We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice rooms with average service and noisy location.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of 7SEAS Cottages

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added 7SEAS Cottages to your Saves list
7SEAS Cottages
Jalan Pantai-Labuhan | Desa Gili Indah, West Nusa Tenggara, Indonesia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Get 15% off room rate !
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Gili Air
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice rooms with average service and noisy location.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

We liked the room very much - particularly the airy bathroom and large bed. The breakfast was also, fairly substantial and served in the beach front restaurant. However the service isn't brilliant.When we walked into the first room we were given, we discovered that there was already ocuppird. It turned out to be an (unapologetic) member of staff - not a problem as we were offered another room, but added to the general sense of disorganisation. The biggest draw back was the noisy location. We specifically asked about how noisy the rooms were, and were told it wasn't a problem. It was fine in the Thursday night, but on Friday we were kept awake until 5.30 in the morning by the music at a nearby bar. Overall, not a bad choice, but book ahead and you can probably find as nice a room with better service in a quieter location. Xx

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chloe G, Marketing Manager at 7SEAS Cottages, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Thank you for valuable comments. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed our Cottages and especially the open-air bathroom.

We are continuously putting a lot of efforts to meet our guests expectations and have worked very hard on the quality of the service. We hope that you will come back to our resort in the future and we will make sure you have a fantastic experience.

Our cottages are located in front of the beach along the main path of Gili Air and are usually quiet as you were told. Very rarely, there is a small bar & restaurant next to our resort who puts some music and we are really sorry it happened during your stay.

Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    29
    30
    12
    7
See reviews for
14
40
19
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Buderim, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

If you are happy with salt water showers for your stay and a basic service, then you might be happy staying here. The delux rooms are situated on the main track, so don't expect a sleep in. Building works happen until late at night and you won't get fresh towels. There were no glasses in the room, hand towel or face washer. Just the basics. The room was clean and what staff there were, their English was basic. The Garden Cafe where you eat breakfast, needs some serious work as they are under staffed and just not equipped to cope with more than 10 people. There was no care for picking up the rubbish around the resort and the pool area was very basic and salt water. I would look at other resorts for value for money. The location is good with lots of delicious eating areas around. Scallywags was the best by far. Not cheap but brilliant service and food.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chloe G, Marketing Manager at 7SEAS Cottages, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about 7Seas Cottages,

As guest satisfaction in our number one priority, we are deeply disappointed that our resort didn’t match your expectations. Here are some points I would like to explain:

- As everywhere on the island, the water is naturally filtered and collected from phreatic tables. It is totally clean water, however, as we are surrounded by the ocean, a bit of salt still remains and we cannot do much about it…

- Our cottages are indeed located on the main path of Gili Air along the beach, each of them having a private terrace & garden to guarantee our guests intimacy. There is no car or motorbike on the island so it is pretty quiet. The island life is not so far so you might indeed hear the local horse carts passing by, or some pedestrians, but most of the restaurants and bars of the island are not located next to our resort although easily accessible in 5 min by foot.

- We do provide fresh towels in the cottages which can be changed any time upon request. Towel put on the floor will automatically be replaced whereas those put on the hanger won’t.

- The breakfast is served by the beach at our Garden Cafe indeed. We have worked very hard to improve the service by training our staff and implementing efficient procedure increase our restaurant capacity.

- The English of the staff is not perfect, we are aware. But it is more than fair enough to provide a good service, answer our guests inquiries and assist them during their stay. You might want to keep in mind that our hotel is on a small tropical island where the english language is not the mother tongue. They are continuously taking part in english language trainings to improve their language abilities.

- Our maintenance team is now working very hard to make sure that the resort is at his best !

- Our large pool area is in front of the ocean in the shade of palm trees.. It is usually really appreciated by our guests.


We would be delighted to welcome you again to our resort hoping all our efforts will make you experience perfect holidays.

All the best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in an AC cottage. Our cottage had its own compound and which was fully fenced and had its own entry gate. The cottage compound was clear dirt although it did have a garden setting (table & chairs, and a beach umbrella).

The cottage was made up of a front verandah and 2 large rooms. On the front verandah was a large day bed. On entering the cottage you were in the bedroom which was large. It contained a large comfortable bed, a wardrobe, mini bar fridge, bedside table, and a chair. This room had shelving all along one wall so there was an abundance of places to put things! The room was clean, the bed comfortable, the reading lights worked, the Ac very effective!

The other room was a very large bathroom. It contained a salt water shower, (hot water) 2 hand basins and a western toilet. This room also had ample shelving.

