We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staying on the West Coast of PR on the Cheap!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Parador Joyuda Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Parador Joyuda Beach to your Saves list
Hotel Parador Joyuda Beach
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Road 102 Km 11.8 | Joyuda, Cabo Rojo 00623, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Cabo Rojo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Staying on the West Coast of PR on the Cheap!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Looked around to do something different for New Years (My wife and I wanted something away from all the noise and business of San Juan) so we shopped around and we found the deal of the year $124.99 including taxes for a 2 night beach side hotel. Yes, it is an old property and they do have problems with the rooms smelling of humidity (I strongly believe that the bathroom extractors aren't quite powerful enough. FYI JUST OPEN THE WINDOWS FOR A WHILE AND IT WILL BE GONE) And yes I have been to those motels that charge you per hour with better TV's and room amenity, but come on people this hotel is just a place where you spend the whole day on the beach, take a shower, go out for dinner (maybe 12 to 15 great restaurants down the street) after dinner go out drinking and enjoy the nightlife around the bars and restaurants in the area, go back to the hotel and crash on the bed... Next day repeat the same sequence.

My wife and I spent the whole Jan 1st sitting at the nearly private beach mostly by ourselves drinking and eating (the hotel will let you bring your own ice cooler and food) all day long

Truly a Great Experience, its not a Ritz Carlton or even a Holiday Inn BUT FOR THE PRICE IT'S THE BEST PLACE AROUND JOYUDA!

PS. I gave cleanliness a 3 because the room wasn't vacuumed just only swept and mopped and the windows curtains could have benefited from a nice dusting from a vacuum. Rooms just a 3 because its a bed, an old tv, an a/c and not much else. But the Staff, Location and Value are a solid 5 stars !

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Huevoloco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Spanaway, Washington
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

If you are not very picky it will do the trick, the place is not dirty it is just old and outdated. Yes, the beds are hard as if you were sleeping on the floor. The sliding door in room 124 was rusty and it was hard to open it and close it. I'm under the impression the hotel does not have a good supply of towels (maybe guests have been taking them) as I had a party of 5, but they kept leaving me 3 towels, when I went to the front desk to ask for 2 more they said " the towels left in your room are the towels you supposed to get" of course I argued a little, and was able to get few more. The restaurant is not open all the time, it takes longer than normal to get your food, so if you are really hungry, I suggests don't eat there because you will be upset. However, the food is ok, and Peggy is a very nice waitress. I believe they are just short of staff. On a positive note, we had a party of 23 people including 8 under the ages of 10, the fact that you can use the pool at all times was a blessing, many places you stay, the pools are closed usually after 10:00 pm, not a this hotel, we were Able to use the pool at any time. The gate to the little private beach closes at midnight, so we were able to hang out at the beach until that time. Also, as we put the kids to sleep, we could sit in the patio in front of our rooms and chat, drink and laugh until the wee hours. Overall is a very relax place to stay and hangout with friends and family.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank lauranet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012 via mobile

Spended a weekend at the Joyuda beach. When we arrived we were attended by a rude mummy in the front desk. We went to our room which smelled awfull, had the feeling we were at an elderly center. The ac will freeze after a couple of minutes and the room got very hot. There were Mosquitos and small roches every where In the room. There was also a water filtration coming from the roof which was falling on top of one of the beds. The beds were hard and dirty. The bathroom was nasty, hairs Inside the shower and dirt all over. The tv was not working correctly it felt as if everyone on the screen was a relative of Hulk, because everything was green. The pool was disgusting, the floor was slimmy, the water was dirty and it was super small. The restaurant at the place had no variety in there menu, the food was not good and they took a very Long time. We tried to have the best out of the worst. Couldn't wait to go home. Overall experience never again, take advice and don't waste you're money. You can find a much better place.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abcdefghojklmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cabo Rojo hotels

Trujillo Alto, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

We stay at the hotel for mothers weekend... and what a bad experience. We found that the room has a bed that looks and feels so bad. It was imposible to sleep in such a hard mattress, and in the bathroom you can find cockroaches, we have them there with us. The service was good. We did our food out of the hotel so we can not tell about the food.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012 via mobile

The worst "hotel" in Puerto Rico! I stayed there with my husband and two daughters, when we opened the door the smell and dust made my eyes warter. We asked for another room and got a worst one! The pool is too small and the resaurant food wasn't good. We tried to talk to a manager who never showed up. For two weeks after our terrible weekend, I tried to reach the manager or the owner by phone to see if at least I could get an apology but got a very rude lady all the time. Bottom line, warn everyone you hear is making plans to visit that beautiful area of Puerto Rico, and always check these reviews first.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mamitaelsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011

The first room didn't have enough natural light, it was like a cave. We ask for an upgrade and they took us to a beach-front bedroom. The first one, the sliding glass door lock was broken. Then we got a third room. It was nice but the sheets were old and not fitted, as you move they came out. And NOOOO HOTTT WATER!!!!!!! at all. And the towels felt like sand paper. No coffe maker on the bedroom and we have to make our own coffe at the lobby . They don't even have coffe.

La primera habitacion que nos dieron no tenia suficiente luz natural, parecia una cueva. Solicitamos algo mejor y nos dieron una habitacion frente al mar pero la puerta de cristal no cerraba el seguro estaba roto. La tercera habitacion que nos dieron estaba bastante bien pero las sabanas no ajustaban y se salian segun te movias. Si quieres una cama bien dura ese es el lugar para conseguirla. No habia NAAADDDAAA DE AGUA CALIENTE. nos dijeron que dejaramos el agua correr pero tampoco salio caliente. Las toallas parecian lija eran bien duras. No tiene cafetera en las habitaciones y tuve que hacer mi propio cafe en el lobby ya que ni tan siquiera tenian cafe. Yo traje mi propio cafe.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ramon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

If you want a budget friendly place to stay, this is the one. Right in front of a beautiful beach protected by a reef. Perfect for snorkeling or sun baths in the sand. A very nice pool to relax and have a drink. The food was good and the service was great. I've stayed in all the others hotels in the area and have to say this one is the best. Close to the best restaurants in the west side of the island. Minutes from marinas and golf courses. In 15 minutes you can get to famous beaches in the area or stay in the private one the hotel has to offer. I would recommended to everyone visiting the area. I'm already booked for next month.

Room Tip: Rooms closest to the beach are perfet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Humberto Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yaritzaa, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Parador Joyuda Beach, responded to this review, November 8, 2011
Thank you very much for stayed with us. We invite you to come back and see our new restaurant and packages. "We're total life by the Beach".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cabo Rojo
11.0 mi away
Parador Combate Beach
Parador Combate Beach
#1 of 4 in Cabo Rojo
4.5 of 5 stars 411 reviews
12.7 mi away
Grand Bahi-a Ocean View Hotel
7.6 mi away
Parador Boquemar
Parador Boquemar
#3 of 5 in Boqueron
3.5 of 5 stars 169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Mayaquez & Tropical Casino
14.3 mi away
Parador Villa Parguera
14.1 mi away
Villa Cofresi Hotel
Villa Cofresi Hotel
#1 of 8 in Rincon
4.5 of 5 stars 619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Parador Joyuda Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Parador Joyuda Beach

Address: Road 102 Km 11.8 | Joyuda, Cabo Rojo 00623, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Cabo Rojo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Cabo Rojo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Parador Joyuda Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A cozy SMALL INNS located STEPS from The BEACH. All rooms are walking distance from the BEACH. Free parking, Five minutes from El Deportivo Golf Course. Only Beach Front Hotel in Joyuda. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Parador Joyuda Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Joyuda Beach Hotel
Parador Joyuda Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing