We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful vacation on a wonderful location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Astir Odysseus Kos Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Astir Odysseus Kos Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Astir Odysseus Kos Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   PO Box 359, Tigaki 85300, Greece (Formerly Iberostar Odysseus)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Tigaki
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Antwerp, Belgium
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“wonderful vacation on a wonderful location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

Wonderful hotel and very kind personnel, especially for our 18 month old daughter, she really enjoyed the attention she got. We booked the junior suite and thought it was a lovely room, very clean and spacious. The food was very tasty and a lot of various dishes.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

661 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    394
    199
    52
    12
    4
See reviews for
227
288
10
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
cheshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012 via mobile

I had the pleasure of staying at the Iberostar Astir odysseus for ten heavenly
days. On arrival we were met with hot towels and minted ice water to refresh us after our journey. Reception staff were welcoming and friendly. The night porter then proceeded take our luggage on to our rooms. It was sugested we enjoy a drink and late buffet provided for late arrivals, so we did just that. Great start to the holiday.
We were a party of seven and had three rooms (017) (022 & 023) two were nextdoor to each other, which was very handy. Rooms were spacious, clean, modern with a well stocked mini bar and free safe, good hairdryer and aircon. Maid service fantastic.
The pools were huge ,and also there were two childrens pools. There were lots of sunbeds never had a problem finding beds around any pools.
Bars both in main building or at beach pool were good,lots of nice seating areas to choose from in sun or shade. Waiter service at main bar was great, professional , lovely and friendly staff.
There is a spa , gym, tennis courts, pool table and table tennis, although I did not use any of these facialities.
The location is rural, surounded by fields, which we loved. The hotel is backed by mountains and has views out across to Turkey. The bus into kos is every hour, it takes about 15 minutes and is a cheap way to get around. Bus stop right outside hotel. The hotel ia actually nearer to kos town than tigaki, you cany hire bikes, but dont expect to walk to either resorts.
I loved all the food here and never struggled to find something to eat. Food is a good standard, perhaps not quite 5 star. My only complaint would be lack of beef dishes, lots of pork, fish and chicken so not a major problem, maybe a big bbq night once or twice a week would solve this. Service at all meals were faultless!
The entertainment staff were also amazing and worked very hard, my daughter loved the mini disco!
In the evening there was always music or some sort of entertaintment which was great.
I would recommended the trip into the mountains (zia) if only for the views, and the 3 island cruise was a fabulous day out. Kos town is well worth going to , lovely habour, marina and historical sites to vist.
Really had a fabulous stay, didnt want to leave,u if I ever return to kos, this is the hotel i'll be returning to, definately recommend.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

Ive always been told that Iberostar Hotels were very good, Well The rooms were clean and comfortable, the views were fantastic, the pools were large clean and very cold. The waiters and barstaff worked very hard and were very polite. However...on our arrival we were not on the checkin schedule, waiting for ages wondering wether we was going to get a room, very tired as 0300am was very tired and just wanted a bed. - this took a while..next morning spoke to reception to collect my documents that id left for them and receptionist was very rude,
Our Rep had organised our late checkout for midnight the following saturday as flight was early sunday morning, this was confirmed with a card left in our rooms...Great stuff.. Saturday came and returned to our room early to find a note from reception asking us to contact them.. They wanted us out of the room at that moment as they had other guests...Liza the receptionist was very cross, angry, showed the card...1/2 hour one way discussion from Liza want her fault she was never wrong, didnt care wherethe note came from..rude must be a receptionist requirement. and then tried to make us feel eternally gratefull when the manager sorted it out...didnt need this just wanted our holiday..what else..no coffee/all inclusive fridge filled had to ask only did it the once all week,we only drank the coffe/lemonade and water. dont expect a beech..the food was cold and no variety..broccoli for breakfast?....I wouldnt go back again has put me off completly..especially when I saw the RAT running across the main terrace/entertainment area...there is more but feel this should be enough to put you off.

Room Tip: Be carefull with seaview, will need binoculars..see front is to go for. and mosquito spray for the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Astir Odysseus Kos Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 13, 2012
Dear Guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for your stay in our Iberostar. It is very important for us that our guests feel welcome especially on the arrival. We feel sorry to read that didn´t succeed.

Our hotel cleanliness and hygienic control is fundamental for us. We would however like to inform you that we do have in place an established a treatment plan and we are working intensely on this specific problem. We have in fact largely resolved this problem now, given the vast expanse of gardens, which provide our guests with a huge internal open space for our guests. We offer our most sincere apologies for this highly exceptional situation.

We would also like to thank you for sharing your observations with us as this gives us the opportunity to make improvements and thus offer all our guests better service, which ultimately is the goal of Iberostar.


