We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome location on the beach front!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gili Air Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Gili Air Hotel to your Saves list
Gili Air Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   West Nusa Tenggara, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Gili Air
Henderson, Nevada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awesome location on the beach front!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We spent a fabulous 5 nights at the Gili Air Hotel and loved the location and all the staff, from the GM to every member who showed genuine interest in making our stay wonderful.
Awesome location on the beach front, perfect for couples looking for a relaxing escape.
The room itself was spotless, with a balcony overlooking the pool and beach.
Yes, there were a few hiccups but they were solved with a smile.
Gili Air is Indonesia and not everything works perfectly but that is part of the charm and one of the reasons we went there.
Would definately come back and recommend to friends.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    51
    32
    19
    24
See reviews for
19
61
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cairns, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

This is by far the worst "hotel" I have ever stayed at. I'm a seasoned traveler and have lived in Thailand for over 2 years, so I know what a '[--]' looks like. The staff here are rude, the accommodation is terrible and ridiculously over priced. The pool is seriously dirty, with at least 1cm of dead insects on the surface and no doubt swimming with infections! Breakfast is horrible, no selection, warm milk, soft cornflakes, my girlfriend ordered scrambled eggs, after 25mins we asked where they were?, we ordered again, another 15mins past, we got fried eggs that had been cooked into oblivion!!!....but at least breakfast is included!!!!! HA!
The toilet was built on top of an ants nest, and the hairs in the bed didn't belong to my girlfriend or myself!

There are so many other places to stay just down the beach which are infinitely better. Gili Air is beautiful and very relaxed, however this hotel ruined our stay, we left after 1 night....

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alambaru, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Gili Air Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
"I'm a seasoned traveler and have lived in Thailand for over 2 years, so I know what a '[--]' looks like" you say.
But this is your first comment of a hotel here. Why this? Because all of us know that's everything what you wrote is not true.
In Tripadvisor everyone can see recent photos of our swimming pool and our hotel. The photos are of real travelers, not the fake people. The photos show that what you say is not true.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

I've arrived to the island without a booked room.

We saw a lot of rooms, but we wanted to stay in the north part of the island, so there isn't so much offer...

Between the rooms that we saw, the Gili Air Hotel was the best for the price that we could afford.

The rooms are old and all the resort is a bit badly maintained. They have free-internet, but is very slow. The BBQ in the restaurant was good, but a little overpriced.

The location is great, very calm with beautiful sunsets. Overall it was a nice stay!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alambaru, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Gili Air Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you for your comments and we are happy you enjoyed our the Hotel Gili Air & Restaurant, it's location on the #1 beach in Gili Air island.
We apologize that aspects of your stay did not meet your expectations.
We will share your feedback with our team and hope we have another opportunity to welcome you back in the future.
Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Oh dear....this place could be great but isn't. Wish we had stayed somewhere else. The air conditioning unit did not work and poured water all over my rucksack and the clothes inside, admittly some where dirty but the majority had just come from the laundry. When we advised them that we needed a new room with an a/c unit that worked and perhaps it would be decent if they washed my clothes. Well the outcome was they handed my clothes back dirty, so we asked again. So instead of being honest they just folded my clothes as if they had been laundered and returned then....rather snide. The breakfast is poor and covered in flies and the rooms are dirty and so overall it was crap...also the funny thing was when they showed us to our room, the guy tried to put together a free standing hammock and when he realized it was broken just threw it back on the ground and left it.....great first impressions...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alambaru, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Gili Air Hotel, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
After writing your false comment anonymously on booking.com, now you "copy and paste" the same also tripadvasor after more than five months.
We hope to never see false people like you on Gili Air and in our Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

The rooms are good, clean by Indonesian standards.The swimming pool is nice and the view is great as well. But the service is really poor; The water isnt working for the whole day and you don`t get any update from the staff, we asked them twice and every time they say it will work in 1 hour.We handed in the laundry 26 hours ago and yesterday they told us it will be done in 24 hours when we went to collect it they were laughing in our face and said its still drying and maybe its done tomorrow but tomorrow we leave so hopefully its done.On the door of the room is a poster advising the guest they should use the hotel restaurant instead of the others on the beach because the hotel staff is "professional".

