We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tir Na Nog Gili Trawangan Accommodation

Save Saved
You added Tir Na Nog Gili Trawangan Accommodation to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tir Na Nog Gili Trawangan Accommodation
3.5 of 5 Villa   |   West Nusa Tenggara, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
1 review
“Fantastic !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

Second time to the Gili Islands, and second time to Tir Na Nog. A lot has changed over the past couple of years, but this is still a great place to stay. They had a new pool and more pricey rooms available since we were here last, but we took the older rooms again, and weren't disappointed. Spacious, clean, quiet. They have a new beach front bar area since our last visit as well, which is great, especially if it rains. Good bar for night time as well.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    50
    63
    34
    9
    6
See reviews for
9
70
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Lake Tahoe, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Despite my overall disappointment in this place, Tir Na Nog definitely still has some perks to it. The location is pretty good- IF YOU'RE LOOKING TO BE IN THE MIDDLE OF BAR/PARTY SCENE. it's nice to have tons of cafes, restaurants, etc all within a short walking distance (especially because you'll probably want to venture out for breakfast, given that there's is barely edible).

The rooms are also fine- clean, big, huge cabinet that with a lock for larger valuables, and nice patio. but, like other people have mentioned, we didn't have hot water the whole time we were there. and even if we told someone, nothing was done about it.

Speaking of the staff- i have to say i was really disappointed in this department. Our customer service was basically non-existent. i get that we have to deal with the whole islander vibe thing goin' on, but when you pay for a mid-range place, i guess you just expect a little more.

i was really sick with bad food poisoning/flu for the first 24 hours that i was there. my friend went downstairs to ask if she could get my breakfast in a take-away box (this was our first morning, before we knew how nasty it was), explaining how i was sick, and couldn't get out of bed. They told her not to worry, they would bring it up to the room for her, along with plenty of water.

we waited over an hour, and no one came. so, she goes back downstairs to check on the status of it, and they laugh, saying they forgot about it. she reminds them again that i'm really sick, and i need food so i can take the medicine i was given.

thirty more minutes, and still nothing. the third time she goes down, explains it AGAIN, they laugh it off saying i probably had too much to drink- when, in fact, i hadn't had ANYTHING to drink because i was too sick. finally, two hours after the initial order, my food arrived.

The staff also has this "eco" policy for cleaning. they only clean your room if you leave them your key. i understand saving water and all, not washing your towels and sheets every day- all of that makes sense. but sweeping the floor and taking out the trash should be okay. especially when i'd been sick in the trashcan multiple times, you'd think they'd at least take it out after you explain the circumstances. or even just tell us where we can take it out so we can do it ourselves! no such luck.

There was construction the whole time we were there. as in 12+ hours a day, non-stop pounding. sometimes even on our own roof. There's also REALLY loud music playing EVERY night of the week. one time i heard "Call Me Maybe" THREE times in ONE hour before i fell asleep.

The beach/area around the hotel wasn't that great either. i was there with one other girlfriend, and we were uncomfortable walking around alone there because of all the sexual harassment from the locals. it's was pretty vulgar, and not exactly the nicest way to relax on the beach. i didn't want to wear my bathing suit at all, to be honest. we ended up walking far up to another end of the island where there wasn't anyone, just so we could be comfortable swimming and laying out.

Overall, i think my disappointment lies not only with Tir Na Nog, but also with Gili T as a whole. There are some areas that are really nice, untouched, and beautiful. but the area around this hotel was downright grimy. it was like staying in Haad Rin for the Full Moon Party, just to put it into a little more prospective. it was kinda just sad to see such a gorgeous island get so destroyed by a bunch of drunks and perverts. don't get me wrong, i drink, i enjoy a good party in a tropical paradise, but i think it'd be nice to lay out on the beach without getting hassled and harassed even in the off hours of partying.

So, if you're looking for something right in the scene of the madness, this is perfect. it's definitely a big step up from other dives in the area, but not what i'd say is necessarily worth the money.

Room Tip: ask if there's construction beforehand, trust me, it's a deal breaker.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tirnanoggili, Owner at Tir Na Nog Gili Trawangan Accommodation, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry that you felt that the service was lacking by our staff. I'm quite suprised at this comment as the normal feedback that we get from our customers are that our staff are excellent. In line with this, i'm find it hard to believe that our staff would say that you were ill from the amount you'd had to drink, but if this was the case, I can only apologize, and would say to all our customers that if you have had a bad experience from any of our staff, please let us know straight away. The owners are around everyday during the day and most evenings, and we are more than happy to discuss any problems with our customers directly. With regards your comments on the music, this is something we are very conscious of, and most people who stay here say that they are pleasantly surprised that they can not here the music from the bar in our rooms. We monitor the sound volumes for the bungalows constantly to make sure there is minimal sound coming from the bar.

Yes you are right that we run an "Eco" policy which means that towels and sheets will not be changed every day. However the rooms will be cleaned every day if the key is left at reception or the staff are asked. We do not like to wake the customers by knocking on their doors early in the morning.

Unfortunately, we have to do repairs throughout the year and we try and minimize the disruption this causes to our guests as much as possible. However, we are constrained by when in the year we can do these repairs due to weather conditions. Most of the repairs have now been done and everything should be finished very soon, hopefully within 2 weeks.

Your comment about the hot water is very valid and you rightly point out that it has been mentioned before. Our hot water system is Solar powered, and unfortunately if it has been cloudy/raining for a few days, it will run out. We have already installed backup hot water heaters to try and solve the problem. We would like to buy some more but are unable to because we need more electricity which we can not get at the moment. Hopefully this can be resolved very soon.

