having the choice with the two mains pools was brilliant as the pool near the main part of the hotel was relaxed and was never too busy. I would say that the buffet for lunch and dinner in the main restaurant was very repetitive so would recommend to mix it up by having the lunch at the beach Grill Restaurant And the dinner at the main restaurant. The hotel has a company where you can hire out bikes, quad bikes, mop heads, bicycles and buggy's for next to nothing money. Me and my partner hired the buggy for around €50 for the whole day and went to a village up the mountain called Zia (very quaint little village) and also drive round the otherwise of the mountain to Therma (the sea is heated by the gas within the mountain) great views and lovely experience.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We stayed at the Iberostar Odysseus-septeber 25th-29nd 2012 HB.
It is very recomanded to rent a car for a better mobility.There are a lot of marveleous beach around and its a pitty to miss them. The beach of the hotel is so-so...
The best beach is Paradise Beach.30 minutes from the hotel
The service was exellent! We have been upgreted without asking and it was fun. the room was very clean and yhe sleep quelty was excellent.
The breakfast and the dinner was very good also for a pepole that has health problems such as diabia. We came as a couples but it very recomended for family vication. We are working with an aldest pepole and we are recomnded for them to have a room near the main dininig room and the big pool, because the hotel is very big.

Room Tip: The best is beeing in the higher floors' and for famalies room with a small pool near by the bea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

this was not our first choice of hotel, but was recommended by the sales staff at First Choice , I wish we had suck by our origional choice, one of the main criteria was that the hotel must have plenty of local restaurants and bars for the evening, as we do not like to be limitted to the resort, we were advised that there was lots of locat activities, what a complete lie this turned out to be, after booking we heard various reports from friends about its location, and having checked this on Google Earth, we realised it is in the middle of nowhere !!!!!, the First Choce staffs attitude was ' well its booked no we cant do anything', we therfore started our holiday with a sense or trepidation.
Do not missunderstand this hotel is stunningley beautifull, it is everything they say in the brochures, what they do not say is that it is like being in a five star open prison, it is isolated, during the day it is as one would expect with ample sun beds and a choice of pools, with good food offers, (it is not however child friendly no facilities apart from a childrens club for 2-6 year olds, nothing there after)
The big problem comes in the evening there is no credable entertainment, the three entertainment team try to put something on but it was so poor it does not warrent description, suffce to say a local organ player in poor english with a couple of coloured lights from 8-30 to 9-30, is bad enough, but then the entertainment team try to put on a show with no facilities having to use the entrance arch as a backdrop, it should really be on 'you've been framed it 'was so bad, for a five star holiday the place was usually like a ghost town after 11.00pm as everyone goes to bed bored, and dont believe the international channels on the TV, there are two english channels both news, this hotel is not really interested in english customers, try going out for the evening people suggest, yes this is an option, but getting back is another matter, all taxis have to be pre booked, we experianced a queue of in excess of an hour and half wait, he local bus runs every hour but soon gets very full due to the lack of taxis
Our room which was spacious was at ground floor level despite our request for a first floor, when I tried to change this the reception staff (which weret he most unfreindly of any hotel I have stayed at,) refused to change my room as the 'hotel was full !!' which was incorrect as the occupancy cannot have been more than 50% judging by the number of sun beds and tables in the restaurantthat were freely available, we had no choice but to remain in the allocated room, what did add insult was that our luxury bathroom was in fact designed as a disabled roomwith the result that we had to kneel to shower !!!!!!!,furthermore it took us 3 days to get the washbasin waste fixed
In conclusion if you want a good time with happy memories go to the Blue Laggon twenty minutes away which offers a good time, if you want a boring quiet mind destroying holiday go to this hotel but you have been advised, pay for the advice not the experiance like us !!!!

Room Tip: ros closer to beach pooloneo for the oms not in main complex g
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Astir Odysseus Kos Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear guest,

We would like to express our gratitude for the comments you made about your stay. It is always our goal to achieve maximum customer satisfaction and we reviews like yours are very helpful to know how our guests experience their stay.

