We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bliss for those who appreciate silence and calm” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kelapa Luxury Villas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Kelapa Luxury Villas to your Saves list
Kelapa Luxury Villas
3.5 of 5 Villa   |   NW corner of Gili Trawangan, West Nusa Tenggara 80041, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Bliss for those who appreciate silence and calm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

My husband and I stayed in a one bedroom villa for 10 days while doing a dive course and we loved it.

The villas are in the middle of the island between the fields and can be reached by dust roads. The main tourist strip with the majority of restaurants is a 20 minutes walk away (or a couple of minutes by bicycle or horse cart) Because there are very few streetlights on the island you can literally see every star and the milky way when walking back at night.
The resort provides torches and bicycles with locks, so getting back at night is not a problem, although a bit adventurous because of potholes in the road.

The staff is extremely friendly and helpful, and housekeeping does a good job.

I especially liked the layout of the villas: the villas are walled and provide all privacy that you could require, but unlike other villas we stayed in before most of the facilities were outdoors: the kitchen and dining area are outdoors, but also the sitting area with television. All areas are sheltered and cooling is provided by big ceiling fans. Our bathroom was an outdoor bathroom as well.

The only time we ever spend indoors was when we were sleeping!

I would recommend this place to most people, unless you are very squeamish about small animals: since a large part of the facilities are outdoors you will have to share it with the occasional insect or mouse.

We will definitely go back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    46
    14
    7
    6
See reviews for
57
76
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Beautifull villa with great service from staff and good atmosphere. First we stayed near the busy street, and didnt sleep well because off the noice. Then we found this place and really found the quiet place you look for when you are on holiday. It made the end of our holiday perfect. It is a garantee for a pleasent stay. We really enjoyed the breakfast in the morning. Thanks you for the wunderfull stay!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederiksberg, Denmark
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

This place is equipped with very well designed and beautiful villas...We were 2 families from Denmark travelling and we all think the place was very unique.
Rooms are clean and spacious and the staff is very friendly. The tennis court is great too.
The hotels offers free rental of bicycles, so the restaurants are not at all far away at all...something like 5 minutes.
We would love to go there again at any time.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

This really is a home away from home but in the most beautiful surroundings. The villa itself has absolutely everything you could want including an amazing pool for the kids. You have the privacy of your own villa but the service of a resort with the most friendly staff you could ever wish for. Nothing is too much trouble and evrything is done with a genuine smile. The layout of the villa itself is perfect with really nicely appointed bedrooms, a big living area, kitchen and plenty of comfortable furniture to laze aroud the pool. I hadn't been to the islands before but will most definitely be back ! Rene, the manager of Kelapa Villas is incredibly helpful with local knowledge and anything that you need.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

The villas are lovely - open plan living around the beautiful pool, nice decor, good facilities. Breakfasts were very good. The service was very friendly, responsive and professional. Yes, the villas are located in a quiet area away from the main hub but that was nice - to get away from all the action. Even still, it was only a few minutes by bicycle to pretty much any part of the island. And the horse-drawn carts over bumpy roads were a great part of the whole experience. From what I could see, Kelapa villas looked like the best quality accommodation on the island. We will be back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Usually I wouldn't bother with writing a review, but Kelapa villas deserves it. My partner and I spend 7 nights in a 2 bedroom villa. The villa itself was amazing, with a great amount of living space, incredible pool and great bedrooms/bathrooms. The staff and management made the experience even better, with nothing too much to ask. There is nothing I would change about Kelapa Luxury Villas and will hopefully be back there in the coming months.
Thank you for making our trip to Trawangan the best one yet!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

The location is in the interior, in the middle of nowhere. It's a bit of a trek through muddy, unlit roads to get to the restaurants, market, to the dive shop or the beach. We had to take a pony cart for our luggage from the ferry and once when the whole road back was flooded. The carts are very uncomfortable and you feel sorry for the ponies.

We stayed in a 3 bedroom villa with two other couples. One of the rooms was quite nice, but the other two were really small, and not very comfortable. The lighting inside the rooms was very low - very hard to read in; our bathroom smelled a little funny and the drainage was a constant problem in the shower area. It did not feel very clean. The villa came with a kitchenette but it was not very well stocked, so we ended up eating out all the time. This was a little painful because there were no restaurants nearby so we had to walk down in the dark to the market.

Room service was extraordinarily slow, and the choices were limited, but the food was edible. Our package included breakfast which was not very appetizing, and they would keep getting the number of people wrong on each of the five days we were there!

Had a massage one day by the pool side, which was okay - not great.

On the positive side, It was nice to have a private pool, even if it was a little small. The garden outside is pretty and feels quite private though it is really a small holiday village.

There are a few much nicer places by the sea, yet away from the main market street which is very crowded. I would stay there if I had to choose again. Gili Trevangan itself has very little appeal, apart from the diving which is great! The only reason this gets a 3 rating, and not lower is the private pool and the feeling of privacy.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Kelapa Luxury Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kelapa Luxury Villas

Address: NW corner of Gili Trawangan, West Nusa Tenggara 80041, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Gili Islands > Gili Trawangan
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 121 Specialty Lodging in Gili Trawangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kelapa Luxury Villas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kelapa Luxury Villas, hidden in a coconut plantation, offers 20 villas with beautifully landscaped gardens and private swimming pools. The villas range from 1 bed to 5 bedrooms. The villas have a fully equipped kitchen as well as a private BBQ service (on request), TV,DVD, in-room safe, air-conditioning and 24 hour security. Gili Trawangan's dive facilities, restaurants and bars are only a short ride away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, HotelTravel.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Kelapa Luxury Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kelapa Luxury Villas Hotel Gili Trawangan
Kelapa Luxury Villas Gili Islands/Gili Trawangan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kelapa Luxury Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.