I am confused by your comments about the beach area, as there is no beach area as such near the hotel. The main beach for sunbathing/snorkelling etc. is a 5-10 minute walk away.

We are also unable to control what other parts of the island look like, so your comments of 'the area around this hotel was downright grimy.' as much we would like to have a perfectly clean, spotless island this is never going to happen. I also disagree with comment as the main big businesses within this area keep the road and their businesses very clean.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Disappointed in this place, staff were super friendly and accommodating as is everyone on GiliT but the standard room was just that, very standard, did not have hot water once while i was there. Construction happening out the front the week i was there and the the breakfast was abysmal. Don't offer it if that is all that is served up..

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tirnanoggili, Owner at Tir Na Nog Gili Trawangan Accommodation, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay with us. We did have renovations going on to the beach bar during your stay, and we apologize if this hindered your experience. We did all we could to provide a nice alternative breakfast area and still had 2 other bars open all day and night.
We were not aware of the problem with your hot water, and issues like these are only able to be fixed if we are informed of the problem at the time. We will always do our utmost to solve any problems with the rooms immediately.
We offer 4 options for breakfast including toasted muesli with fresh fruit, yoghurt and honey, bacon and eggs, an omelette or croissants with jam. All served with either orange juice, tea or coffee. We consider this a good range of choices for a free breakfast, and are sorry you don't feel the same. We will review our breakfast options in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

i stayed in this hotel for 3 days and 2 nights on november 23 until november 25 2012. The hotel had a clean room. The bathroom was clean also. The hotel staff was friendly. It only took aproximately 10 minutes from the main entrance of gili trawangan island to the hotel. The only thing that i didn't like was the breakfast. I think the taste of the breakfast was not good for indonesian people. They also served bacon, so for moslem becareful to eat here.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tirnanoggili, Owner at Tir Na Nog Gili Trawangan Accommodation, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Thank you for you feedback on your stay with us. We completely understand your comment regarding the breakfast, and are already looking into providing a wider range of options to accommodate the increasing number of domestic tourists visiting our hotel. Thank you again or highlighting a very valid point.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Arrived at Tir Na Nog after a very disappointing couple of nights at Blue Marlin Cottages and what a relief!
Tucked away behind a fairly bland looking bar area are great rooms at fantastic value. My son (21) and I stayed in the Deluxe Rooms which were down one side of the reception area. Each has double timber doors opening onto a private garden. Through this is a spacious room with reasonable bedding and facilities. There is no bar fridge but this seems pretty standard on the island due to the low electricity supply. The surprise was the covered/open bathroom. Beautiful fresh water shower in the sunlight in a private garden setting.
The pool is small and water gets a little too warm but clean with enough chairs for this small facility and it is only metres to the beach and the crystal clear waters.
Hotel breakfast is your standard bacon, eggs, fruit and cereal ordered in the bar/restaurant area at the front of the hotel. The bar is also the place to be on Wednesday nights if you are into the nightlife. If not, the sound didn't carry to the deluxe rooms although it may have to the standard rooms as these were a little closer.
Overall it was fantastic value and comfortable.
One warning if you are booking anywhere in the Gili islands, fresh water is a luxury and alot of hotels including a couple of the much bigger and more expensive ones have salt water showers. If you dont like sticky hair and dry skin check before your book!

Room Tip: Spend the extra for a deluxe room and you wont be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerville
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights, and we were very disappointed with the quality of the hotel, it was not worth what we paid for it. The shower had no hot water, and if you turned the hot water on, you lost the water pressure - it was just trickling water. Wifi barely connected and if it did it would drop out. I went to reception twice about all of the above problems. firstly in regards to the wifi and they just told me they didn't know what was wrong with it, and that they would send the manager to my room when he arrived back on the island from Lombok, but he never came. Secondly, they said they would sort out the shower problems and they never did. Lastly, I went to the reception twice to ask for towels, first being told they had none, then being told to wait a couple more hours because they haven't been delivered yet. Overall I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone, it is too overpriced for the standards you get. We payed $70/night.
The only positive about this hotel was the worker Risel who is a very friendly man. He called us by our names and would always have a chat with us, and made us feel very welcome.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Stayed a few nights in this hotel, and was pleasantly surprised that you didn't hear the noise from the parties in the bar area. Breakfast was one with a view, which is great! Nice outside bathrooms, private garden. Poor wifi reception.

Everyday there were problems with the towels, most days we did not receive any towels until 6-7 pm, one day no towels at all. Girl at the reception was absolutely not helpful at all, which was very annoying. She rented me a broken bike one , and at first couldn't be bothered to solve the problem. I was expecting more service for the price we paid for this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tir Na Nog Gili Trawangan Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tir Na Nog Gili Trawangan Accommodation

Address: West Nusa Tenggara, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Gili Islands > Gili Trawangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 94 Specialty lodging in Gili Trawangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tir Na Nog Gili Trawangan Accommodation 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tir Na Nog Hotel is a western owned beachfront business located on the paradise island of Gili Trawangan. We have 10 standard bungalows and 10 deluxe bungalows, all with hot, fresh water and AC. We also have a two bedroom villa located to the rear of the property. There are 4 bar areas (2 beachfront), and a large restaurant offering both local and international cuisine. Every stay includes free breakfast. Our friendly staff and great service will make your stay a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelBookers and Venere so you can book your Tir Na Nog Gili Trawangan Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tir Na Nog Hotel Gili Trawangan
Tir Na Nog Gili Trawangan Accommodation Gili Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tir Na Nog Gili Trawangan Accommodation, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.