We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Romantic Getaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bahia Salinas Beach Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Bahia Salinas Beach Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Bahia Salinas Beach Resort & Spa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Carr 301 Km 11, Cabo Rojo 00622, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Cabo Rojo
Aguadilla, Puerto Rico
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful Romantic Getaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

I stayed here with my partner for our anniversary. The location is absolutely beautiful. It's breathe-taking. The infinity pool was the main attraction of our stay. There's gazebos all around the pool and on the beach, including a very romantically placed gazebo on a dock. When we were not in the pool we found ourselves at the gazebos enjoying the view. Even though the resort is located on a beach, it's not for swimming. We were more than ok with that since we mostly enjoyed walking on the beach and "Playa Sucia" beach (which is perfect for swimming) is just down the street anyway. A buffet style breakfast and a preselected dinner menu were included in our rate which was great. We weren't big fans of the breakfast but dinner was delicious and enjoyed it very much. My only minimal complaint was the room. It was very out-dated and had a peculiar unpleasant odor. In the resort's defense we did choose the most affordable room. My only suggestion to the staff would be maybe a fragrance spray and modernizing the rooms a bit with maybe nicer curtains and/or bedspread. This didn't bother us much since the stunning location made up for the unimpressive rooms. We had a wonderful time. Staff was always friendly. We would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    87
    42
    30
    36
See reviews for
48
123
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

This resort was beautiful in every way. I planned this a 30th birthday surprise for my wife. We landed in San Juan, and made it to the hotel in about 2.5 hours from the city.The drive was great. After exiting the highway, there were a lot of twists in the roads that led to the resort, which made the adventure even better.
When we arrived to the resort, we were so amazed by the scenery. The resort looks even better than the online pictures. We checked in and received a remote for the TV in the room. The WI-FI connection was good. The room was a basic yet extremely clean room. We didn't plan on staying in the room too much, so the lack room amenities did not bother us. Upon arrival we did a romantic dinner.. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED for couples. It was a Private tent on the beach for 2, surrounded by excellent views and personal waiter, who's name was Carlos David, he displayed outstanding customer service and superb hospitality.
Being that we were going to explore beyond the resort, I opt not to do an all-inclusive package. Which was fine. Breakfast in the resort was $9/person and was delicious. We did dinner there one night and was blown away by how great our dishes were. The resort itself has an ancient Caribbean character to it, which gives it a more cozy and intimate feel.Also walk with "OFF REPELLANT" its pretty much gold against the few mosquitoes.
There is no beach on the resort itself, but follow the road to the end (about 10min by car)and you will discover one of Puerto Rico's hidden gem, BAHIA SUCIA. Breath-taking water and sand and a really clean atmosphere. There is a trail to the lighthouse nearby, and once climbed, it unlocks spectacular views. On the opposite end, there is a cave, which was exciting to get to, and also relaxing when we finally got there. Excellent beach.
We will definitely return to this resort with our kids on the next trip to Puerto Rico, maybe a couple of years down the line. We have no complaints!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumming GA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

The property is very picturesque and lovely. Plenty of amazing pictures to take. Food was good. Room was small and dated with the bare minimum. They have a long list of rules you have to sign when you check in, which was weird.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This hotel is far from the hectic city life, if you looking for a place to.disconnect yourself, this is the one. Is at the end of the road, a walk away from the lighthouse and one of the most beautiful and secluded beach called playa sucia, the hotel was very pretty, the rooms a little outdated, but did bother because I spend most of the time in the infinite look pool or at the beach. The on site restaurant was good and just a little drive away from town for more eating choices.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

You have to appreciate the location and the natural beauty of being on the farthest SW corner of Puerto Rico, Cabo Rojo. The local beaches are spectacular! Remote, slow-paced and very sleepy in comparison to the two "big sister" cities San Juan and Ponce, this place gets booked-up by local families on the weekends. However, the "resort" rooms are bare-bones - AC, (very slow) WiFi, a mini safe (which is handy considering the cheap door locks, a single-serve coffee brewer and a TV remote control (that you receive upon check-in and must return when you check-out) and an ice bucket (that you have to have refilled at the bar; that's it. Oh, and no phones. Do not stay in the "suites" (located over the restaurant). Even though offered-up as an "upgrade" (they have 2 bedrooms), there is nothing else except a portable card table in the bathroom and 2 dressers. The windows were completely sealed off to fresh air by thick plastic sheeting and the non-working (roll-up) shades hiding a stunning view of the water / bay. We changed to a much smaller "deluxe" room with a balcony and were quite satisfied. Because of it's remote location, you have no choice but to eat at their restaurant and do get meal vouchers for breakfast and dinner with your room charges.

Room Tip: Choose the "deluxe" rooms overlooking the pool. There are only 2, but have a private balco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

My fiance and I stayed here for 4 nights. It is a gorgeous property. The pool and lounge area around the pool are fantastic. Our room was very simple, but clean. The restaurant on site has delicious choices although quality of service depends on which waiter you get. Breakfast each morning was a very nice perk. Great food and plenty of coffee and orange juice. Overall a great experience. Playa Sucia and Combate Beach are minutes away and are beautiful beaches!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arecibo, Puerto Rico
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

The place as a very friendly staff which for me is a most in a hotel, the restaurant has great food and nice breakfast, the pool was nice, it is a very quiet resort not to much rooms. It has an spectacular view of the bay, I you don't want the pool you can go to the beach. The one thing I did not like was the room, I was expecting a little more (on their benefit, the one I choose was the cheapest one) I felt like I was in a motel more than a resort, the room was very clean though. I plan to stay again but on a villa which is more private and probably will be nicer. Overall it was very good.

Room Tip: The "Paseo del faro" are the ones that look like a motel, if you want something more roman...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bahia Salinas Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bahia Salinas Beach Resort & Spa

Address: Carr 301 Km 11, Cabo Rojo 00622, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Cabo Rojo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Cabo Rojo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bahia Salinas Beach Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are extremely excited and pleased to announce that Bahia Salinas Resort makeover is almost complete for our long awaited expansion. Of course never to change the friendly and romantic ambiance that all has grown to Love and respect. Your journey may begin by stopping by the new guest reception where you will be warmly greeted. To cool off you might want to stop by the large beachfront bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Bahia Salinas Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahia Salinas Beach Resort And Spa
Bahia Salinas Beach Hotel Cabo Rojo
Hotel Bahia Salinas Beach
Bahia Salinas Puerto Rico
Salinas Beach Hotel Bahia
Bahia Salinas Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bahia Salinas Beach Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.