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alambaru, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Gili Air Hotel, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
The Hotel Gili Air Service Laundry delivery the laundry within 24 hours. This is the operating standard.
During the rainy season it hard to get the laundry dry with all the rain, so can happen that need more hours. In fact, if the sun is absent during the rains, it certainly is not the Hotel Staff responsibility.
For your next holiday is preferably you should avoid the rainy season, since you've proven to be a little patient person.
The water has never been lacking in the hotel more than 1 hour. The Direction talked to other hotel guests, nobody complained about the written by you in your feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012 via mobile

We didn't have a room booked when we came to the island. We are budget travellers who use the lonely plant book as our bible. We headed to some place in our guide book but they were fully booked. We wanted to stay on the north of the island which is best for snorkeling and sunsets and less busier. Our horse and cart driver suggested we try hotel Gili air, we thought it would be over our budget as this place was mainly for package tourists. So we got there we were shown a cute bungalow no. 20 and we made a deal for 6 nights. We were very happy with the price and felt we got a very good deal at about $25 a night. It was low season when we arrived so we thought that's why we got such a good price. We had a welcome drink and off we went to the pool. The pool is salt water which was fine but it did get a little dirty and it wasn't cleaned throughout the day same goes for the surrounding pool area. The breakfast was also included in the price and we enjoyed omelettes, pancakes fresh fruit and unlimited tea. I got slightly Unwell during my stay (cough and cold) which meant I couldn't go snorkeling and just stayed around the pool. The staff were very nice they showed me where to get medicine from and helped us to phone air Asia when they decided to cancel our flight to Thailand. We didnt eat at the restaurant simply because we couldn't afford to but there was lot of places to eat along the beach front. The bbqs are the best, we went to the chill out bar a few times and had giant tuna kebabs and 241 cocktails. Overall we had an amazing time at the hotel, I would highly recommend staying here but for the right price I don't think it's worth the $100 a night some people pay.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alambaru, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Gili Air Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you for your enthusiastic endorsement and support for Hotel Gili Air & Restaurant!
We're glad that you enjoyed our location, and the #1 beach in Gili Air.
We appreciate everything your recognition of our exceptional staff.
We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

I went into this vacation not knowing what to expect from an  hotel in Gili Air, and the Hotel Gili Air & Restaurant exceeded every expectation I had.  The food was very good. I especially liked the  breakfast. The Italian restaurant was our favorite at night, but they were all awesome. The Manager he was very nice and generous. He made sure we had a great time and had every thing we needed. The only thing that I wasn't crazy about was the restroom at the restaurant. But compared to the rest of the trip, it was one little thing compared to a fabulous overall experience! We booked through internet, which I was also very impressed with- including the flight reservations, the airport to hotel transfers, and the price! I am a fairly picky person when it comes to traveling and we had a fabulous time- we came home recommending it to everyone!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gili Air Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gili Air Hotel

Address: West Nusa Tenggara, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Gili Islands > Gili Air
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Gili Air
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Gili Air Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Gili Air is located on a small island offshore from the main island, an ideal location to "get away from it all".Spending time on this little island it is pretty easy to forget that you are a mere 20 minutes away from the nearby airport. You can take advantage of amenities such as the breakfast buffet, laundry service, the Internet and diving/scuba groups.The best way to get the true Gili Island experience is via the private beach houses. This rather unique arrangment features the beach houses spread across the surrounding park and garden area to provide you with the all the charm of inhabiting a small coastal fishing village.After adventuring about the island during the day be sure to kick back at the nightly barbecue, or grab a slice of pizza and a pint at the poolside restaurant and bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Gili Air Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gili Air Hotel Gili Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gili Air Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.