We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best in Gili Trawagan” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Desa Dunia Beda Beach Resort (Gili Trawangan - Lombok)

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Desa Dunia Beda Beach Resort (Gili Trawangan - Lombok) to your Saves list
Desa Dunia Beda Beach Resort (Gili Trawangan - Lombok)
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Desa Dunia Beda, West Nusa Tenggara, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in Gili Trawangan
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
64 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“The best in Gili Trawagan”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

This Hotel is the one you want to stay in Gili Trawagan

Why?
Amazing breakfast/food
Lovely people
Far from the crowd
Eco friendly
Super relaxing

Tiny detail you might want to consider, the beach is not made of sand and you have to wear flip-flops if you want to swim, apart from that, it was just perfect!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    74
    14
    1
    8
See reviews for
49
162
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights earlier this week and absolutely loved it.

It's away from the main strip so you don't get any noise and the morning call to prayer isn't heard at this end of the island either.

We stayed in 2 types of accommodation: Kampung Villa with AC & Joglo Villa with AC.
The kampung villa is perfect with a comfortable bed, space for your stuff and a nice bathroom, albeit outside with a chilly saltwater shower!

The joglo villa was just superb. It is a lot larger, has an enormous bed, inside sink as well as the outside bathroom and is just lovely. Out of the 2 types of villa, I would choose the joglo every time. However, had I not seen the joglo, I would have been perfectly happy with the kampung.

The pool is lovely with nice chairs/loungers. Plus the resort is on the beach if you prefer to lie on loungers there.

Breakfast was included in the price and was delicious and huge. There was a very good selection of breakfasts in my opinion. You certainly won't be hungry after breakfast!

The only improvement that I could possibly offer is to use freshwater showers rather than the saltwater ones. Freshwater is provided in large clay pots but for convenience, it would be better coming from a heated shower. However, we still loved our stay and would definitely recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Travelling around the island, we felt very lucky to have chosen Desa Dunia Beda. At the quieter end of the island (but not too far from the action), this place was our favourite accommodation when compared to anywhere else we stayed in Indonesia. The rooms were stunning, the salt water showers invigorating, the pool area so relaxing, the service friendly but not intrusive, and the sunset view beautiful. One other tip - the tapas and sangria at Karma Kayak, a few hotels along - superb!

Room Tip: We stayed in both the garden and beach front rooms, AC and fan rooms. Both were excellent! Authentic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DesaDuniaBeda, Propriétaire at Desa Dunia Beda Beach Resort (Gili Trawangan - Lombok), responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Smoodge,

Thank you for your great comment about our resort, and we are so happy that our resort was for you the best place you stayed during your holiday in Indonesia.

Happy to know also that you did like our Eco bathroom with (as you mention) invigorating shower.

We hope you will be back to us to enjoy the great sunset from the beach in front of our resort.

Sincerly your
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, CA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We stayed in one of the beachfront Joglos and I highly recommend. Filled with Antiques, gorgeous big comfortable bed and a really cool outdoor bathroom.

Beautiful and comfortable accommodation...and a much better value than any of the other places we researched along that quieter coast. Also loved the pool....and I'm very opinionated on pools.

Only downside was that the showers are salt-water....i can't do that and then lay down in bed so I showered by the pool. I guess other people are ok with it, but I don't like the way I feel with salt on me.

Free snorkel gear at the bar and bikes for rent.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DesaDuniaBeda, Propriétaire at Desa Dunia Beda Beach Resort (Gili Trawangan - Lombok), responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Jessica,

Thank you a lot for staying with us and for your great comment about our resort.
We are really happy to know that you enjoyed your stay and specially the pool.
About the shower, yes we still use the water from the well and it's a bit salty, by the way may be you miss the jug in the bathroom which is supplied with fresh water and that you can use to rinse you to make sure you will have a great sleep without any salt on your body.

Hope you will use it next time to make your stay perfect.

All the best and we hope to see you soon again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bondi, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

This is a beautiful property! It's located on the quieter side of the Island, this is an Island you can walk around in 1.5-2 hours so it's not like it's too far from the hustle and bustle, we preferred this as the other side is full-on busy. We rode our bikes to the other side for Dinner & Drinks though and it only took 10-15 minutes so it was perfect for us. Really beautiful Villas, the fresh water bowl has a tap so it was a lot better than I was expecting given the reviews on this place I read before going! It's no problem at all and It felt kind of rustic showering in salt water then rinsing off with a ladle anyway! I loved it, the service was great, location was beautiful, peaceful breakfast on the beachfront with not too many people around was blissful. Also very good value for the price, thank you Desa Dunia!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DesaDuniaBeda, Propriétaire at Desa Dunia Beda Beach Resort (Gili Trawangan - Lombok), responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Beth

Thank you for staying with us in our Resort.

We deeply appreciate your comment about our concept

Thanks to mention the system we use for the fresh water, it will help others customers to understand better our vision and we hope they also will enjoy it as a natural/ traditional way of showering.

We wait you for an other peacefull breakfast on the beachfront.

