We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of East Lochhead Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lochwinnoch
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
East Lochhead Cottages
Save
You added East Lochhead Cottages to your Saves list
Kilbirnie Road, Lochwinnoch PA12 4DX, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Lochwinnoch B&B and Inns
Hamilton, Scotland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

Stayed at East Lochhead Cottages for two nights whilst attending a wedding at the nearby Moorpark House Hotel. The cottages were within 3 miles of the wedding venue and were spotlessly clean, welcoming and in a nice location. We stayed in the Lochview cottage which for two of us was more than adequate. There was definitely more than enough space for 4 people. the lounge / dining area was spacious, kitchen was modern and well equipped and there was a large bathroom and bedroom. The garden (accessed through the patio doors in the lounge) was a bonus although the February weather did not allow us to spend much time there.
Although we weren't sight-seeing, I can imagine this being a good base for travellers and is located close to Lochwinnoch train station. A taxi from the cottages to Lochwinnoch is £4-6 or a nice walk if you prefer.
All in all we had a lovely stay and would definitely recommend the cottages to anyone looking for accommodation in the area.

Room Tip: Lochview Cottage has a garden and view over Barr Loch
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    5
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
5
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shefford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

A Christmas holiday, between Christmas and New Year with two young children....their bikes, toys etc etc
Beautiful scenery yet close enough to Glasgow for an easy day out with children to the Transport Museum.
Despite pouring rain we managed a wonderful stay and true break, seeing new places from previous trips to Renfrewshire and Ayrshire.
Cosy, warm and excellent decor and a personal touch of small Christmas tree in our cottage for our children! Plenty of space for them to play inside whilst preparing supper.
Safe courtyard location meant they could cycle around after breakfast!
Will be visiting again.

Room Tip: Garden Cottage has a lovely garden view, end of terrace, with courtyard at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Lincolnshire
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011

First time visit to this area of Scotland, glad we chose East Lochhead Cottages as we didn't feel too isolated due to the fact that there are four cottages in a courtyard.
Liked the fact also that the owners also live on site.
We stayed in the Rowan cottage as this is 'Dog Friendly' which our little dog loved!
Very well maintained and all the little things provided e.g. washing up liquid/ cleaning products/towels.....even Tea/Coffee & Sugar!!
Only thing we thought was missing was a sofa chair in addition to the sofa.
Location wise GOOD! We loved being able to catch the train at Lochwinnoch (FREE CAR PARK) and visit Glasgow within 25 mins. All in all FABULOUS!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidelberg, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

We stayed in "Lochview" as a party of four. The rooms are clean and well-kept. The view from the patio is very nice. The kitchen appliances work as perfectly as does the equipment in the bathroom. Nothing short of perfect.
One day we had our laundry hung out on the rotary clothes drier and there was a downpour while we were away. On coming home we found our laundry safe and dry in the entrace of our cottage. I think this is a good example for how Janet Anderson, the landlady, understands her business.
The nearby village of Lochwinnoch provides all amenities you need as you can see on the website. There is a bike route going past the house and you can rent bikes in the village. I walked this path (must be an old rail track) just after a rainshower and took so many photographs of little waterfalls, bridges, flowers et cetera.

The worst thing I can say is that we left a day early and both Janet and I did not notice the mistake. The place is too good for not to be bothered...

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our 5 night stay at East Lochhead. Janet and Ross were great hosts. We stayed in the Old Byre cottage with our extended family. It was very clean and a good size.

The location worked well for us. It was a good base for exploring the area. We went to the Isle of Arran, Glasgow and Edinburgh. It was an easy and enjoyable trip on National Rail into Edinburgh from the Lochwinnoch train station. We enjoyed the rural location with easy access to local sites.

Janet has a local person come in once a week with fish. She bought salmon and sea trout for us as well as home grown tomatoes. The quality of the fish was terrific. We thoroughly enjoyed it. The kitchen was adequate for preparing meals for all of us.

On the downside, we had to go into the courtyard to get Internet access which was inconvenient and we had difficulty finding quality, good value local restaurants which we were disappointed about after the slow food connection referred to on the website. Note Janet and Ross are no longer offering breakfast. The units are truly self catering.

I would recommend the cottages without hesitation especially for families.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

With our twin 2 year olds we had a fantastic 16 days living in one of the cottages, its just great for kids and mine loved every second playing in the enclosed garden

Will we be back - YOU BET !!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2011

True Samaritans is the only way to describe Janet and Ross. We arrived, soaked to the skin on our tandem and we were welcomed with open arms, divested of our soaked and filthy clothing which was dried overnight, and made to feel completely at home.

What a lovely place to stay and ideally located within 100 yards of the Sustrans Lochs and Glens Route 7 which Janet and Ross have gone to the trouble of paying for and creating an access.

Thanks for a lovely stay. We will be back for longer.

Mike and Maria

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to East Lochhead Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Lochhead Cottages

Address: Kilbirnie Road, Lochwinnoch PA12 4DX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Renfrewshire > Lochwinnoch
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Lochwinnoch
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
East Lochhead has 5 cottages arranged around a courtyard, converted from old barns. 4 star accommodation and Gold Green award for the environment. Ross and Janet live on the site and are happy to help you with your holiday arrangements. Sustrans cycle track runs adjacent to the property and cycles are available for guests. Clyde Muirshiel Regional Park and Castle Semple offer courses in outdoor pursuits and sailing, as well as boat hire.RSPB Nature Reserve is nearby and also trains to Glasgow, Ayr, Largs and Ardrossan. Convenient for coast, hills, shopping, fishing and golf. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
East Lochhead Cottages Lochwinnoch, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage East Lochhead Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.