We found the room very quiet at night but we were right on the footpath leading to the 7 Seas backpacker accommodation so you would hear guests talking as they went past.
Overall we were very pleased with the cottages. We spent all our time exploring the island, laying in the gazebo or swimming. Recommended!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chloe G, Marketing Manager at 7SEAS Cottages, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear John,

We are pleased that 7Seas matched your expectations and leaves you with nice memories to bring back home.

We hope to see you again very soon,

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We stayed at 7seas for 3 nights and enjoyed the space of our bungalow. We were right across from the beach where we sat in a gazebo most days. The staff were friendly and helpful. The rooms have lots of shelving and space and the bathroom is huge. The cost was reasonable and I liked being able to close the gate when I went to my room each night.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chloe G, Guest Relations Manager at 7SEAS Cottages, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Hi Jillian,

Thank you for your post and for sharing your experience about 7SEAS Cottages.
We are delighted that your stay was good in our cottages.
We would be happy to welcome you again during your next trip to Gili Air.

See you soon,

Chloe - Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

My friend and I stayed 4 days on Gili Air at 7SEAS in a standard cottage, the accommodations were very clean with a nice atmosphere, I especially loved the open roof bathroom where we could see banana trees.

On the morning we just had to cross the path to enjoy an amazing swim; I saw wonderful turtles in front of me while I was snorkeling and that just a few meters away from the beach. We often had the beach for ourselves, like a private beach so peaceful and quiet. It is so restful not to have cars or motorized vehicles but only the sound of the waves. But we were happy to enjoy a free wifi access everywhere on the resort to send our friend photos and make them jealous...

The Garden cafe served a delicious and various foods that we could enjoy on the beach sit in the traditional Bale and just chilling out. The staff was very friendly and always smiling at us.
We also went to dive with the professional and friendly diving team of the diving center 7 seas and the extra surprise for students like us were the special rate on the accommodation when you are client of the hotel and you go diving their!! The resort and all its services are a very good value for money.

I highly recommend it to all of you!!!

Room Tip: Cottages are spacious and their own terraces
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chloe G, Marketing Manager at 7SEAS Cottages, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Hello,

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Thank you for all of your lovely comments and we hope to see you very soon again on Gili Air.

All the best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Good value for money, very good welcoming and cottages clean and very pleasant. It is located in an idyllic spot. We are delighted by our stay at 7 seas and we strongly recommend it. We also tried dive at 7 seas and it was an amazing experience. Thanks to all 7 seas, you are so great. See you soon !

Room Tip: We stay in the family cottage, perfect for group of friends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chloe G, Marketing Manager at 7SEAS Cottages, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear Madeline,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on 7Seas Cottages. We are thrilled to see you enjoyed your stay with us.

Satisfying our customers is our first priority.

We hope to see you again very soon and thank you again.

Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

I spent three lovely days in a bungalow at 7Seas cottages. The room was spacious, very clean and just across from the beach. There is free wi-fi internet working from the room.
The café/restaurant for breakfast is just in front of the room with direct access to the beach. The food was very good and the staff friendly and kind.
The island is simply fantastic, no cars, no noise, wonderful beaches and incredible marine life.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chloe G, Guest Relations Manager at 7SEAS Cottages, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Hi Rebecca,

Hello,

Thank you for sharing your experience about 7SEAS Cottages on TripAdvisor.
We are happy to know you've enjoyed your stay with us.

I agree with you: We are not a typical beach resort, we are more small and intimate and the island is simply fantastic, no cars, no noise, wonderful beaches and incredible marine life.

I would really like to thank you for taking the time to write a comment on 7SEAS Cottages.

We would be delighted that you could come back one day to our hotel.

Best regards,

Chloé - 7SEAS - Gili Air
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 7SEAS Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 7SEAS Cottages

Address: Jalan Pantai-Labuhan | Desa Gili Indah, West Nusa Tenggara, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Gili Islands > Gili Air
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Gili Air
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
7SEAS Cottages is a charming resort located right by the white beach of Gili Air, Indonesia. It offers cosy bungalows with seaview private terrace and nice packbacker rooms at 10m from the sea. You can also relax by the swimming pool or at the Garden Cafe which has a full menu available from breakfast to diner. It is the perfect spot to watch the beautiful sunsets of Gili Air. 7SEAS Cottages also has a Dive Center facility. You are very welcome to come and dive with us to discover the underwater world of the Gili Islands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your 7SEAS Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
7SEAS Cottages Gili Air, Gili Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 7SEAS Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.