We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best of both worlds” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Waterfront, Song Fung Khong Restaurant

The Waterfront, Song Fung Khong Restaurant
177 Soi Anurak Bumroong 1 Samlanchai-Khong tai Rd. | Muang Mukdahan, Mukdahan 49000, Thailand
042-632-577
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 13 restaurants in Mukdahan
Price range: $6 - $25
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse, Thai, Australian
Description: The Waterfront-Song Fung Khong Restaurant & Cocktail Bar is situated on the Mekong River with 180deg River Views across to Savannakhett, Laos.The Cusine is unique in Mukdahan and offers you the choice of Both Western and Thai Dishes rangeing from Imported Australian Steaks,Lamb and Fish. New Zealand Green Mussels & Schollops,Norweigan Salmon & Cod,Delicious Duck & Pork Plus a Full Range of Thai Dishes & Salads. Dine Alfresco by the River or in Air-Conditioned Comfort, The Choice is Yours in EveryWay.
Restaurant details
Description: The Waterfront-Song Fung Khong Restaurant & Cocktail Bar is situated on the Mekong River with 180deg River Views across to Savannakhett, Laos.The Cusine is unique in Mukdahan and offers you the choice of Both Western and Thai Dishes rangeing from Imported Australian Steaks,Lamb and Fish. New Zealand Green Mussels & Schollops,Norweigan Salmon & Cod,Delicious Duck & Pork Plus a Full Range of Thai Dishes & Salads. Dine Alfresco by the River or in Air-Conditioned Comfort, The Choice is Yours in EveryWay.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The best of both worlds”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Dang runs a clean, efficient and talented kitchen, providing perfectly cooked "farang" fare alongside amazing, exotic local dishes. The staff are friendly and attentive. The view is amazing.

Both my Australian family and my Thai in-laws raved about the quality of the food here. Dang truly manages to meld the best of both world.. Keep up the great work Dang!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

75% Recommend
    9
    0
    0
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Wow, some very interesting reviews happening here. 5 star or 1 star it would seem. I need to point out that my review is based on eating here a few years ago and it was simply superb! We were staying there as well (it is a B&B) and ended up eating all our meals here it was that good. Remember that this is a family run B&B so you are not going to get waitresses falling all over you or topping up your drink every few sips. What you do get is the best food in the area cooked and served with love in an amazing setting around the swimming pool on the banks of the Mekong river. We had Thai food and Western. Lamb, steaks, pies and the breakfast. It was all excellent and I fully recommend people to try this place if they get a chance so to remember what good quality food should taste and look like.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“5 stars all round! A great experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

It is clear that these people are well travelled. The execution of both the Thai cuisine and the International cuisine was exceptional!

I stayed here on my Honeymoon in October 2012, after a recommendation from a mate, and I don't regret it one bit - We ate at this restaurant several times during our stay and I have no complaints what-so-ever!

I am a HUGE fan of the cocktails they do, and all of the staff were super friendly and attentive. The view was also great (and very relaxing!) Hopefully one day I will be back!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
“Stunning Service, Food and Atmosphere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

After travelling throughout Thailand for 2 months in November, December of 2012, I am pleased to say that The Waterfront is on the top of the list for me to return to. Although it wasn't 'fancy' dining, the combination of the friendly staff, the delicious food, and the gorgeous views made it feel like a 5 star dining experience!

Thank you to all who served and helped me and I look forward to seeing you in the future! :)

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chonburi, Thailand
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Nice setting, shame about the rest!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Mukdahan is not well off for reasonable quality restaurants and when it comes to European food the choice is even worse.
My Thai partner and I have been here several times purely because there is no competition, anyway the food has until the last visit been passable though certainly nothing special, the service has always been lousy though.
On this occasion we sat inside by the bar and had a mixture of Thai and European food, the Thai food was OK, but the European food was disgusting, mushroom soup with a thick skin and soggy croutons, followed by an inedible steak, that was supposed to come with mashed potato and sauteed vegetables and was served with chips that had been fried in stale oil and soggy boiled vegetables, the steak was also covered in a nondescript sauce that was not stated on the menu.
Neither the staff or owner could make 2 basic cocktails that were requested.
The owner could clearly see that the food was not acceptable and could certainly here our comments but made no attempt to apologize or do anything.
The place appears to be run as a hobby and only the inner circle are welcome, anyone else can 'do one'.
We certainly won't be going back again even if it is still in business!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Waterfront, Song Fung Khong Restaurant also viewed

Mukdahan, Mukdahan Province
Mukdahan, Mukdahan Province
 

Been to The Waterfront, Song Fung Khong Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Waterfront, Song Fung Khong Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.