We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some good and some bad” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Biba Beach

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gili Air
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Biba Beach
Save
You added Biba Beach to your Saves list
Gili Air Lombok, West Nusa Tenggara, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 22 Gili Air B&B and Inns
Golden, coloras
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Some good and some bad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

We mostly really enjoyed our time at biba beach. The owners and managers were lovely and we really liked the room with a great location.
The service was excellent and we liked the restaurant for the most part.

A couple of downsides for us;
The nearby bars having Xmas eve dance/trance parties. These were extremely loud one night and went until 6am. We got no sleep at all that night. This was not the owners fault at all but is something to warn people of for the location. And possibly only a weird Xmas eve thing?
Either way it was one of our worst nights in a hotel ever.

Then I got food poisoning at lunch from the biba restaurant on our last day from tuna gnocchi. I was throwing up for hours.

So we enjoyed our stay but it wasn't perfect.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    29
    18
    10
    5
See reviews for
4
103
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

This place is awesome!!! Good price, nice, clean and the breakfast delicioussss. Gili Air was the best place of all the places we visited in our trip through Asia. Indonesian people are the best maybe that's why it's kind of shocking to meet the owner as he doesn't smile as much as them. He gets better after a day though hahaha.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bells Beach
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

The accommodation is basically pretty good and the food is also good. The local staff are very good, however the owner is not all that enthusiastic. Very officious and there certainly wasn't a smile to greet us. You get the impression that he really doesn't want to be there. He eventually did warm up and engage with us but only because of the efforts we made. We have found the Balinese people to be a warm, friendly and happy people full of life....maybe the owner could learn something from them. If you are coming in the off season there probably isn't any reason to book ahead. You can check all the hotels along the beach easily after you get off the boat, just walk or hire a horse and cart. This way you can get a feel for the hotels and see what you think of Biba too. I rated the cleanliness down because of cats using the sand around the eating areas as a toilet.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the beach are good but cost more of course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We stayed in superior room...it was huge with very interesting bathroom.....your own coral wall...air con great..Huge bed......but out of all the places we stayed the breakfast was by far the best....thank you...

Room Tip: Superior room was fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devizes, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Run by an Italian couple, Biba Beach is a lovely place to stay, the rooms are all individually designed and decorated (we stayed in a superior room), the breakfast is amazing served on the beach front restaurant. The dinner menu (book ahead - hotel guests only) is fantastic with the food being exquisite.
Biba Beach is close enough to bars, other restaurants, 10 minute walk from Scallywags. The owners can't do enough for you, arrange boats, horse drawn buggy, snorkelling equipment etc. The snorkelling just off Biba Beach is amazing, some of the best on Gili Air - we saw a turtle and amazing fish/coral just near the drop off which is only about 100m out from shore.
All in all, our 4 days there were fantastic!

Room Tip: Choose the sea view, superior rooms, slightly bigger with amazing bathrooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We had several meals at Biba Beach cafe as the food was very delicious!
Everything is homemade (bread, pasta, ravioli) : the pizza and the grilled tuna with tomatoes and olives were excellent.
The staff are very professional and very friendly.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

My fiancé and I stayed here for two nights out of our six on Gili Air. The rooms are good value, clean, well presented and well looked after. We couldn't get the hot water to work in our superior room though.

There is a guy called Mira, from Lombok, who works for the Italian owners and he is superb. Very welcoming, smiley and really helpful. Even after we had left Biba Beach he would still remember us and say hi. We came back to eat here twice. The Italian food is the best I have had in Indonesia. Really delicious flavours and a lovely beach front setting to enjoy. I would recommend any pizza and the salmon gnocchi.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Biba Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Biba Beach

Address: Gili Air Lombok, West Nusa Tenggara, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Gili Islands > Gili Air
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Gili Air
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Local Stile, Italian Management. Cats Friendly Place. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Biba Beach Hotel Gili Air
Biba Beach Gili Air, Gili Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Biba Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.