We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful view, good food, rooms in need of update.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bahia Salinas Beach Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Bahia Salinas Beach Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Bahia Salinas Beach Resort & Spa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Carr 301 Km 11, Cabo Rojo 00622, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Cabo Rojo
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“beautiful view, good food, rooms in need of update.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

the hotel has an amazing view of the water, the pools are nice, the staff are super friendly! and the food was amazing! I think the rooms are in need for update and it seems like they gotten good use out of them, and the bathrooms are in need for renovation, over all I was happy with the hotel and the restaurant. oh and to add to the location it's near Cabo Rojo Light house! the beach was amazing! white sand, clear water.

Room Tip: anywhere! I would suggest to leave your room temp cool to keep other creators from coming in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    87
    42
    30
    36
See reviews for
48
123
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Catano
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful, peaceful, good restaurant, infinite pool, i enjoyed this stay from the start to the end. One of the best Puerto Rico beaches, playa sucia us nearby plus the Cabo Rojo lighthouse. Plenty of sight seeing and good food "frituras " to enjoy. The only downside is the mosquitoes at the end of the afternoon, but we fixed that with "Off".The place is just so beautiful!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orocovis, null, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

It's my second visit to Bahia Salinas Beach Resort & Spa.

The Place:
Beautiful, mega clean, great design, and peaceful.

Who does it attract?:

It attracts couples so if you want a quick weekend getaway with your loved one (family oriented), this is the place.

Amenities:

* Great pool with naturally warm water
* Kayake rental
* Bike rentals

Management:

Friendly staff although they changed management.

The place needs:

* Room service
* Telephone
* Quality cable TV
* MORE TOWELS

Nearby Attraction:

* Playa Sucia (warm water)
* El Faro (free)
* Boqueron (a 15 minute drive. We rented jet skis for 2 hours. Awesome experience)

I love Bahia Salinas and will return for a week to finish my book. The area is beautiful and very peaceful. You will find yourself doing a lot of thinking because you will be a in quiet peaceful place.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

Strategically located next to the salt mines (playa sucia=the dirty beach), the bird wildlife preserve, playa limpia (the clean beach), and el faro (the lighthouse). With tunes of biking and hiking trails. The resort itself is magical with the insight Resturant, beautiful infinity pool that looks like it falls off into the ocean and lots of gazebos for outside rest and relaxation. Room was up dated and clean!!! Was there in September which is the off/down season so basically had the resort to oursleves. Only issue was the mosquito!!! They were so many, even the front office sold off. Worst at night. Don't know if that is typical. But the off seemed to hold them off ok.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Such a pleasure to stay there! Thank you for your help at the time of reservation and at our arrival for guiding us how to get to the resort from the highway (our GPS was useless many times while driving in PR). Loved our room overlooking very nice infinity pool and the bay. The sunset was incredible- don't miss it anybody! Nearby Sucia Beach is called most scenic beach- with gorgeous water color and white sand, lighthouse, cliffs, natural bridges, beach caves to explore! And at the end- food in the restaurant-the breakfast and dinner- is very good-we truly enjoyed :) Definitely we will come back to stay at Bahia Salinas!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

This place is like a hidden paradise. I went with my husband for our anniversary and I had the best romantic time ever. the place is beautiful the location its really amaizing its in front of a the beach( but its not for swiming), it was peaceful place and very romantic, the service was great the food too. the SPA was excellent, the nearby places to go are great and beautiful and there is other beaches you can go and enjoy and the light house.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

This place is paradise. There are bike rentals and great cycling trails. Most trails nearby are medium difficulty. Cycling up to El Faro, the light house, is a must! The views are amazing. However the cliffs are dangerous and people should use good judgment. There is a beautiful beach below the light house, called la playuela. Not too much shade, so get there early if you want to snuggle into a mangrove. The wind is harsh so umbrellas and setting up cabanas may not work so well. Also within driving distance about 30 minutes, I recommend taking Paradise Scuba Snorkeling and Bioluminescent Bay tour in La Parguera. Starts around 3pm, go snorkeling at a couple nearby reefs and mangroves and then a night swim in the bay with algae that glow in the dark. Best time to go is when there is little to no moon.

Also worth a visit is the Bohio Restaurant in Joyuda-- about 20 minute drive--excellent fresh fish and produce! Great view, on the water.

Improvements for the hotel:
There should be a shower at the pool to wash off sand and salt water.
There should be kayaks available for rental....bring your own kayak!
The staff at reception should really know the local tourism information, especially about the bird reserve next door! (hours of the observation tower, museum, bike trails- I had a girl at reception tell me she didn't know if there were bike trails on the bird reserve- we walked over across the street and bike trail clearly marked)
The restaurant has the title meson gastronomic, which means they serve local products ( produce, meat, fish). The fish I ordered was clearly frozen and we got frozen pan asian veggies)
The spa wasn't open when we needed it, so we weren't impressed

Room Tip: what to pack: binoculars if you like bird watching- we forgot to bring ours :-/ lots of sunblock a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bahia Salinas Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bahia Salinas Beach Resort & Spa

Address: Carr 301 Km 11, Cabo Rojo 00622, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Cabo Rojo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Cabo Rojo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bahia Salinas Beach Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are extremely excited and pleased to announce that Bahia Salinas Resort makeover is almost complete for our long awaited expansion. Of course never to change the friendly and romantic ambiance that all has grown to Love and respect. Your journey may begin by stopping by the new guest reception where you will be warmly greeted. To cool off you might want to stop by the large beachfront bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Bahia Salinas Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahia Salinas Beach Resort And Spa
Bahia Salinas Beach Hotel Cabo Rojo
Hotel Bahia Salinas Beach
Bahia Salinas Puerto Rico
Salinas Beach Hotel Bahia
Bahia Salinas Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bahia Salinas Beach Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.