We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful villa.........OMG” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Beach House Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Beach House Resort to your Saves list
The Beach House Resort
Gili Trawangan Main Street, West Nusa Tenggara, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 101 Gili Trawangan B&B and Inns
Singapore, null, Singapore
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A wonderful villa.........OMG”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

OMG................I with a family of 12 stayed at this villa and was impressed by what we saw.We enjoy our stay here and looking forward for our next family reunion.Thanks for all the staff.Terimakasih..............

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    86
    29
    9
    7
See reviews for
34
91
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

I was staying with Tim G and as per his comments there was theft from the room. While it may be the case that the safe was unlocked, someone still got into the room and took some of both my and his money. My cash that was taken was Australian and I did not return to the room that night so there was no chance that I accidentally took it as per the accusation of management.

Beach house is a beautiful place and everything was great except for the theft and, more importantly, the response of management to this.

Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindaHE, Owner at The Beach House Resort, responded to this review, May 19, 2012
Hello

I'm afraid that, when there are reviews, and particularly either accusatory or laudatory ones, we are compelled to do our research and reply.

I am not for a minute saying that there is no theft on the island, nor even that ANYONE may access rooms at any resort if doors are left unlocked (anywhere in the world). However, given the traffic on the island, theft can be committed by anyone, from tourists, to local residents, to other staff from other businesses and yes, possibly, members of our staff (of which we have 100s) However to ACCUSE our staff with no evidence was what we took offence to. Had you presented us with any evidence of the theft, or any proof of it being one of our staff, we'd have dealt with it immediately in the way issues of theft are dealt with on a small island like Gili Trawangan.

Secondly it was necessary for me to point out the system with our safes and the fact that, even had you left it open, after several seconds it self locks and resets its code. And this is obviously what our management worked out DID happen as the code your tried in the morning was unable to open your safe.

We are not denying that maybe someone did enter your room, and it was obvious that if this did happen, the theft was from an open safe, but we were simply saying that to accuse someone with no evidence is, in any arena, a fairly unacceptable practise. Without proof, and without evidence, there is little we, as an establishment, are able to do. We provide the safes to keep your documents and money safe, but I'm afraid the onus is on the guests to keep that safe locked.

I would like to reinforce, given the open nature of Gili Trawangan resorts, and the fact that, with increased theft on the island in general, ANYONE can access rooms, and hence the need for more caution from everyone. From our side, we are now putting on 24 hour mobile security staff, and security video cameras to cover all corners of our resort.

Even more importantly, given the huge increase in building on the island, and thus the imported labour from Lombok and Java, the island itself has now brought 15 permanent security staff (called tourist police) to the island and therefore we are now, even more than ever, trying to advocate safer security measures within our resorts and also to guests in terms of them safeguarding precious effects.

I am sure, as you understand, we naturally would like to think it's not our staff (who we have had, in terms of the majority, as staff and also family, for many years). We do obviously question them if the need arises, but have never has issues with them over the years, so do like to try to find other possibilities. We are so sorry you had this experience, and are glad you did mention that other than issues to do with the theft, you enjoyed the resort.

Please understand that, as an employer, and also a very fair minded management team, we can't just simply accept accusations against staff with nothing proven, therefore do need to point out, to guests who write reviews, and to future guests, what other possibilities exist in terms of accusations.

Kind regards
The Beach House Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

I had money stolen from my safe in my locked room. Clearly a member of staff got in and stole from us. It was not a considerable amount of money but would have made a massive difference if the staff had adequate dealt with the situation rather than imply it was our fault. Case was that someone has either leapt over the walls or used a skeleton key to open the door and safe… all very unsettling. Was on the morning of our departure so had little ability to do anything. Was otherwise a lovely hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindaHE, Owner at The Beach House Resort, responded to this review, May 1, 2012
Hello Tim

After 15 minutes on the phone with our Beach House manager, I do have a response to your review which, in all honesty, is quite slanderous

We have commercial grade Krisbow safes and, as our manager demonstrated to you on the morning of your complaint, these safes, if opened with a master or 'skeleton' key, automatically cancel out YOUR combination and reset with a combination that has to be overridden. This was not the case obviously, as you were able to open your safe in the morning

You then suggested maybe you had 'forgotten' to lock it when you went out to the party. Again, our manager showed you how, if you do open it and forget to press your combination to lock the safe, the safe is designed to automatically lock within several seconds

Finally - not that they could have been used, as demonstrated above - but all master keys are kept in the management safety box, not in housekeeping

Our manager did wonder at the time, given you were at an all night party the night before your departure, whether one of you perhaps forgot that he went to take the $100 you were missing to settle bills at the party venue

Again, I repeat, to accuse our staff who have NEVER had a theft report issued against them in the 10 years we have been in business, on a public forum, is totally inexcusable. You not only have no evidence, but all your suggestions of how your money disappeared were disproved

Beach House Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

We stayed in a standard bungalow for 2 nights and were quite impressed with the facilities at the beach house. The bed was comfy, the room clean, the only let down was the salt water shower, however fresh rinsing water is available from the bathroom tap.
The pool was beautiful and quiet enough to enjoy relaxing around it in the afternoon. Breakfast was excellent especially the REAL coffee!
While you can definitely get a cheaper room on Gili T, we were very satisfied with our decision to stay at the Beach House and would certainly consider it next time.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindaHE, Owner at The Beach House Resort, responded to this review, May 10, 2012
Hi Sarah

Thank you so much for your lovely review and we're so happy you enjoyed the standard accommodation, and our facilities.

