We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'm back......its just owesome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Desa Dunia Beda Beach Resort (Gili Trawangan - Lombok)

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Desa Dunia Beda Beach Resort (Gili Trawangan - Lombok) to your Saves list
Desa Dunia Beda Beach Resort (Gili Trawangan - Lombok)
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Desa Dunia Beda, West Nusa Tenggara, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Gili Trawangan
Langkawi, Malaysia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“I'm back......its just owesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Im back to Desa Dunia Beda... Its a lovely resort. Coming back to villa joglo.
It is a great enviroment with eco living way here. Can take a shower under the moonlight...and the water comes out from mouth of stone curving. We almost spent of our time in resort area. Just go to snorkel in front of hotel then meet turtle and another big fish and dont forget bring proper shoes as well......and after just lay down relaxing on long chair at beach deck waiting the sunset. So owesome......What a beautiful life.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    56
    9
    1
    8
See reviews for
34
125
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

The location is perfect, just around the corner of the 'busy' main street and right a the beach.

Snorkeling is absolutely perfect, try to go before breakfast when the sea is still calm and perfectly clear to see everything! We saw turtles, sharks, manta ray, lots of small and big fish! Don't forget some water shoes because you need them. You need to walk over some dead coral which is painful without any proper shoes/socks.

Also the service and food is excellent. The people are really friendly and always smiling and willing to help!

One tip: check your villa or cabin on gecko's, they make quite some noise especially at night...

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Usa
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Desa Dunia was a very good place for our stay in Gili T. We liked our cottage, the hotel grounds and the service. We spent most of our time on the beach area eating and doing nothing! :)

As other customers have stated, the only drawback of the place is that the the beach in front of it is not a great beach for swimming. It is, if your plan is to snorkel but if you want a sandy beach, then you'll have to go to another beach on the island. Other than that, the place is a good option for Gili T. It's far from the noise but only a 30 mins walk away if you want to go at night (bring a flashlight).

In general we liked the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

This Hotel is the one you want to stay in Gili Trawagan

Why?
Amazing breakfast/food
Lovely people
Far from the crowd
Eco friendly
Super relaxing

Tiny detail you might want to consider, the beach is not made of sand and you have to wear flip-flops if you want to swim, apart from that, it was just perfect!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights earlier this week and absolutely loved it.

It's away from the main strip so you don't get any noise and the morning call to prayer isn't heard at this end of the island either.

We stayed in 2 types of accommodation: Kampung Villa with AC & Joglo Villa with AC.
The kampung villa is perfect with a comfortable bed, space for your stuff and a nice bathroom, albeit outside with a chilly saltwater shower!

The joglo villa was just superb. It is a lot larger, has an enormous bed, inside sink as well as the outside bathroom and is just lovely. Out of the 2 types of villa, I would choose the joglo every time. However, had I not seen the joglo, I would have been perfectly happy with the kampung.

The pool is lovely with nice chairs/loungers. Plus the resort is on the beach if you prefer to lie on loungers there.

Breakfast was included in the price and was delicious and huge. There was a very good selection of breakfasts in my opinion. You certainly won't be hungry after breakfast!

The only improvement that I could possibly offer is to use freshwater showers rather than the saltwater ones. Freshwater is provided in large clay pots but for convenience, it would be better coming from a heated shower. However, we still loved our stay and would definitely recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Travelling around the island, we felt very lucky to have chosen Desa Dunia Beda. At the quieter end of the island (but not too far from the action), this place was our favourite accommodation when compared to anywhere else we stayed in Indonesia. The rooms were stunning, the salt water showers invigorating, the pool area so relaxing, the service friendly but not intrusive, and the sunset view beautiful. One other tip - the tapas and sangria at Karma Kayak, a few hotels along - superb!

Room Tip: We stayed in both the garden and beach front rooms, AC and fan rooms. Both were excellent! Authentic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DesaDuniaBeda, Propriétaire at Desa Dunia Beda Beach Resort (Gili Trawangan - Lombok), responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Smoodge,

Thank you for your great comment about our resort, and we are so happy that our resort was for you the best place you stayed during your holiday in Indonesia.

Happy to know also that you did like our Eco bathroom with (as you mention) invigorating shower.

We hope you will be back to us to enjoy the great sunset from the beach in front of our resort.

Sincerly your
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, CA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We stayed in one of the beachfront Joglos and I highly recommend. Filled with Antiques, gorgeous big comfortable bed and a really cool outdoor bathroom.

Beautiful and comfortable accommodation...and a much better value than any of the other places we researched along that quieter coast. Also loved the pool....and I'm very opinionated on pools.

Only downside was that the showers are salt-water....i can't do that and then lay down in bed so I showered by the pool. I guess other people are ok with it, but I don't like the way I feel with salt on me.

Free snorkel gear at the bar and bikes for rent.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DesaDuniaBeda, Propriétaire at Desa Dunia Beda Beach Resort (Gili Trawangan - Lombok), responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Jessica,

Thank you a lot for staying with us and for your great comment about our resort.
We are really happy to know that you enjoyed your stay and specially the pool.
About the shower, yes we still use the water from the well and it's a bit salty, by the way may be you miss the jug in the bathroom which is supplied with fresh water and that you can use to rinse you to make sure you will have a great sleep without any salt on your body.

Hope you will use it next time to make your stay perfect.

All the best and we hope to see you soon again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Desa Dunia Beda Beach Resort (Gili Trawangan - Lombok)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desa Dunia Beda Beach Resort (Gili Trawangan - Lombok)

Address: Desa Dunia Beda, West Nusa Tenggara, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Gili Islands > Gili Trawangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Gili Trawangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Desa Dunia Beda Beach Resort (Gili Trawangan - Lombok) 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The most quiet resort on Gili Trawangan.We are on the north part of the island and we have the longest private beach (170 mtr). You will enjoy it having a romantic time on our deck facing the indian ocean.With only twelve villa on our fifteen square meter property your privacy will be respected at any time.#################Honeymoon Package#################3 Nights/ 4 Days Package:=========================USD 885 nett (including airport transfer)USD 895 nett (including fast boat transfer)Inclusive:==========3 Nights accommodation at Javanese JOGLO Villa.Daily breakfast for two persons.Welcome drink and fruit on arrival.Return transfer from Lombok International airport or return fast boat transfer from Bali..3x Romantic dinner for 2 persons.2x Lunch for 2 persons.1x around the island trip by Cidomo(horse cart).1x snorkeling trip by private glass bottom boat including lunch box.2 Nights/ 3 Days Package:=========================USD 685 nett (including airport transfer)USD 695 nett (including fast boat transfer)Inclusive:========== 2 Nights accommodation at Javanese JOGLO Villa.Daily breakfast for two persons.Welcome drink and fruit on arrival.Return transfer from Lombok International Airport or return fast boat transfer from Bali.2x Romantic dinner for 2 persons.1x Lunch for 2 persons.1x around the island trip by Cidomo (horse cart).1x snorkeling trip by private glass bottom boat including lunch box.*High season surcharge of USD 60 is applicable from 15 July to 15 September and 20 December to 15 January. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Desa Dunia Beda Beach Resort (Gili Trawangan - Lombok) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desa Dunia Beda (Gili Trawangan - Lombok) Hotel Gili Trawangan
Desa Dunia Beda Lombok
Desa Dunia Beda Beach Resort (Gili Trawangan - Lombok) Gili Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Desa Dunia Beda Beach Resort (Gili Trawangan - Lombok), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.