We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 day golf and leisure break” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wensum Valley Hotel Golf and Country Club

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Wensum Valley Hotel Golf and Country Club to your Saves list
Wensum Valley Hotel Golf and Country Club
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Beech Avenue, Taverham NR8 6HP, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Taverham
Grimsby, United Kingdom
1 review
“3 day golf and leisure break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Food excellent,staff very helpful.Leisure facilities good but the pool could have been a higher temp.Golf,unfortunately this was a bad time to golf as they were tyning the greens which is good policy but temporary greens would not have gone amiss.The accomadation was spacious and clean,the on-suites could do with an update.Overall would we go again?Yes.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    82
    33
    29
    24
See reviews for
61
57
10
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Harlow, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Stayed 3 nights as part of a group of 16 golfers - all of us were more or less in agreement with the following:
As some other reviews have stated, the accomadation is slightly dated - however I found my room to be of a good size and to be clean and tidy, big shower cubicle (no bath) plenty of hot water/good water jet.
Food was very good indeed, some items slightly pricey but overall good value (special praise for the gammon steak and the Saturday night carvery).
The bar area is functional rather than comfortable - however there are quieter areas.
The main let down was the breakfast, which fell down on some fairly minor but basic aspects.
The service is generally a little slow (order taking) - but the food appears after an acceptable period of time - the problem? The Hotel seems to have a policy of resticting coffee and toast! Whilst they will leave tea on the table, they insist on serving you (or not) with coffee. Those that asked for coffee were kept waiting and in some cases had eaten their breakfast and left before any was forthcoming - the story was the same with toast - which often arrived after people had finished their Breakfast. This was not unique to our group as we observed other tables trying to catch the attention of staff in order to get coffee and toast.
This was the same every day so not a one off - whenever coffee arrived (rarely) we would pounce on the server and kidnap the pot. This just lead to them never coming back with additional coffee!!
Maybe this was due to the size of our group, in any case, even though it seems rather trivial it was increasingly annoying and frustrating as each day passed.
Golf: We only got to play the Wensum course as the Valley course was closed temporarily the morning we were due to play because of fog it re-opened too late for us to play (not the fault of the venue of course).
The Wensum is a very tough track - it wasn't in its best order as the greens had just been hollow tined - but a resonable course, not for beginners though.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Having read some of the previous reviews, I was a little wary, but I booked this hotel very last minute for a three night stay, had wanted an executive room, but was offered the honeymoon suite, as the executive suite was only available for two of the three nights. Felt a bit strange in a honeymoon suite being as I was travelling alone.
When I got there, I was booked in by a lovely lady on reception who took time to explain where everything was, and the times that meals were available.
The room was very clean, and tidy, and huge. The four poster bed was something that I hadn't expected, but it was very comfortable. The room came with plenty of storage space, tables, chairs and a settee, and the customary basket of tea, coffee and hot chocolate (the only thing missing was perhaps a few biscuits !!)
The location of the hotel is fabulous with lovely scenery, even beyond the golf courses (not being a golfer myself this part of the hotel held no interest for me). Didn't get to use the swimming pool, or any of the other amenities, but they certainly looked inviting.
The rooms are away from the bar area, so never experienced any noise in the room when the party of golfers were a little vocal in the bar on Saturday evening.
Would certainly recommend this to other travellers, and I would book here again if I was to travel back to this area in the future
All the staff were friendly, courteous and well dressed, nothing was ever too much trouble.

Room Tip: Would recommend an executive room as the views are stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thetford, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

I attended for a wedding recently and it was an excellent event. The Ceremony was very good The reception was well set out with smart tables and the food was spot on. The waiting staff were smart and efficient, as were the bar staff, with minimal waiting time. Great consideration was given to both the wedding guests and members of the club so that we felt accepted and welcome.
The setting is excellent with some lovely views across the countryside. Really couldn't have asked for a better day. The room we had was a double and was very good value with breakfast included. More than large enough with a large comfortable bed, good facilities and peaceful.
Breakfast was quickly served with a smile and good value. I would certainly recommend this venue for this type of event. All under one roof, relaxing and professionally done.

Room Tip: Double room away from the courtyard was nice and peaceful. Large, well equipped, good facilities. Re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Was booked into this place through work and thought it would make a change from a travelodge. Wrong. The rooms are very dated, beige bathroom suites and a musty damp smell which only reveals the age of the place and a lack of cleaning. The shower is dangerous as it alternates between freezing and scalding every five seconds.

We didn't eat here so I cannot comment on dinner, but the huge dining room was deserted, which tells it's own story. Breakfast was OK, but we were asked three times for our room numbers by three seperate staff. Do they honestly think that someone would try to sneak in here?!

This place could be very good, as it has a great location overlooking the golf course, but the staff as very laid back, inexperienced and the whole place has not had money spent onit in years.

Room Tip: Don't book through any of the web booking sites, phone the place yourself and you will be able t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Taverham hotels

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

This is a great place to stay. Rooms are clean and quite roomy.Staff are helpful and friendly and there is a pool and gym.I have stayed a few times now and try to book here whenever I am in Norwich.
The only downside for me is I can't seem to get the same price each time I book and this is frustrating when you are a regular.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowestoft
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

We stayed at this hotel on the 12th August this month and after reading some of the reviews on here lately were a little apprehensive. Our inlaws booked and paid for our room as we were attending a family wedding and we must say that we enjoyed our stay immensely, from arriving at noon on the Sunday, deciding at the last minute to have Sunday carvery in the hotel instead of going to a nearby restaurant, to breakfast the next morning. Inbetween that we enjoyed the afternoon in the pool with our little one which was lovely and warm with very friendly lifeguards to give us our towels and explain their amenities to the food in the evening at the wedding reception buffet. Throughout our stay all memebers of staff were welcoming and friendly. Our family room although a little dated was very clean, very spacious with crisp white bed linen. Lovely big shower and great water pressure. We must mention the views from this hotel, the hills around it are so beautiful, it is a lovely setting and it is so quiet with as said before lots of golfers even on the course before breakfast but that was a lovley sight. The breakfast was the usual cereals, juices, toast, croissants and full english which was cooked to order and was delicious. Will definately stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WensumValleyHotelGC, General Manager at Wensum Valley Hotel Golf and Country Club, responded to this review, September 2, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback on your stay with us here at Wensum Valley Hotel, it's lovely to hear your positive comments about our food, staff and leisure facilities. We are incredibly lucky to be in such a beautiful setting and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Norfolk.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Wensum Valley Hotel Golf and Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wensum Valley Hotel Golf and Country Club

Address: Beech Avenue, Taverham NR8 6HP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Taverham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Taverham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Wensum Valley Hotel Golf and Country Club 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in 350 acres of breathtaking Norfolk countryside you’ll have plenty to choose from at Wensum Valley Hotel Golf and Country Club. Perhaps you are thinking of taking a weekend break in Norfolk, or a Golf break in Norwich, and would like to be only 5 miles from Norwich’s nightlife, shopping and culture and just 30 minutes from the beautiful North Norfolk coastline. Our convenient location and transport links make us the perfect Norwich Airport Hotel. Whatever the purpose of your visit, anything is possible at Wensum Valley Hotel, Golf and Country Club.Wensum Valley Hotel offers 2 of the finest golf courses in Norfolk. Both 18-hole courses are free draining, meaning they are playable all year round with no temporary greens! Our 90 en-suite rooms are both comfortable and welcoming after a round on the course, fishing on the river Wensum or a day out in Norfolk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and Odigeo so you can book your Wensum Valley Hotel Golf and Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wensum Valley Hotel And Country

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wensum Valley Hotel Golf and Country Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.