We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical pub grub” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Cock Inn

The Cock Inn
1 Drayton High Road, Taverham, England
01603 869598
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 2 restaurants in Taverham
Price range: $10 - $22
Cuisines: English, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Typical pub grub”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

The Cock Inn is our local restaurant so we go often for food, it is convenient. Prices are good including a free bottle of wine if you order over £15 worth of food (not sure this special is still on). Food is typical pub style, some days are better than others. Service is always good, staff are friendly. They change the menu to provide some variety which is good but when I wanted to order chicken wing as a starter the last time, they were no longer on the menu. Maybe they need to get customer feedback before making changes.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

52% Recommend
    13
    21
    12
    7
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Always pretty good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Been in a few times, always been pretty good. Never had any problems with the food, on a couple of occasions I've waited slightly longer for food than I would have expected 45-50 minutes. Even when it's busy I don't think you should be waiting more than 30mins. But yeah always been very good and I use the restaurant every couple of months.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norwich,uk
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“macky D's with a waitress”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

food poor, service poor. menu pub chain, food out of the packet and into the microwave, toilets dirty, staff v.poor. nothing worse than a table of six all having to eat at different times due to poor cooking staffing and quality, give this place a BIG MISS. But be beware the red lion over the road is as bad or worse, as the host is so RUDE.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Family Meals”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Excellent service from very helpful and friendly staff An excellent choice of light lunches a wide ranging menu and theme evenings for all tastes.
We have celebrated a number of special occasions with a family group numbering from four to eight over a number of years and never been disappointed. The meals have always been promptly served been of very good quality and we have been allowed to stay as long as we wished without feeling any pressure to vacate our table.
We have recommended The Cock to other families who have received the same high quality food and service that we have enyoyed and we continue to do so.
The only downside is a rather small car park for a venue as large as the cock and we have sometimes had to seach parking off site which is restricted in the near proximity,

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“How long ?”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

A group of 4 adults and 2 small children visited for a sunday roast. The place was two thirds full and we were served by a waitress who had only been in the job for two days, not good on a busy sunday. Drinks were ordered and the long wait started, eventually the waitresses took our food order and we sat back and waited, and waited, and waited. This was not a complicated order, sunday roast, no complications, kids were now chewing their arms off and very restless. I noticed everyone else had been waiting a considerable time as well. After one and a half hours we got our cold roast, thick over done, cold chewy beef, soggy cold roast potatoes, nearly raw carrots and beans and cauliflower cheese with no flavour but at least cooked. Would not purchase a barge pole to threaten to touch this place worst meal of my life. Red lion across the road is excellent though and half the price.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cock Inn also viewed

 

Been to The Cock Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cock Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.