We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Picture postcard spot on the Sunshine Coast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rockwater Secret Cove Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Rockwater Secret Cove Resort to your Saves list
Rockwater Secret Cove Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   5356 Ole's Cove Road | Halfmoon Bay, Halfmoon Bay, British Columbia V0N 1Y2, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Halfmoon Bay
Nanaimo
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Picture postcard spot on the Sunshine Coast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

The Rock-Water Resort on Secret Cove on the Sunshine Coast is a designer dream mini-resort on a natural idyllic bay. It was fashioned out of an old resort originally known as Lord Jims , and now boasts not only the refurbished original cabins (with natty furnishings) , but also state-of-the-design-art tent suites on high bank waterfront overlooking the Strait of Georgia. I couldnt book a tent-suite , as a wedding party was in residence when I stayed , but a friend of mine has stayed in one , and pronounces them 'amazing'....high praise indeed from someone not easily impressed.
The grounds are picture postcard with well tended gardens , and the waterfront rockpools and driftwood piles offer plenty of 'Kodak moments'. The staff are pleasant , well-trained and efficient. There are also Spa services offered on-site.
The slight downside I found during my stay , was that the resturant food , although made from good quality ingredients , was rather bland , and lacking in imagination. The list of wines by the glass , although extensive , relied on crowd-pleasers rather than being the showcase for BC wines that I had expected, and the extensive wine bottle-list too showed some strange idiosyncrasies.....for example , the $100-200 per bottle wines did not show a vintage date , whilst a much cheaper New Zealand Sauvignon Blanc did?
This is a destination mini-resort with no other attractions within walking distance...and if your intent is a quiet romantic weekend in a beautiful location , you cant go far wrong....but if you dont come in the warmer summer months , make sure you bring some warm clothes , as the cool winds blow in from the Strait. I didnt use the Spa , but it has a good reputation with people I spoke to.

Room Tip: Choose cabin 10 or 11 , or better still the tent-suite 59 or 60 , both of which have unobstructed vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    228
    72
    38
    25
    34
See reviews for
41
271
9
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

Loved the tent suites. Don't book the rooms, book the tent suite. The stay was wonderful, the tent was clean and fantastic, the staff friendly and helpful. For the first time we ordered room service as the view from the suite was fantastic. Loved the jet tub. We celebrated our 20th anniversary there and loved it and will be back.

Room Tip: Tent 56 was the most private suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cerutti1881cc, General Manager at Rockwater Secret Cove Resort, responded to this review, May 28, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank You very much for taking the time to share your wonderful experience at the Rockwater Resort. It was our pleasure to be at your service and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Our Congratulations on your 20th Anniversary.

Sincerely,

Dikran Zabunyan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

I would highly recommend doing the elopement package at the Rockwater resort. If you are looking for stress free and absolutely stunning this is the way to do it! The wedding coordinator (Rhian) is amazing! I had guests from all over the world attend and they absolutely loved the resort. The best destination wedding right in our back yard.

Room Tip: # 60 tent suite. Very private!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cerutti1881cc, General Manager at Rockwater Secret Cove Resort, responded to this review, May 26, 2012
Hello Dani,

Thank You very much for taking the time to write a very positive review on Trip Advisor pertaining to your recent stay at The Award Winning Rockwater Resort.

We were delighted to hear that everyone who attended your wedding had a wonderful time with us. Also thank you very much for recommending the Rockwater Resort as a Dream Wedding Destination.

We look forward to be at your service again in the future.

Sincerely,

Dikran Zabunyan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012 via mobile

We had a wonderful visit. We stayed in a tent house and it was incredible. The view was amazing, service was terrific and the food was delicious. It was a great, unique experience we will recommend to all our friends and family.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cerutti1881cc, General Manager at Rockwater Secret Cove Resort, responded to this review, May 16, 2012
Dear Lucy,

Thank You very much for your review on trip advisor. We were delighted that you had an amazing experience at the Rockwater Resort.

We look forward to having back here in the future.

Sincerely,

Dikran Zabunyan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chilliwack, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

We stayed in a 2 bedroom cabin mid week for a short getaway. The cabin was cozy, rustic and quite charming. The bedrooms were a decent size. The bathroom was small but very clean. The bedrooms had cobwebs and the bathroom had a resident spider in the shower stall but it was a cabin after all. If it was a bit warmer we would have eaten our room service out on the deck. We were farther back from the water but still had a bit of a view. The parking spot by the cabin is a bit tricky to get to but there is ample parking a couple cabins over. The restaurant was excellent from the food to the friendly servers.. and the view..breathtaking. Not much to do with kids on site but there are beaches and parks a short drive away. In our opinion, not a place to stay for much more than a few days with young children but a nice relaxing getaway regardless. If you are going as a couple it's probably worth springing the extra dollars for a tent cabin.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dikran Z, General Manager at Rockwater Secret Cove Resort, responded to this review, May 7, 2012
Thank You very much for the positive review pertaining to your recent stay at the Rockwater Resort.

