We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favourite restaurant in Gili Air” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chill Out Bar & Bungalows

Chill Out Bar & Bungalows
Main Strip, West Nusa Tenggara, Indonesia
+62 370 620370
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 36 Restaurants in Gili Air
Price range: $1 - $14
Cuisines: Barbecue, Indonesian, International, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Favourite restaurant in Gili Air”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

This was our favourite restaurant in Gili Air. The food was great and very reasonably priced. The mixed kebabs were delicious, as was the BBQ fish. Fab cocktails too!
Very friendly staff.
Fantastic location, right on the beach - loved being able to have dinner right by the sea.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinny T, at Chill Out Bar & Bungalows, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
RDOL1 thank you for your review and that you liked our place the best here on Gili Air
and your comments are great especially regarding our staff , it's always nice to hear this
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    214
    109
    32
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“So good the kids asked to eat here every night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We came in straight off a fishing boat, wet, sandy and hungry and Chill Out Bar and Restaurant was great. Super efficient staff, great drinks and fantastic food!! We had the Fish Curry (which I would highly recommend), the chicken burger and the tempura fish. Relax on the big covered couches or sit at the bamboo tables. Very kid friendly.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinny T, at Chill Out Bar & Bungalows, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
NZBeachGirl sounds like you had a great time here , which is always nice to hear. The curry is made by susies mum and is so good , thank you very much
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice Place to hang around and have a drink”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

This is quite a nice beach location with good and fresh juices and easy beach/ swim access. The food is quite average though.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinny T, at Chill Out Bar & Bungalows, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Best-Berliner we are glad you found the location to your liking and sorry you did not find the food the same way at least you liked the juices
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice to spend the day on the beach”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We spend an entire day at the chill out and while we enjoyed the time and the drinks, we found the food quite disappointing. Still a very good day to chill out (harhar)

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinny T, at Chill Out Bar & Bungalows, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Daniel S we are glad you found the location to your liking and sorry you found the food disappointing at least you liked the drinks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Fantastic View and Atmosphere. Great Food, Good Value!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We had a few meals here and it was always packed with people....because the food and drinks are fantastic! The staff are very attentive and somehow always find a table for you even on the busiest of nights. Try this place when you are in Gili Air!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinny T, at Chill Out Bar & Bungalows, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
vs2008vs thank you for your kind words and we are glad you enjoyed our little place and our staff could find you a table , hi season can be rather busy and it is a good idea to come a bit early or a bit later after the main sitting
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chill Out Bar & Bungalows also viewed

 

Been to Chill Out Bar & Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chill Out Bar & Bungalows, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.