We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place good atmosphere.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Balikana Boutique Beach Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Gili Trawangan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Balikana Boutique Beach Resort
Save
You added Balikana Boutique Beach Resort to your Saves list
Gili Trawangan, Gili Indah | Pemenang, NTB, Lobar, West Nusa Tenggara, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 21 Hotels in Gili Trawangan
bali
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Nice place good atmosphere.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

Nice place good atmosphere.
Friendly staff very spacious rooms with hot and cold sweetwater airconditioning

Perfect

G.s

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    20
    6
    13
    7
See reviews for
6
31
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

We stayed 3 nights in Balikana, 2 nights in a standard room and 1 night in a deluxe room. The hotel is nice, the service is very good, the staff is quite amazing - especially the boys in the beach bar and the food is good. I just regret the location, a bit far from the village - though this ensures a quiet stay - and the prices, a bit expensive compared to the rooms. For example bathrooms are quite old in standard room and should be renovated. But in general, good place to stay !

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanur
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

We are a dutch family (2 children, 11 and 17 years old) and stayed at Balikana for 2 nights. We loved our stay on the island and especially at Balikana. The clean familyrooms are prepared with flowers on the bed and are big enough for 4 people. Just like the big bathroom (only shower). The breakfast is simple, you can make a choice out of 4 possibilities, including juice, fruitsalad and coffee/tea. The boys who run the 'restaurant' (on beachside) are very nice and helpfull!
To reach the main strip of the island you have to walk about 20 minutes from Balikana. On the way back, in the dark (bring a flashlight) you'll have to be carefull, because you will be attracted by the bright stars in teh sky and you can't see where you put your feet. We enjoyed our short stay on Gili Trawangan and Balikanan very much.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2011

I was quite shocked to read the negatives reviews of this place. Balikana was heaven. It is away from the main strip, so you have some peace and quiet, gorgeous views out to the ocean from your bungalow, fantastic service, rooms were cleaned every day with fresh flowers, mosquito nets over the beds, outdoor bathrooms were fantastic - very authentic, and bungalows came with air con which is well needed. And the food was great.
The pool was lovely - salt water, very clean, and for our whole stay, we had it all to ourselves. It was so relaxing. The only downfall with this place was the lack of umbrella's by the pool for shade.

I stayed 4 nights here, and then moved closer to town on my final 3 nights for something different, but for a bungalow at the same price closer to town, there was quite a bit of difference. Rooms & bathrooms were much smaller, and not cleaned during the time I was there, and the service and food was not as good. Advantage of being a bit closer to town, quicker to get home after a night out, and closer to the beach.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2011

We stayed at the Balikana Resort for 3 nights and loved every minute of the stay. It's a perfect location, away from the noise of the main strip. You can cheaply or easily rent a bicycle to go into town, or it is a pleasant 20 minute stroll. The rooms are extremely clean and each night you walk into a sprinkling of fresh flowers upon your bed and the outdoor bathrooms are gorgeous. The owners made sure to include lots of spaces in the hotel to relax with a view of the sea. Lounge areas with a view of the sea are sprinkled throughout the hotel. The pool is clean and well-kept and a coral reef for snorkeling is directly across from the hotel. What made this hotel special, however, is the owners and the people who worked in the hotel. They all knew us by name and made us feel welcomed and comfortable at all times. They jumped at the chance to help and provided us with tons of great information about exploring the island. We loved our stay here and I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2011

What can I say... myself and 2 friends went to the Gili Islands for a day trip and ended up leaving 4 days later! After much searching around the island we stumbled on Balikana and never wanted to leave, they were the nicest and most accommodating staff, and the perfect balance of being far enough away from town and still being able to sneak back for a drink and shopping. Janice and Maude have built a wonderful villa resort and group of wonderful friendly staff. Not to mention the other guests we met at the resort was friendly and created a nice chill social atmosphere at the pool. Expectations are everything and from reading the other reviews it does need to be said that if you want a character-less Hilton-esk hotel this is not the place for you, however if you want a truly local, friendly, and Indonesian experience (not to mention an AMAZING location), this is the place... it has endless personality I would relentlessly recommend it! If you do end up on the Gili's at any resort you MUST try the restaurant, by far the best Indonesian place we eat at the whole time, and highly recommend the Indonesian breakfast off the complimentary menu. Eating dinner with the ocean tickling your feet and getting to know the staff who would do anything for you (and all of them on a first name basis) was an experience we will never forget! Janice and Maude thank you and we will be back as soon as we can!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seminyak, Indonesia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2010

To re-iterate what was said in the 2 reviews below, the balikana 'boutique resort' was nothing but a painful experience and a stain on an otherwise fantastic trip to the Gili's! We found Balikana via the internet and decided to take up the offer of the 'November Special', we phoned and made a booking and asked that if the rooms weren't to our liking could we upgrade...we were told yes yes no problem just have to pay the difference in room prices, which was reasonable enough! Upon arrival at said 'resort' the initial impression was ok, but after inspection of the room, we definately wanted to 'upgrade'...we were then told this was only possible if we pay a 500,000rp cancellation fee!! this is were things started to spiral down...even in the upstairs garden rooms at a mere 900,000rp a night, things were wll below standard, failed A/C, dirty floors, dead flowers on the bed...oh yeah i think you're getting the picture!! we stayed just the one night, and at breakfast things went from bad to worse...the complimentary breakfast wasnt so complimentary, so we were charged for this....apparently the free brekky is at the whim of the owner who clearly didnt like the look of myself or my partner....upon compaining to the accomodating young man at reception he was told by the owner that if we were getting a free breakfast it was coming out of his wage!!! can you believe that??!! we certainly could not....we grabbed our bags and ran for the hills, or in this case the Gili Exotic Villas, where rooms were fantastic and at half the price!!! my advice if its worth anything is to stay away from Balikana, dont let your experience of Lombok and the Gili's be slighted by this place...happy travels ;)

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Balikana Boutique Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balikana Boutique Beach Resort

Address: Gili Trawangan, Gili Indah | Pemenang, NTB, Lobar, West Nusa Tenggara, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Gili Islands > Gili Trawangan
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Gili Trawangan
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Gili Trawangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Balikana is a family guest house situated on the north beach side of Gili Trawangan located in front of the prime snorkel location on the island. It is the place for romance, watersports, or relaxation. Eye stopping tropical garden, beautiful swimming pool, cozy traditional designed rooms with western amenities. A golden paradise retreat.Free wifi included with rooms. Lounge includes tv with satellite channels, lending library. Owner managed. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Balikana Boutique Beach Hotel Gili Trawangan
Balikana Boutique Beach Resort Gili Islands/Gili Trawangan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Balikana Boutique Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.