We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just a visit to the restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wensum Valley Hotel Golf and Country Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Wensum Valley Hotel Golf and Country Club to your Saves list
Wensum Valley Hotel Golf and Country Club
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Beech Avenue, Taverham NR8 6HP, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Taverham
Norfolk
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Just a visit to the restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

We visited this hotel to use the restaurant with some friends. We ate in the restaurant area off of the bar. Very pleasant and helpful staff, comfy seats and well laid out. The food was fresh and tasty, the only downside is they need a lesson in frying eggs!! There is a good selection on the menu, offering a set menu with a choice of two or three courses or you can choose from the a la carte. We have previously dined here for a carvery which was also really good and set up in the large function room. There is plenty of space here and as well as the restaurant and function room there is the bar area and some nice lounge areas too. We also noticed a separate snooker room. We are fairly local so have never used the hotel facilities but there seems to be everything here - golf course, pool, beauty treatments. If I had to pick a bad point it would be that the bar toilets could do with a refresh, they are tired (still cigarette burns on the flooring) and were not particularly clean.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    82
    33
    29
    24
See reviews for
61
57
10
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Potton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

Had a great stay,all the staff are very helpful & the rooms are very nice ,
I would say it is better that the star rateing

Golf couse was good considering the rain we have had recently,

Would highly recommend

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

I'm a regular to this hotel as it is great value for money and staff are very friendly. Beds could be a little more comfortable if they removed the plastic protective sheet! Internet is very slow but is free all the same. The food is very good value for money, breakfast is ok but don't have the sausages! The texture is not nice! I have requested like other guests to change supplier.
Parking is very good, no problems with space, parking at the rear is better as it is next to all the rooms. Very nice bedroom view of the golf course and a very peaceful location.

Room Tip: Any room is nice, especially the family size rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

We stayed 2 nights at this venue - both nights were quiet and restful. We felt that all of the arrangements for our Grand daughter's wedding were FIRST CLASS in all respects. The food was excellent and the service the staff gave us could not be faulted in any way. As soon as the meal was completed and the speeches were completed they cleared everything away to leave a clear dance floor. Well done to them. We will certainly be using these facilities again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

Amazing food at reasonable prices staff friendly very good carvery on a Sunday all locally sourced and uses local businesses five star. We had a family lunch for 27 and service was brilliant food excellent, wheelchair friendly even provided the kids with games to play have already recommended to friends

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

We had a wonderful time at the hotel, which hosted a family members wedding. The room was huge and spotless and the food was amazing, both at the wedding and breakfast this morning. We had a family room which had a massive double bed and three single beds, but was so spacious we all still had loads of room. The staff were helpful and friendly and we would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: The family rooms are enormous and extremely good value
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Stayed at this hotel for a weekend of golf and socialising in Norwich and couldn't fault it. From the moment we arrived the staff were very helpful and friendly and the facilities, including a swimming pool, golf course, driving range etc were very well maintained.
Everything about this hotel was perfect. We had a lovely breakfast in the morning which was included in the price and was prepared for you individually, cooked to order. The staff were always smiling and helpful even when we got a bit loud in the bar. The perfect location (a short taxi journey to the town) for a relaxed round of golf and a meal and some socialising in Norwich.
Well done Wensum Valley Hotel Golf and Country Club !!!!!

Room Tip: Ask the staff for a free upgraded room - you may get lucky, we did.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wensum Valley Hotel Golf and Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wensum Valley Hotel Golf and Country Club

Address: Beech Avenue, Taverham NR8 6HP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Taverham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Taverham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Wensum Valley Hotel Golf and Country Club 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in 350 acres of breathtaking Norfolk countryside you’ll have plenty to choose from at Wensum Valley Hotel Golf and Country Club. Perhaps you are thinking of taking a weekend break in Norfolk, or a Golf break in Norwich, and would like to be only 5 miles from Norwich’s nightlife, shopping and culture and just 30 minutes from the beautiful North Norfolk coastline. Our convenient location and transport links make us the perfect Norwich Airport Hotel. Whatever the purpose of your visit, anything is possible at Wensum Valley Hotel, Golf and Country Club.Wensum Valley Hotel offers 2 of the finest golf courses in Norfolk. Both 18-hole courses are free draining, meaning they are playable all year round with no temporary greens! Our 90 en-suite rooms are both comfortable and welcoming after a round on the course, fishing on the river Wensum or a day out in Norfolk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and Odigeo so you can book your Wensum Valley Hotel Golf and Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wensum Valley Hotel And Country

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wensum Valley Hotel Golf and Country Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.