We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good comfortable Studios and apartments” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sunshine Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Sunshine Apartments to your Saves list
Sunshine Apartments
Tigaki 85300, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Tigaki
Spalding, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good comfortable Studios and apartments”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

We have stayed here with Olympic a couple of times now and compared to another more popular budget Olympic offering on the main road, these are far more superior. The kitchen facilities in the Studios are basic and perhaps it is luck of the draw whether you get a kettle - we had one last time but not this time, but nonetheless everything works and the only time we have not had piping hot water in the shower was when we were late coming off the beach and a neighbour had done a lot of hand washing!

The rooms are kept very clean and we had none of the issues that some others have commented on so I wander whether they have the right place.

As our return flight was late I booked a late room which turned out to be one of the apartments at a cost of €20 - this looked comfortable with a double bed and two singles, although the bathroom was not quite so user friendly as the toilet roll would not stay on its holder and there was not quiet as much room in the shower.
However the kitchen facilities were as others have suggested better.

The newer block towards the rear appear to be dedicated to the Dutch guests but the rooms looking out to it occupied by the Brits get the sun in the evening and the moon at night.

The Restaurant offers good meals with guests receiving a 10% discount and a desert on the house (warning if you order a desert you will have to eat two), although in Spring and Autumn as much of it is out doors it can get a bit exposed and cool after dark.

Xenia and Maria the two daughters are very friendly and attentive in the Restaurant.

Room Tip: The Studios on the ground floor towards the rear are quite and roomy and ideal for a couple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    16
    3
    5
    1
See reviews for
15
21
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

We stayed here for ten days and although the room and bathroom were small, the bed was definitely more comfortable than those at similar properties we have stayed in Lambi and Tigaki in Kos. It was nice to have a kettle and fridge in the room and we paid about 5 or 6 euros per day for air conditioning. We were on the first floor and had a small balcony with a view of the pool. We ate several times in the restaurant, where guests receive a 10% discount ; both the food and wine were good and the service was very friendly. If you are looking for simple, budget accommodation with friendly and helpful staff, this is the place for you.

TIP - We hired some good bicycles from "Hard Moto" (walk to main street, turn right, then about 3 minutes walk on left) and found them to be much newer and better ones than those we have hired in Kos on previous trips.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

This was our third visit to these apartments. We had forgotten how very basic the kitchen facilities are. Our daughter had a studio, whereas my husband and I had a one-bed apartment, albeit only about three apartments away from hers. Her kitchen area was superior to ours in terms of available workspace. However, since the only pots and pans provided were one battered once-non-stick frypan, a large saucepan and a Greek coffee pot for heating on the very small front ring (of two), that wasn't really an issue. The cutlery and crockery were tatty and mis-matched. We had to go for our showers at around 5.00pm to ensure hot water, and that was in mid-October at the end of the season. We managed to "acquire" a 2-slice toaster (bought from Asda!) to make toast for our breakfast, but did not have the facilities for anything more adventurous. Bread is astronomically expensive in Tingski - even the local brands. Do take good mossie repellant with you, containing Deet, as there is no pharmacy there and the only repellants you can buy aren't good enough. Tingaki is brilliant - it was our daughter's first visit and she can't wait to go back, but we all three said that we would never go back to the Sunshine Aartments. We had most of our meals at Dana on the seafront - fantastic food and service.

Room Tip: If you don't need a separate bedroom, you may well find a studio apartment is quite adequate, as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byfleet
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

Absolutely wonderful apartments. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff. The bar and restaurant were very reasonably priced. These apartments are nice and quiet, being slightly outside of the resort but within a very easy 5/10 minute of all the bars, restaurants and beach. We would definitely consider going there again as we go to Greece at least once a year and these are some of the best apartments we've ever stayed in.

Room Tip: If you are self catering, rooms 10-15 are good sized studios, on the ground floor, and look over the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011

We stayed from the 31/08 - 7/09. This is the first time my wife and I have been to Greece, and we didn't really know what to expect, and since our tickets were cheap last minute deals we didn't have very high expectations, but we were pleasantly surprised. From the outside it doesn't look that welcoming but is in a good location, about 5 mins walk from the main strip with bars and restaurants and 10 mins from the beach.
The room itself is very basic but has everything you need and is cleaned once every two days with towels changed. The shower is rather small and it requires you to hold the shower head whilst you shower. On several occasions though there was only mildly warm water and on the rare occasion would you get hot water. The stove and kitchen utensils were adequate enough for you to make breakfast which was convenient. Note: there is no kettle!
If you are a target for mosquitoes, we would advise you to purchase air-conditioning for 6.50 euros/day because its not worth leaving the balcony door open while you sleep!!
There is also free wireless internet if you have a laptop which is good since there isn't a tv in the rooms.
The restaurant offers a decent selection of food choices at a very reasonable price and there is also a 10% discount of food and drink for residents of the hotel. We dined at the restaurant twice (breakfast and dinner) and found both meals pleasing.
Overall we enjoyed our stay at the sunshine apartments and would recommend it for any couples looking for a quiet relaxed holiday.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

Stayed end July/Aug for 2 weeks, but very disappointed this year. Stayed last year and had a great room (see last years glowing review below), but this year we had room number 1, I think this may be the worst room, it was about half the size of the apartment we had before, we only had hot water in the evening (at 19:00) twice in 2 weeks, had to shower by 17:00, think our water tank was shared with the communal showers, so on transfer days, there was a lack of hot water.

There was no privacy in the rooms as the balcony was on a walk way, had to keep curtains closed otherwise everyone looked in.

If you opened the wardrobe door you couldn’t get in or out of the bathroom.

We asked to be moved, they said they would try, but said they were full up and it wasn’t possible.

We loved it here last year and couldn’t wait to return, so we did, but we won’t be able to stay again as you can’t be sure what type of room you will get.

Such a shame, because it is an excellent location and very quiet at night.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011 via mobile

New apartments are a great stay. Tigaki offers everything you need on a summer holiday. Great beach, many taverns. You can eat at sunshine or in any of the 20+ places in town. Compact town. Apartment staff can help.you with rent of bikes, scooter, car. Book directly instead of via a tour operator and save 100's. Transfer can be arranged by the apartment owners

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunshine Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunshine Apartments

Address: Tigaki 85300, Greece
Location: Greece > Dodecanese > Kos > Tigaki
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Tigaki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Sunshine Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunshine Apartments Kos/Tigaki, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunshine Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.