Sincerly yours
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We had 7 fantastic days at this resort , everything was great ,the room was large the bed comfortable and sitting on the front verandah watching the sun go down with a nice cool drink was very relaxing. Breakfasts were included and you get a nice choice, the service at all times was first class,nothing was ever to much trouble for the staff, they are always happy and cheerful.The food was good and had a wide selection to choose from. Loved the pool it's nice and big.This resort is the perfect place to relax !! We organised through the resort to go snorkelling and the the 2 guys that took us out were great, from our first snorkel we saw turtles! The resort can also organise to have a person come in and give you facials and pedicures , my wife loved this and the price was very good as well. Thank you to everyone at the resort for giving us a very relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didik H, General Manager at Desa Dunia Beda Beach Resort (Gili Trawangan - Lombok), responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Warmest greetings from the most exotic island of gili trawangan .....

Dear Headchef57,

Thank you very much for your nice comment and review.
We are so happy that you loved and enjoyed your 7 fantastic days with us.

We've shared this to our staff and they send the warmest greetings to both of you.

We missed to welcome you back on Gili Trawangan to watch the sun go down with a nice cool drink on the front verandah .

Have a wonderful seasons ....

Best regards,
Desa Dunia Beda Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Having just spent 11 days at Desa Dunia Beda with my wife, I can't recommend this resort highly enough.

It's in a beautiful location (well away from the noisy bars on the other side of the island), with excellent sunset views. The rooms and grounds are kept to a very high standard, the pool area is similarly well maintained, and the bar and restaurant facilities were also very good. The staff were excellent and couldn't have been more frindly or helpful across the entire stretch of our stay and we were genuinely sad to leave, but look forward one day to making it back to join Yan, Rocky and the boys in this little piece of paradise.

Room Tip: Rooms nearer the beach have better sunset views, although they are also close to both the beach and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didik H, General Manager at Desa Dunia Beda Beach Resort (Gili Trawangan - Lombok), responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Kingofthebongos,

Wow, .... thank you very much for your lovely review.

We are so happy that you loved and enjoyed our place and concept.
11 days at Desa Dunia Beda is quiet a long stay,....

We've shared this with our staff and they send the warmest greetings to both of you, especially Yan and Rocky .

Once again thank you for stayed with us.
We missed to welcome you back on Gili Trawangan.

Have a wonderful seasons ....

Best regards,
Desa Dunia Beda Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gili Trawangan
0.5 mi away
Les Villas Ottalia
Les Villas Ottalia
#3 of 22 in Gili Trawangan
4.5 of 5 stars 220 reviews
0.4 mi away
Luce d'Alma Resort & Spa
Luce d'Alma Resort & Spa
#4 of 22 in Gili Trawangan
4.5 of 5 stars 465 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Vila Ombak
Hotel Vila Ombak
#13 of 22 in Gili Trawangan
3.5 of 5 stars 991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Ombak Sunset
Hotel Ombak Sunset
#10 of 22 in Gili Trawangan
4.0 of 5 stars 404 reviews
0.6 mi away
Danima Resort & Restaurant
Danima Resort & Restaurant
#2 of 22 in Gili Trawangan
4.5 of 5 stars 275 reviews
1.3 mi away
Scallywags Smugglers Hideaway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desa Dunia Beda Beach Resort (Gili Trawangan - Lombok)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desa Dunia Beda Beach Resort (Gili Trawangan - Lombok)

Address: Desa Dunia Beda, West Nusa Tenggara, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Gili Islands > Gili Trawangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Gili Trawangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Desa Dunia Beda Beach Resort (Gili Trawangan - Lombok) 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The most quiet resort on Gili Trawangan.We are on the north part of the island and we have the longest private beach (170 mtr). You will enjoy it having a romantic time on our deck facing the indian ocean.With only twelve villa on our fifteen square meter property your privacy will be respected at any time.#################Honeymoon Package#################3 Nights/ 4 Days Package:=========================USD 885 nett (including airport transfer)USD 895 nett (including fast boat transfer)Inclusive:==========3 Nights accommodation at Javanese JOGLO Villa.Daily breakfast for two persons.Welcome drink and fruit on arrival.Return transfer from Lombok International airport or return fast boat transfer from Bali..3x Romantic dinner for 2 persons.2x Lunch for 2 persons.1x around the island trip by Cidomo(horse cart).1x snorkeling trip by private glass bottom boat including lunch box.2 Nights/ 3 Days Package:=========================USD 685 nett (including airport transfer)USD 695 nett (including fast boat transfer)Inclusive:========== 2 Nights accommodation at Javanese JOGLO Villa.Daily breakfast for two persons.Welcome drink and fruit on arrival.Return transfer from Lombok International Airport or return fast boat transfer from Bali.2x Romantic dinner for 2 persons.1x Lunch for 2 persons.1x around the island trip by Cidomo (horse cart).1x snorkeling trip by private glass bottom boat including lunch box.*High season surcharge of USD 60 is applicable from 15 July to 15 September and 20 December to 15 January. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Desa Dunia Beda Beach Resort (Gili Trawangan - Lombok) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desa Dunia Beda (Gili Trawangan - Lombok) Hotel Gili Trawangan
Desa Dunia Beda Lombok
Desa Dunia Beda Beach Resort (Gili Trawangan - Lombok) Gili Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Desa Dunia Beda Beach Resort (Gili Trawangan - Lombok), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.