We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DINE ON THE BEACH” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chill Out Bar & Bungalows

Chill Out Bar & Bungalows
Main Strip, West Nusa Tenggara, Indonesia
+62 370 620370
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 39 Restaurants in Gili Air
Price range: $1 - $14
Cuisines: Barbecue, Indonesian, International, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“DINE ON THE BEACH”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

A popular spot with a relaxed Island vibe, Chill Out bar displays a selection of freshly caught seafood every night. We were on Gili Air for a week in September and had the pleasure of dining here 3 times. Each time we chose a table in the sand but there were also Barugas for laid-back dining or a choice of tables or lounges inside under the trees. The pricing is reasonable and the quality of the food here is evident by its popularity. Chill Out was full most nights. My husband enjoyed his chosen barracuda, barbequed to perfection and couldn't get enough of Chill out's bean salad. My favourite choice was the Beef Sate, a generous serving of 7 sates accompanied by a delicious peanut sauce, salad & rice. The table numbering system often left staff wandering around with food or drinks in search of the rightful recipients, but that would be my only criticism.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinny T, at Chill Out Bar & Bungalows, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Hi Loveindo
Thanks for your lovely comments and we are happy your husband enjoyed his fish from the BBQ
I am sure we will see you on Gili Air sooner rather than later for some more Sate.
i apologise for the numbering system but it is the only way to keep track of people as everybody moves constantly around the bar and beach looking for a better spot.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    251
    133
    39
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Favourite restaurant in Gili Air”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

This was our favourite restaurant in Gili Air. The food was great and very reasonably priced. The mixed kebabs were delicious, as was the BBQ fish. Fab cocktails too!
Very friendly staff.
Fantastic location, right on the beach - loved being able to have dinner right by the sea.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinny T, at Chill Out Bar & Bungalows, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
RDOL1 thank you for your review and that you liked our place the best here on Gili Air
and your comments are great especially regarding our staff , it's always nice to hear this
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“So good the kids asked to eat here every night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We came in straight off a fishing boat, wet, sandy and hungry and Chill Out Bar and Restaurant was great. Super efficient staff, great drinks and fantastic food!! We had the Fish Curry (which I would highly recommend), the chicken burger and the tempura fish. Relax on the big covered couches or sit at the bamboo tables. Very kid friendly.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinny T, at Chill Out Bar & Bungalows, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
NZBeachGirl sounds like you had a great time here , which is always nice to hear. The curry is made by susies mum and is so good , thank you very much
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Nice Place to hang around and have a drink”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

This is quite a nice beach location with good and fresh juices and easy beach/ swim access. The food is quite average though.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinny T, at Chill Out Bar & Bungalows, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Best-Berliner we are glad you found the location to your liking and sorry you did not find the food the same way at least you liked the juices
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice to spend the day on the beach”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We spend an entire day at the chill out and while we enjoyed the time and the drinks, we found the food quite disappointing. Still a very good day to chill out (harhar)

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinny T, at Chill Out Bar & Bungalows, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Daniel S we are glad you found the location to your liking and sorry you found the food disappointing at least you liked the drinks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chill Out Bar & Bungalows also viewed

Gili Air, Gili Islands
 
Gili Air, Gili Islands
Gili Air, Gili Islands
 

Been to Chill Out Bar & Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chill Out Bar & Bungalows, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.