We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“poor rooms” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Parador Boquemar

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Parador Boquemar to your Saves list
Parador Boquemar
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Carretera 101 | Boqueron Village, Cabo Rojo 00622, Puerto Rico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Cabo Rojo
Atlanta
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“poor rooms”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

The good -- walking downstairs and strolling in the village, close drive to gorgeous beaches, friendly people. The bathroom was adequate. The AC was adequate. The room itself was too small to open a suitcase except on the bed. Of the two beds, one had gum stuck to the headboard and the other had new clothes stickers hanging off of it, as if neither had been cleaned. The min fridge definitely had not been cleaned and was disgusting. The linens appeared clean. The tv stand stuck way out into the room and one of us had a nasty head bang on the corner of it. The front desk insists that you take a tv remote even if you don't want it, and warns you to turn it back in or be charged. This seems indicative of the kind of hotel it is, definitely not a good value for price charged.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boquemar, Owner at Parador Boquemar, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
We made the decision to apply a phrase frequently used in Puerto Rico which say;
"It is better late than never" . Because despite the time that has passed since your visit and comment we have decided to answer each reviews we have received .
We want to thank each and every comment pointing out the areas where we must improve
because it has been the guide we used to begin working on each area pointed out. It took
several months , but we will continue until the goal is reached and our guests feel welcome, enjoy their stay and leave happy . We have been repairing, painting , doing maintenance to our facility and adjusting our prices and offers. We are committed to continue to do together as a team , committed to give our best and make everyone feel the hospitality that characterizes the
Puertorrican .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    18
    17
    16
    22
See reviews for
29
27
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denville, New Jersey
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

I attempted to reserve 25 rooms for a family reunion. Several calls, email and not a single response. I was told that manager is the only one that receives and acknowledges emails???

Please to see that they are doing so well that they did not need our business.

If they treat their guest coming prior I can't imagine how poor they treat their quest after checking in.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 2 nights for an event happening at that hotel. We pre-paid for the hotel and when we arrived were told the only room left was a first floor room with a full size bed. When we opened the room the room was discusting and dirty. The TV had like 5 channels and the air conditioning was completely black full of mold. The towels and sheets had stains like if they were not even washed. We wanted to find another hotel right away but could not since the room reservation could not be cancelled. We put our shirts over the pillows and slept without using there sheets because we saw how filthy they were. Through the night we could hear all the cars passing by out the window with the music blasting which I knew was not the hotels fault since it is located on a very popular street. The next day we did not want our room cleaned so just went outside to ask for some new towels. We were told that we had to give them our old ones, they had to wash them and dry them, and then give it back to us because they do not have any towels to give. We couldn't believe a three story hotel did not have two clean towels. Overall I would never stay here again and I would not recommend anyone stay here unless you are just looking for a good location. The room is dirty, the lady that checked me in was rude, and it was WAYYY to over priced.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boquemar, Owner at Parador Boquemar, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
We made the decision to apply a phrase frequently used in Puerto Rico which say;
"It is better late than never" . Because despite the time that has passed since your visit and comment we have decided to answer each reviews we have received .
We want to thank each and every comment pointing out the areas where we must improve
because it has been the guide we used to begin working on each area pointed out. It took
several months , but we will continue until the goal is reached and our guests feel welcome, enjoy their stay and leave happy . We have been repairing, painting , doing maintenance to our facility and adjusting our prices and offers. We are committed to continue to do together as a team , committed to give our best and make everyone feel the hospitality that characterizes the
Puertorrican .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012 via mobile

My daughter is in this hotel at this moment for a family reunion. As preview reviews-yes, hotel is dirty, towels have stain, air conditioner is black , bed has hair. They have to stop on a nearest store to buy some towels , blankets and cleaner. Price at this time they have a good deal. Location one of the best.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boquemar, Owner at Parador Boquemar, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
We made the decision to apply a phrase frequently used in Puerto Rico which say;
"It is better late than never" . Because despite the time that has passed since your visit and comment we have decided to answer each reviews we have received .
We want to thank each and every comment pointing out the areas where we must improve
because it has been the guide we used to begin working on each area pointed out. It took
several months , but we will continue until the goal is reached and our guests feel welcome, enjoy their stay and leave happy . We have been repairing, painting , doing maintenance to our facility and adjusting our prices and offers. We are committed to continue to do together as a team , committed to give our best and make everyone feel the hospitality that characterizes the
Puertorrican .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

This place needs to be updated, specialy the blankets with holes and the windows and screens needed to be clean. The area is beautiful and the beaches are great!! and the front desk lady was very nice.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boquemar, Owner at Parador Boquemar, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
We made the decision to apply a phrase frequently used in Puerto Rico which say;
"It is better late than never" . Because despite the time that has passed since your visit and comment we have decided to answer each reviews we have received .
We want to thank each and every comment pointing out the areas where we must improve
because it has been the guide we used to begin working on each area pointed out. It took
several months , but we will continue until the goal is reached and our guests feel welcome, enjoy their stay and leave happy . We have been repairing, painting , doing maintenance to our facility and adjusting our prices and offers. We are committed to continue to do together as a team , committed to give our best and make everyone feel the hospitality that characterizes the
Puertorrican .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davie, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

I stayed here with my family in June 2012 for 2 nights during our vacation to P.R. I felt that at $115 per night, we would've been staying in a more updated room. The AC unit must've been from the 80's as it was rusty and had ants coming in from a crack in the wall. The tiles in the bathroom were falling off. The room (#16) was very small for a family of four. Killed a roach on the second night! For $117 we stayed at a Sheraton in Fort Lauderdlae Beach, FL with nice flat screen TV's and no bugs!!!

Room Tip: Apparently, the rooms on the upper floors are more spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boquemar, Manager at Parador Boquemar, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
At Parador Boquemar , we try to make our guest feel as comfortable as possible . Please accept
our apologize for the inconvinience during your stay with us . We have different types of rooms, some are roomy , others are more spacious , but all of them are well kept and intended to make
our guest feel welcome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayamon, Puerto Rico
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

If you're traveling with your family, this is not the place. We had a terrible experience, expensive and poor management. Cabo Rojo is extremely beautiful with espectacular beaches and a very nice island life. But, this place is not a good ambassador of that precious city.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boquemar, Manager at Parador Boquemar, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Thank you for your review.We are always trying to improve our facilities , service , and offer
great deals for couples and families. Our expectation is that all our guest have a pleasant stay
and enjoy all atracctions of Cabo Rojo town .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Parador Boquemar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador Boquemar

Address: Carretera 101 | Boqueron Village, Cabo Rojo 00622, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Cabo Rojo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Cabo Rojo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Parador Boquemar 2*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Parador Boquemar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parador Boquemar Hotel Cabo Rojo
Parador Boquemar Puerto Rico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parador Boquemar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.