Yours sincerely

Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

Well,this is my first review. These are my points of view and things I experienced in my week all inclusive holiday that wasn't cheap as you will be aware!
Start with the good news! Very clean, very quiet location. Most of the staff are very friendly and willing to help,To get anywhere u need to bus into Kos town and from Kod town to wherever (for those not hiring a car). Bus very cheap €1.50 single. Pool empty, mostly sun worshipers! :-) don't expect a beach!
Here comes the but.......
Greek 5star English 3*at best. Food very average at best. Pork or chicken! Pasta or salad. Like someone else wrote food warm not hot. Reception staff were beyond a joke. We arrived at 3:30am with another couple, both our groups hadn't even been checked into the hotel or even on the list for that day. We needed late check out as our flight wasn't until 3:30am. We asked 3 times which day we needed to check out and were told the 3rd 3times! Our rep checked same answer! 12pm Sat phone call to room asking why we hadn't checked out! Long story short.... Liza who handles reservations the rudest women I've ever met with no patients to speak or understand the Customer! €40 later we had a room until 9pm.
Would we return to this over priced very average hotel No way. For £500 less I could have stayed at another hotel round the other end of the island half board which was 4+ star which we stayed at the previous year.
Our lovely holiday was great until we checked in and checked out! I said to Liza this was unacceptable from a hotel of your rating, her words I quote "this is very acceptable" maybe in Greece I said!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

I have spent the last two weeks here and this is a great hotel in Kos. I had read the negative food reviews before coming but found nothing to fault. The food, chef and waiting staff are all on hand to discuss with guests what they would like.

Hotel is very stylish and a great location for a bike ride into Kos which can be rented from the hotel very cheaply. There is a great spa with daily offers and facilities for guests. The animation team are outstanding in providing entertainment to guests with limited resources. I would highly recommend a stay here and a special thanks go to the staff Denis, Francesca, Popi, Lola and Nikolay!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milano
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

Very very good accomodation ,location and front line service ( reception etc.) excellent food also for vegetarians who I am ,fantastic entertainment staff , good quality hotel spa small beach that needs much more care but I can say that the week spent have been a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Astir Odysseus Kos Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 1, 2012
Dear guest,

First of all, thank you’re your time to write your review about Iberostar Odysseus . It is a pleasure for us to read how much you have enjoyed your stay with us especially in so a special moment like holidays.

We are delighted with your powerful and positive words describing our complete services and facilities.For us is a priority to take care of the visitors properly and fulfill our guest expectations.

Iberostar crew will continue working to improve our services and facilities to make our guest feel welcome. We hope you will have an opportunity to return and enjoy our Hotel again in the future.

Kindest regards,

Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carlisle
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

Checked in 6 May at start of season. Probably only 100 guests at most, lovely room. Upgraded to a room with pool for an extra 20 euros per night. Very comfy beds, excellent staff, nice layout, BUT

Choice of food is appalling

Lunch menu is salad, with a choice of rabbit, pork or chicken. And that's it.
Dinner menu, typically salad for starter, tonight's choice was pork, bream or liver for main course. And chips.

By far the worst choice of food I have ever experienced at a supposed 5 star hotel.

The food is actually nice but the range of choices is appalling

Possibly because of the limited number of guests in early season but that shouldn't matter.

4 out of 5 for everything else

1 out of 5 for food.

Won,t be returning to an iberostar hotel in a hurry, food not a patch on Mitsis, Bahia or Riu. Still another 3 days to go. Might be the only all inclusive holiday where we lose weight......

Room Tip: Try and book the rooms with pool balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Astir Odysseus Kos Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 14, 2012
Dear guest,

First of all we want to apologize for all the inconveniences you had during your stay. We are very sorry to hear that we could not fulfill your gastronomy expectations

The head departments involved have been informed about your comments. We will certainly take in our consideration and we will do our utmost to improve these points. Feedback like yours is very important to us, so we know what we can improve to reach an even higher and more exclusive service for our guest.

Your comment will certainly help us to keep focus on customer satisfaction and fulfillment of our hotel standards. It is very important for us that our guests feel welcome and comfortable within the whole hotel area and we feel sorry to read that didn´t succeeded.

We would like to thank you for sharing you experiences

Kindest regards,

Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Astir Odysseus Kos Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astir Odysseus Kos Resort & Spa

Address: PO Box 359, Tigaki 85300, Greece (Formerly Iberostar Odysseus)
Location: Greece > Dodecanese > Kos > Tigaki
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Tigaki
#1 Family Hotel in Tigaki
#4 Romantic Hotel in Tigaki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Astir Odysseus Kos Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 267
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Astir Odysseus Kos Resort & Spa (ex Iberostar) is on the island of Kos. This gem of a hotel, built in 2009, is located on the Aegean Sea. It is a true example of an elegant, luxurious and comfortable hotel which makes it the perfect destination for a couple’s or family holiday in Kos. In addition, the peaceful environment in which it is located is perfect for rest and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Astir Odysseus Kos Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astir Odysseus Kos Resort & Spa Tigaki, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Astir Odysseus Kos Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.