We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Time to Relax” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bahia Salinas Beach Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Bahia Salinas Beach Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bahia Salinas Beach Resort & Spa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Carr 301 Km 11, Cabo Rojo 00622, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 9 hotels in Cabo Rojo
Quebradillas, Puerto Rico
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Time to Relax”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We want a few days to relax and this is a very good place.
Great view.
Excellent service.
The breakfast was great and the dinner was very good.
We went to El Faro and to Playuela. You have to go there!

Room Tip: We went for an upgrade to the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bahia_Salinas, Front Desk Clerk at Bahia Salinas Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
We are happy that you enjoy your stay in our Parador. We work everyday to make our Parador a place to relax and enjoyable for our guest. Thank you for your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    69
    84
    36
    25
    34
See reviews for
45
115
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

Excellent location, hotel staff were friendly. Restaurant service was a little slow but the food quality was great and it included fresh seafood. Amenities were beautiful and very clean. Deluxe villas were pretty decorated (take in consideration it is not a luxury hotel), awesome balcony view and always had hot water . I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bahia_Salinas, Front Desk Clerk at Bahia Salinas Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
We are happy to know that you have a wonderful experience in our Parador. We work day by day to make our guest feel like home. Thank you and we hope you visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

The setting for this older hotel is spectacular. Right on the sea, with a beautiful pool, bar, restaurant - all open air. The rooms were sparse, not luxurious, we had no hot water (they use solar only), and one night the kitchen closed so there was no dinner on site...which leads me to one of the plusses (or minuses) of the place - it's really in a very "untouristy" area of PR and there is not much else to do. The lighthouse and adjacent beach (Suchia) are really gorgeous, you can drive up the coast a little and have lunch or supper at Annie's (quite good, try the Fish Nuggets). The food on site is quite good. This is a great place to rest, relax, swim, watch the sunset from the bar or the beach,and nap. We loved it there for 2 nights, more might have been pushing it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bahia_Salinas, Front Desk Clerk at Bahia Salinas Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
We are happy that you visited our Parador. We work day by day to make the visit to our guest a pleasent one. Sorry for the inconvience in our restaurant, there was a gas leak and for the security of our clients we decied to close to fix the problem. Our Parador is located inside of a natural reserve and that is why we work with solar system. Thank you for your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We stopped here to eat and to check out the grounds. The place is stunning with cabanas that have white curtains and comfy chairs by the infinity pool The service at the restaurant was very slow, but worth the wait. The food was top notch. I had veggie mofongo which was fantastic, best on I have had in the Island. My husband had chicken dish which was awesome, and my friend had the penne alfredo which was delicious as well. Pina Colada was good too. Stop by and spend a few hours here. You could order and take a dip in the pool before the food is done ;o) But oh so worth it. We did not stay overnight so I can't comment on the rooms. For a lover's weekend or longer stay, this seems like a wonderful place to spend a getaway,

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bahia_Salinas, Front Desk Clerk at Bahia Salinas Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
We are grateful that you have visited our restaurant. We hope you come back soon so that you can stay with us and to enjoy romantic sunsets and our flora and fauna. Thanks again for visiting .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

This is a beautiful view but that is it. I returned from my vacation with a severer head cold from taking cold showers in this hotel. I asked what the problem was and they continued to say that they have a solar water heater. Well I know how that works and you still get hot water. this is plain old inoperative as is the hotel itself. You can't swim on the beach you sink in the sand that is a clay texture and feels gross. Besides the staff tells you not to swim on this beach. Which means they should put a sign up no swimming or swimming highly not recommenede. You do have a beautiful beach a short drive away but you better rent a 4wheel drive to get there. There is also an obnoxious foul odor on this premises from teh natural salt mines nearby. You put up with a lot because of the beauty of the view. There are wandering cats all ove rthe place even while we were having dinner and they a re starving. They offer you a free rum drink on arrival but you can only choose rum and coke? Why bother. The rooms have windows which are sealed with plexiglass, no screens so you can't open and get fresh air. Very stifling. Do not fall for the all inclusive meal plan as they have a separate menu that is the same every night and is mostly meat. Its so not worth it. Place should be gutted and renovated totally. Not worth it. The area is great though would definetly go back to Cabo Rojo just not there.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Amazing location but service was awful. Almost laughable when my girlfriend and I first arrived. The amenities were incredible ie pool and beach however rooms are decent circa 1985 and bartenders literally hate you. Ordered a corona and he looked at me like I wanted his firstborn child. I'm not kidding.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

The place is located close to Playa Sucia, on of the most beautiful beaches in Puerto Rico, and the Lighthouse in Cabo Rojo. The small hotel is ideal for a romantic getaway and a small wedding. The food at the restaurant was excellent. I will recommend to everybody to rent a car, since the hotel is far away from the main highway.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bahia Salinas Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bahia Salinas Beach Resort & Spa

Address: Carr 301 Km 11, Cabo Rojo 00622, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Cabo Rojo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 hotels in Cabo Rojo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bahia Salinas Beach Resort & Spa 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are extremely excited and pleased to announce that Bahia Salinas Resort makeover is almost complete for our long awaited expansion. Of course never to change the friendly and romantic ambiance that all has grown to Love and respect. Your journey may begin by stopping by the new guest reception where you will be warmly greeted. To cool off you might want to stop by the large beachfront bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Bahia Salinas Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahia Salinas Beach Resort And Spa
Bahia Salinas Beach Hotel Cabo Rojo
Hotel Bahia Salinas Beach
Bahia Salinas Puerto Rico
Salinas Beach Hotel Bahia
Bahia Salinas Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bahia Salinas Beach Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.