The quality Iberostar Odysseus hotel is located on the idyllic Greek island of Kos, in a natural setting filled with beautiful coves and beaches to be enjoyed to the fullest. The tranquility that surrounds this beautiful hotel in Kos is a privilege that is complemented by easy access to the city centre of Kos and its proximity to Kos airport, located just 12 miles away. We offer an All-Inclusive plan. This gem of a hotel, built in 2009, is located on the Aegean Sea. It is a true example of an elegant, luxurious and comfortable hotel which makes it the perfect destination for a couple’s or family holiday in Kos. In addition, the peaceful environment in which it is located is perfect for rest and relaxation. The staff at the top Iberostar Odysseus hotel makes every effort for guests to enjoy the best entertainment during their holiday in Kos. Therefore, both the facilities and leisure programs have been designed to make this beach hotel the top choice for all ages who want to have fun as well as to relax and enjoy themselves. The most popular of the hotel’s choices of leisure activities include: Activities for children with a Mini-Club with lots of fun games and a playground with plenty of things to enjoy. Further, we offer evening childcare so that parents can enjoy a romantic night in Tigaki.. To make the little guests feel warmly welcomed we also set up children's menus, cribs and high chairs. The hotel has 5 outdoor swimming pools and one indoor pool. It organizes games, activities and sports for all ages, so fun is always guaranteed. Those looking for tranquility and relaxation in Kos can enjoy the spa which is located on the hotel premises. Its staff provides the best care for body and mind with a full program of beneficial treatments and relaxing sessions. A total luxury for adults on holiday.

On the other hand, we are sad that your contact with our reception was not characterized by the close and personal service Iberostar is famous for. In our opinion, the human forces are one of the most important pillars to build a hotel that offers well being, comfort and splendid holiday conditions. Therefore, we lay high value on our employees being guest orientated choosing all personnel according to a specific profile and additionally giving them appropriate training to guarantee an excellent service from each and every staff member.

It is our target to open our doors to offer a wide range of dishes to sample the best recipes not only from Greece, but international dishes for all tastes as well. In Iberostar we believe that the culinary part of your holiday is very important and therefore we only work with professional chefs, using products of prime quality and we are delighted thet you highlighted this part of your stay with us.

We are very sorry that your all over experience did not meet your expectations and we would be delighted if for your coming Iberostar holidays, we may offer you a very personal booking guidance through our call center or webpage, to make sure you become what you actually desire.

Yours faithfully,

Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Iberostar Odysseus - September 15th-22nd 2012

Buffet lunch and dinner - Really good, lots of choice, they have two a la carte menu's in the same restaurant which we didn't bother trying as the Buffet was so good. The A la carte restaurant is in the same location they use for the bbq food in the day. We ended up eating there every day as the BBQ food was so good and full of flavour!

Recommended - Carbonara (The best ever!), Pork, Chicken and Rice. Carrott's were also great.

Breakfast - I am a big fan of omelets but to my disappointment they cook them then keep them in the warming draw so by the time you put one on your plate they are cold, orange juice in the buffet doesn't taste very good so we went to the bar straight after breakfast to get a "proper" one there.

Drink - Cocktails were good and they come in decent size cups unlike other hotels I have been too. My girlfriend also asked to add vodka to the none alcoholic cocktails which also tasted good.

Wine - I'm not a big wine drinker but really enjoyed the rose at the Buffet

In the breakfast buffet the orange and apple juice didn't taste very nice, the coffee was also quite bitter. Again go to the bar and you will get a good cappuccino and nice orange juice.

Water - They give you water bottles which is a good idea

Service - Was great, all the staff were very friendly except from one who we met on our first day, we looked at the BBQ lunch time tables and there were a couple free so we went to get some food, when we returned people had sat down so the waitress decided to come across very arrogant and told us we may have to wait 30 minutes for a table to become available which we knew wouldn't be the case. In the end a table became free in around 2 minutes so a slight exaggeration. We avoided her for the rest of the holiday and I think she did the same, however her colleague was very good and knew what we wanted to drink every lunch time after day two. Overall out of the whole resort only one bad apple so not going to knock a star off for her!

Trips - We only went to kos as it was windy one day so not much to comment on that. However they have a ruin which is only open until 14:30 so worth getting slightly earlier if you want to see that as we just missed it. We walked around Kos in around 2 hours then went back to the hotel.

Rooms - Lovely rooms, nicely decorated, toilet and shower/bath were spotless. Tv only has two English speaking channels though and both the news so bring a dvd if you want to watch something while getting ready as the TV's have inbuilt DVD players.