We are gradually doing small renovations and some contemporary upgrades within The Beach House, including bringing freshwater into the bungalows in the resort. This will be done in stages, depending on rooms that become available for maintenance, but for those looking at staying and particularly wanting freshwater showers, it's worth asking on booking which bungalows have the freshwater already installed

We look forward to seeing you again next trip

Beach House management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

Stayed at Beach House Resort with a mate on a 'boys trip' to Bali and Gilis. We just got a twin standard room which was fine for us (air con, tv, no fridge though) but if I was with my wife and / or kids I'd probably prefer a higher standard room there - maybe one of their villas which looked pretty nice. There is a great pool and always staff around to go and grab you a Bintang or cocktail if so desired. And there is a great waterfront restaurant as part of the resort with fresh seafood BBQ in the evenings. Be careful that the neighbouring Irish Bar doesnt have one of its party nights if you want to get sleep (so I am told - we missed out but other guests told us about it - VERY loud so I am told). You can rent bikes from the neighbouring store for 30000 rp a day to ride around the island. As non- divers we found that a couple of nights was all we needed on Gili T as there really isnt too much to do apart from relaxing or diving (i'm a bit more of a 'lets do something' person on holidays). Dont get sucked into being ripped off by the horse and carts at the boat arrival. Negotiate a good price (no more than 20000 Rp) is you ask me. It only takes a few minutes to walk from where the boats arrive. BTW if the don;t have accommodation organised you get swamped by people when you arrive offering all standards of accomodation and you can negotiate prices with them. ALSO don't worry about the fast boats to get there. We went on Wahunia and they were fine - large modern fast boat, trip over was smooth, bit rocky on way back but no probs at all. Only costs us 600000Rp return from Kuta. Cost us 550000 RP a night for the standard room. Just arrived and booked at front office. Didnt make an avance booking but we got the last room so might be worthwhile especially during busy season.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caloundra, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

6 of us stayed for a week the location was great, as were the staff, not real impressed with office staff too busy on the internet to want to even look up at times. The house staff and bar staff were fantastic and always up for a chat.The bungalows need some work and tidy up just minor things that would freshen up the place eg paint and curtain wash. Have stayed in many bungalows in asia and feel that beach house could do better. Plus was large rooms and close to everything

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindaHE, Owner at The Beach House Resort, responded to this review, May 10, 2012
Hi

Thank you for your review and we're glad you enjoyed aspects of your stay

As I mentioned in a more recent response, we are gradually doing small renovations and some contemporary upgrades within The Beach House, as rooms become available and we can close them down for several days, and have managed to complete renovations in several of the bungalows. Unfortunately it seems your group was not accommodated in the completed bungalows. Within the next few weeks though, all will have been, at the very least, freshened up, and some majorly upgraded.

In terms of our office staff - we only have the one Receptionist who is always 100% hands on and helpful. Unfortunately it seems you have maybe confused our division managers, who all have their desk areas in the office space, as front office staff. As their computer work relates to their specific areas that they run and, as they are not employed to deal with front office issues, it is understandable that they may seem inattentive and unapproachable. However I will bring your comments to their attention, but hope you do understand that their function is to run entire areas of the back of house issues that you amy now be as aware of. However I'm hoping you found our Front Office Receptionist as helpful as you found our other front of house staff

Again, thank you for you review, and hoping this has answered your concerns

Beach House management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilanova i la Geltru, Spain
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

The food is amazing; the restaurant has a great view. I loved the fresh fruit juices we could bill to our room and drink by the pool or overlooking the water at the restaurant. We stayed in one of the bungalows in the back with no air-conditioning. We didn’t feel that air conditioning was needed. The bungalow was very cool and the garden in the back filled with bougainvillea. There was a bike rental place nearby.

The staff was really nice and always smiling. The owner was a jerk, though, and seemed condescending to the locals he employed. I would recommend tipping the employees. nNevertheless, overall we were very pleased with our stay and would highly recommend the bungalows. We booked the place through Lombok Network, a locally-run agency (Lombok/Bali) that we highly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindaHE, Owner at The Beach House Resort, responded to this review, February 28, 2012
Hello

Thank you for your review - we appreciate people taking the time out to post reviews, and we always welcome feedback

We're so happy you enjoyed your Beach House experience. In terms of the owner, there are a few of us as this is a family operated business, and we have never had negative feedback of our treatment of staff, as they feel, as we do, that they are family. The majority have been with us from the start and we would never treat any of them in a patronizing manner. Yes, there is joking around that happens on both sides (a repercussion of familiarity) but never condescending treatment. Furthermore, the owner on the island at the time was in bed with a severely damaged back - where he stayed the entire week. However, we will be taking up your concern with a manager we were trialing at the time - so thank you for bringing it to our attention

Hoping to welcome you back to The Beach House

Beach House management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Beach House Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beach House Resort

Address: Gili Trawangan Main Street, West Nusa Tenggara, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Gili Islands > Gili Trawangan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 101 B&Bs / Inns in Gili Trawangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Although a contemporary resort, we strive to retain the original features that are characteristic of Bali and Lombok. Set amidst tropical gardens, fronting onto the Lombok Straits, The Beach House reminds you of how Bali used to be. Enjoy all that The Beach House offers - the spacious and well appointed bungalows, villas or tree houses; a restaurant set in the sand at the edge of the water that features wonderful, fresh produce, a freshwater swimming pool with a bar and great sun-baking spots; and unbeatable service ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your The Beach House Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Beach House Hotel Gili Trawangan
Beach Hotel Lombok
The Beach Hotel
The Beach House Resort Gili Islands/Gili Trawangan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Beach House Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.