We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb in every way” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Manta Dive

Manta Dive
Gili Trawangan, West Nusa Tenggara, Indonesia
+62 (0)370 6143649
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: After years of experience we are proud to be one of the leading dive operators in our region. Dive the Gili Islands with experienced and professional multilingual instructors and guides in a fun, safe and relaxed environment. SSI and Padi Dive courses from beginner to instructor, introduction dives, daily dive trips, free diving. Facilities include, swimming pool, class rooms, equipment sale and rental, traditional accommodation finished to western standards, all at our beachfront location.
bangkok
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Superb in every way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

I took the 4 day open water diving course. It was intense and took up more time than I anticipated but was well worth it. The first 2 days were in the pool and in the classroom. Only on the 3rd day did we go out but got in 4 dives during the last 2 days. In the ocean, I think we saw everything except whales.

I can't say enough about the competence, courtesy, and sense of humor of the instructors. They were a joy to be around and always vigilant on matters of safety. Everyone in the group felt totally taken care of, very little anxiety as one would expect from novices going underwater for the first time. Aan and Olivia rule!!!!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    309
    51
    17
    9
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great dive shop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Richard was an amazing instructor and Ben the owner will chat to anyone and everyone... The vibe is the best on th island of all the dive shops, I tried aquaddiction which was ok but not as fun as the Manta lot.. A great place to kick back..

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cluj-Napoca, Romania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awesome diving”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

I chose Manta Dive based on recommendations from Trip Advisor and I was definitely not disappointed. I emailed them before I got there and got all the information I wanted regarding my advanced course. They were very flexible and managed to schedule all my dives properly so that I could complete the course and do a fun dive in the short time I was there.

I did the course with Harriet, who is absolutely great and managed to help me with my buoyancy and made me much more confident while diving. The dives were really nice, with turtles, stingrays, cuttlefish, octopuses, wide variety of reef fish and coral. During my fun dive after the course, I even saw 2 white tip reef sharks, so all in all diving there is cool. The only thing I regret not seeing is a manta, but hey, you cannot have it all and I was only there for 3 days.

In general all the staff are great and always willing to help, the price for the course is the same as at any other dive center on the Gilis, but if you book in advance they offer a free fun dive and you get a free T-shirt at the end of the course.

I'm already looking forward to more diving and I wish I had more time on Gili T, to enjoy more of the diving sites there.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New South Wales, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Friendly, laid back and excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

I did my dive course here, had a brilliant time, beautiful reefs, lovely dive instructers and a really nice and relaxing resort to chill out at during the day.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Well run, friendly, fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Stayed for a week diving every day, fantastic and helpful staff, did a SSI course here (nitrox). Professional and efficient, so much fun! Good diving too :)

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Manta Dive also viewed

Gili Trawangan, Gili Islands
 
Gili Trawangan, Gili Islands
Gili Trawangan, Gili Islands
 

Been to Manta Dive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manta Dive, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.