We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, great setting, great island” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Karang Hotel

Save Saved
You added Villa Karang Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Villa Karang Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Gili Air Pemenang Mataram, West Nusa Tenggara, Indonesia (Formerly Gili Indah Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 7 hotels in Gili Air
Gili Air, Indonesia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Friendly, great setting, great island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

This is a really great resort, we checked in late and they staff (with great English), helped us get settled. The rooms were clean and the pool is really lovely.

The resort is right on the beach and the island is charming and relaxing. The main bars are a 10 minute walk away, this is just far enough to enjoy them without their noise keeping you awake.

Their dive shop was opening really soon and if it's the same standard as the hotel I'm sure it'll be great.

This is a well priced relaxing hotel, that's perfect for divers and anyone just wanting a relaxed time.

Room Tip: All the rooms seemed great, but I would choose one at the back as they were the most secluded.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    26
    16
    4
    3
See reviews for
8
34
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ninderry
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011

Wow what a stay. We stayed for 7 nights and couldn't have asked for any better. 2 adults and 3 children we got an ajoining room. Right next to the beautiful pool which the children lived in. We had a bit of unfortunate luck with 2 of the childrens health which i must admitt we were so furtunate to have the best of the best of caring staff which contacted doctors in Lombok to help us which was so needed in the times of children fainting and very sick. All staff went beyond our expections of helping us. Arji seemed to take control of our situation without any hesitation. Even though renovations were taking place at this particular time of stay we felt completely comfortable in our resort. The food from the restauant was quick and enjoyable and room service was no hassle from the staff to accommodate our needs. The attention we received from higher management was fantastic and meeting all our needs. The positioning of the resort was absolutley fabulous, out of the hussle and bussle of the horse and carts which really was no disturbance to us at all. Every staff member was so polite to us all. Yes the showers are of cold water in the cheaper rooms but my goodness who really wants a hot shower when the temperature is 32 degress outside. We will be back for sure. shoshoni and chris and family

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

about the hotel:
nice, friendly staff, airco, flatscreen, hot water in the shower, nice swimmingpool with filtered seawater, spacious room, nice bathroom, view on the sea, quiet, simple breackfast.

restaurant:
we ordered and 10 minutes later we heard it was closed that afternoon.
We tried again in the evening: too dark to read the card, tasteless, expensive for what you get (little).
We tried 3t time: ran out of white wine, ginger, cola, fana.
Bad management

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarangDivers, Guest Relations Manager at Villa Karang Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2011
Hi there,

I am really sorry that you did not enjoy your experience of our restaurant; we have had problems with management of the restaurant and these have now been rectified.

We have a new restaurant manager and a simple, classic menu. We hope that you can come back to Gili Air soon and are sure that you can offer you a discount on our must improved food.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aix-en-Provence, France
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2011

I checked into this hotel at a reasonable price ($40) after they showed me the room. When it was time for my evening shower, there was no hot water. I went to the desk, and they said that hot water was not included for $40/night, that I'd have to change rooms to a $75/night room to have a warm shower.

As you can imagine, I was out of there in two minutes flat! What an arnaque these guys are putting over on tourists.

To be avoided at all costs.

Room Tip: Avoid the hotel
See more room tips
Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarangDivers, Public Relations Manager at Villa Karang Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2011
Hi there, really sorry that what is included in our room price was not properly explained to you.

Our standard rooms do not have hot water, though we have found that most people do not mind as Gili Air is a very warm island and people do tend to appreciate the cool down.

All our rooms are well maintained and have access to, perhaps, the best pool on the island.

Again, we are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. If you find yourself on Gili Air again please come and have a chat wit us and I'm sure we can sort out a discount.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2010

Stayed here for seven nights but could have stayed a lot longer not just because of the hotel and its lovely staff but every thing about the island and its people, very friendly and relaxing place all the bars and restaurants are very welcoming and very reasonably priced£1.00 large beer £5.00 tops for a meal for 2.The best bar /retaurant for us on the island was Tamis Neverland family run nothing was too much trouble would strongly reccommend a vist also known as turtle bar as you can swim straight out from the bars own private beach to swim with the turtles if you do visit say hello to ata and family from steve and paula

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2010

Negative:
- There are big construction going on, very disturbing when resting around the pool. We weren't informed about the constructions, allthough we booked months before travelling. The constructions start around 9am till 5pm.
- We had a Deluxe Beach Front room. The rooms are standard and not deluxe. Beach front is also not really beach, well it's looking over the sea and beach, but it's not a beach you can go get your sun tan as boats are stored on the beach.
- Too expensive for what you get.
- There is no safe/locker in the room, take care you lock your money, as we got money stolen from our room, while we always locked the room by key. (I think staff is involved in this.)

Positive:
- A nice bed, good working aircon and good fridge in the room.
- Very nice and quiet island. For snorkeling you have to stay in Gili Trawangan, as nothing much to see her.

Tip:
- For great lunch and dinner, go to Tami's Neverland!! We went every evening when at Gili Air.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarangDivers, Guest Relations Manager at Villa Karang Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2011
Hi there,

Sorry that the hotel was not what you were expecting and I can only offer my deepest apologies that you were not informed about building work before you came to the hotel.

The building work is now finished and we have a wonderful new pool. If you find yourself back on the island please come back to the hotel and I'm sure we can sort you out a discount.

The hotel does not have safes in the rooms, we do have one at reception, however, I am shocked to hear that you had money stolen. Gili Air is a very safe island with strict local rules regarding crimes such as steeling. With these in place we have never had an issue, or heard of an issue with hotel staff stealing money. I am really sorry that this rare event fell on you.

Again, I am sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay. But please come back soon to see the excellent changes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2010 via mobile

Positive :
. Helpful staff
. in Gili Air, a wonderful island...

Negative :
. Very poor value for money (70 $)
. Gloomy room, absolutely nothing charming
. Rooms, blankets not clean
. Despite thé relatively small size of the island, hotel located in a bad area, far from cafés, restaurants, diving centers...
. To sum up : very far from website presentation

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Villa Karang Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Karang Hotel

Address: Gili Air Pemenang Mataram, West Nusa Tenggara, Indonesia (Formerly Gili Indah Hotel)
Location: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Gili Islands > Gili Air
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 hotels in Gili Air
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Karang Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Villa Karang Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Karang Hotel Gili Air, Gili Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Karang Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.