If you pay extra you can have a pool with your room, personally I don't think you need to as there are two lovely pools, one right reception and the other near the beach.

The hotel is very much like the pictures show, a very photogenic hotel. It does feel more like a village than a hotel.

Entertainment - Even though they tried I think the entertainment was their weakest point. They had shooting (A air gun) every other day, archery every other day and volleyball every other day. I think a lot of the people wanted to chill out rather than play volleyball, I played twice all holiday so if you are very active don't get your hopes up. I guess it also depends on the people who are there at the time but it seemed entertainment wasn't as popular as other hotels I have visited in the past.

Beach - The beach was very small and not the cleanest but had a pill box on it which was interesting to look at. We didn't sun bath on the beach though. Not really very easy to walk down to explore either. Tip - Stick to the pool.

Rating - I think the staff made the hotel feel like a 5 star as there were a lot of them and they were all working and paying attention, I think a little work on the entertainment, a better a la carte menu and a sports bar would go along way to making this hotel more of a 5 star. Until then I think a great 4 star would be a fairer review.

Overall - Had a wonderful time in a beautiful hotel with a few minor changes could be a greater hotel. Highly recommended if you want to visit Kos. 12 euro taxi ride to Kos centre, around 10km away.

Keep up the good work staff of Iberostar Odysseus!

Room Tip: All the rooms I saw looked good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rivenhall
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We had a great week here at the end of the school summer holidays. The hotel is just as lovely as it looks on the web and we will definitely go back. That said it is not the place to go for a lively time. The entertainment is kitch at best although our 13 year old enjoyed it and the animation team cannot be faulted for their enthusiasm.

The food was varied against comparable hotels at which we have stayed with plenty of fresh fruit, veg and salads. If you do get bored there is an "a la carte" menu at the beach-side restaurant for which there is an additional charge. Two prices are shown and you pay significantly less if you are already on all inclusive. So for example it is about 4 euros for fresh grilled gambas which are massive - well worth it for a treat.

For us there was a good selection of drinks although the wine selection on AI is limited. We worked our way through the cocktail list and had baileys and brandies at the beach bar after dinner.

On the last day we paid 5 euros each to use the jacuzzi and spa area and, as mentioned by someone else, the "hot" tub was cold. The trick is to get it switched on as soon as your arrive and ask them to show you how to switch it back on when it goes off. It takes about half an hour to heat. Get changed and if it isn't hot enough complain and they will let you use the hamman for no extra charge while the tub heats. Make sure they give you robes and a jug of water and you can have a really chilled hour or so. We did this instead of a late check out. Make sure you take shower gel bottle from your room, put all your bags with a change of clothes in a back-pack in the luggage room, enjoy your day and book a slot in the spa. We went there late afternoon, had our hour or so, changed, then a cocktail and quick dinner before we had to leave.

We booked our holiday ourselves flying ryanair, hotel booked through hotel.com and transfers through airporttransfers.co.uk and it all went like clockwork and we saved over £1000, yes really a £1000 off the price to book on the first choice web-site for 2 adults and a child. Now the flight was dreadful but I can tolerate a bit of discomfort for £1k.

The worst bit was the chaos at Kos airport coming home. You have to check in and then join a queue to get you bag scanned, utter mayhem. So, get there early.

Room Tip: Next time we will book a swim up room. If you have kids it is definitely worth going for the junior...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Astir Odysseus Kos Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astir Odysseus Kos Resort & Spa

Address: PO Box 359, Tigaki 85300, Greece (Formerly Iberostar Odysseus)
Location: Greece > Dodecanese > Kos > Tigaki
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Tigaki
#2 Family Hotel in Tigaki
#4 Romantic Hotel in Tigaki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Astir Odysseus Kos Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 267
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Astir Odysseus Kos Resort & Spa (ex Iberostar) is on the island of Kos. This gem of a hotel, built in 2009, is located on the Aegean Sea. It is a true example of an elegant, luxurious and comfortable hotel which makes it the perfect destination for a couple’s or family holiday in Kos. In addition, the peaceful environment in which it is located is perfect for rest and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Astir Odysseus Kos Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astir Odysseus Kos Resort & Spa Tigaki, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Astir Odysseus Kos Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.