Your candid remarks regarding our Cabins are very much appreciated as they sure are cozy, rustic and very comfortable. Unfortunately given the time of the year our outdoor pool and our on site kayak activity centre were closed duting your stay.

We were also very dissapointed hear about the housekeeping issues (which we already remedied) you observed and we sincerely apologize for this shortcoming.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Yours truly,

Dikran Zabunyan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

This was a suprise for my boyfriend's Birthday, I arranged a tent and paid the extra $50.00 and boy am I glad I did, we got Tent #60 the best view, I also arranged room service for breakfast brought out to the tent. we were so happy we arranged a 2nd night but could not stay in the same tent. so we arranged to get tent #54 where it was nice but trees some what blocked the view. don't get me wrong all tents have a view but some tents are nicer then others. My only issue was that the floor heating wasn't working and though the staff member came out and tried to solve the problem. The tent was on the cold side as I suffer from Raynaud's and I wasn't very comfortable. In the morning breakfast took longer then exepected as a flood of room service orders came into the kitchen and the staff disappeared to deal with the room service forgetting there were other pardons in the restaurant waiting. ( 8 other couples )
At check out I was a bit disappointed as our bill didn't reflect a credit for the heat problem. When you pay $349 a night (non perfect view) you expect everything to work.
Finally after waiting for the manager to return my call 2 weeks later I was informed that a credit was issued to my credit card for the inconvievnce.

Room Tip: If you go make sure you pay the extra money for Tents #58,59,60,61,65
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dikran Z, General Manager at Rockwater Secret Cove Resort, responded to this review, May 5, 2012
Dear BCLADY2012,

Thanks very much for posting a review pertaining to your recent stay here at the Rockwater Resort.

Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused and also for not returning your call for two weeks as Ivan our Guest Services Manager explained to you on the phone that we accidentialy misplaced your file during our renovations of the resort's administrative offices.

I was however glad to hear that we resolved this particular opportunity to your satisfaction.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Dikran Zabunyan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monmouth
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

We had a tent house right on the water's edge and it was great. Spotlessly clean and perfectly presented it offered an unusual but super place to stay after so many regular hotel rooms during our trip. To unwind in the jacuzzi set us up for a really good dinner and we were not disappointed. Family joined us for this and a variety of dishes were ordered and consumed with great relish. Two huge bowls of fresh, plump mussels in a lightly curried cream sauce started us off and was, as they say here, awesome and a welcome variation on the ubiquitous white wine version. I intend to try this out myself now we are back home but I doubt it will taste as good. Halibut, just in season, was my main course choice and it was wonderful. The service was excellent. Breakfast the following morning was cheerfully served by Gemma whose bright smile and attentive service set the day off to a great start as we left to continue our trip.
By the way, we see the resort specialises in weddings and must say it is a beautiful location for this kind of event. So, if this is on your mind, do not hesitate - this is a great place to start your life together

Room Tip: Tent No. 60 is right on the water's edge and not overlooked.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dikran Z, General Manager at Rockwater Secret Cove Resort, responded to this review, May 4, 2012
Dear Derek W,

It is such a pleasure to receive a wonderful review from a Senior Contibuter on Trip Advisor.

We were very happy to hear that you had a wonderful time here at the Rockwater Resort.

I will be sure to personally pass on your kind comments to Gemma.

We look forward to be at your service again in the future.

Sincerely,

Dikran Zabunyan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rockwater Secret Cove Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rockwater Secret Cove Resort

Address: 5356 Ole's Cove Road | Halfmoon Bay, Halfmoon Bay, British Columbia V0N 1Y2, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Sunshine Coast > Halfmoon Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Halfmoon Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rockwater Secret Cove Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rockwater Secret Cove Resort is the Sunshine Coast's Premier 4 star year round resort, featuring 38 ocean front rooms, suites, tenthouse suites and cabins. The resort features a restaurant, lounge, and seasonal outdoor swimming pool. Ideal resort for getaway, corporate retreats and weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Rockwater Secret Cove Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rockwater Secret Cove Hotel Halfmoon Bay
Hotel Rockwater Secret Cove
Rockwater Secret Cove Resort Canada/Halfmoon Bay, Sunshine Coast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rockwater Secret Cove Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.