We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't eat in this restaurant unless you want an embarrassing experience.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Libras "Steak House & Seafood"

Libras "Steak House & Seafood"
Carr. 100 Sector Pedernales, Cabo Rojo 00623, Puerto Rico
+(1)787-233-6160
Improve this listing
Ranked #39 of 62 restaurants in Cabo Rojo
Cuisines: Grill
Restaurant details
1 review
“Don't eat in this restaurant unless you want an embarrassing experience.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

In summary, the plates were dirty, the orders were brought wrong, the appetizer came after the main course. The staff is not friendly and getting the check was like pulling teeth. Too pricy for the quality of food. They charged $9 for a small piece of cake with ice cream.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

46% Recommend
    8
    6
    3
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cabo Rojo, Puerto Rico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Best Churrasco Ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Don't let the 16oz intimidate you! The skirt steak 'churrasco' melts in your mouth like butter. Cooked to perfection and seasoned deliciously!
MUST also try the 'Lazo Vaquero', one tasty alcapurria!!

The sirloin steak was also delicious! And the Mofongo was priceless!

Totally worth the trip!

Buen Provecho!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nebraska/cabo rojo
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Lots of Good Basic Food with Cowboy Theme”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

This was our second visit to Libras. We went primarily for Wings as they are good and on special. However, we also ordered ribs with french fries and nachos. All of the food was good and there was a lot of it. I suspect that most of it comes frozen and is not prepared fresh. Nonetheless, it was good.

The decor or theme of Libras is western but pretty simple. Drinks are served in metal cups (I assume aluminum) and they have a mixed variety of chairs. Service has always been good but on Tuesday night it was not real busy. The waitress was very attentive and personable. They use a bright strobe light on the wall to give her notice to come to the kitchen so the food is served promptly.

The few times we have been there we have eaten inside. However, the porch is nice and probably better - at least in the daytime when one has a view. There is a parking lot about half way up the inclined driveway but we always go to the top and park somewhere past the restaurant. It is easier access than the parking lot halfway up the drive.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida, USA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Grill and seafood has large plates”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Libras is located on a bluff overlooking route 100 in Cabo Rojo, and offers a great view. You can eat on the deck, but it was too breezy and cool the evening we were there so we went inside. The restaurant offers a grill and seafood menu with sort of a country western motif. Our server was very pleasant and efficient. The three of us ordered ribs, pasta with chicken and a mofongo stuffed with shrimp. The food must have been prepared earlier because it came it very quickly. The ribs were tasty and came with a side salad and a small mofongo. The shrimp stuffed mofongo was a large serving which was deemed a bit salty; that came with rice and beans. The pasta in marinara sauce came with grilled sliced chicken breast on the side (it could have been mixed in if desired). The pasta was good, but the chicken had an aftertaste. Flan for dessert was very good. The prices were reasonable, and we would certainly try this place again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Libras "Steak House & Seafood" also viewed

 
Cabo Rojo, Puerto Rico
Cabo Rojo, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Libras "Steak House & Seafood"? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Libras "Steak House & Seafood", register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.