We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be an amazing place with a little love and attention” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Desa Dunia Beda Beach Resort (Gili Trawangan - Lombok)

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Desa Dunia Beda Beach Resort (Gili Trawangan - Lombok) to your Saves list
Desa Dunia Beda Beach Resort (Gili Trawangan - Lombok)
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Desa Dunia Beda, West Nusa Tenggara, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Gili Trawangan
Jakarta, Indonesia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Could be an amazing place with a little love and attention”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

As an experienced traveler I would rate this hotel 'average' for SE Asia but 'very good' for Gili T - here's why. DDB has a lot going for it. The location at the far end of the island lends itself to peaceful, romantic days lounging in the sun and quiet nights. The bungalows are generously spaced for privacy and the property in general has many well designed features like the salt water pool and beach front gazebos. The ocean views from the enormous bed in room 9 were really special. It has all the appearances of a lovely, unique hotel especially in comparison to the other available options on Gili T. However, DDB lacked the attention to detail and service that would make it a truly memorable experience.

Here are some examples of where DDB could have done better. I should preface this by saying I speak a bit of Bahasa Indonesian after living in Jakarta nearly 2 years so I am quite sure these were not communication issues. When we arrived and were escorted to our room we noticed the bed was completely full of ants. We pointed this out to the staff person with us and he attempted to sweep them off with his hands, when this proved futile he quickly left in shame without offering to change the sheets or get a proper bed broom and get rid of them. Additionally, each time we ordered room service (day or night) no one would come to pick up the dishes until the next day when we piled everything together and asked the person dropping the next items to please take them away. Also no one ever wiped the table and chairs where we ate, contributing to the insect problems. In fact, one morning the person bringing us coffee and milk dropped the milk jug on our porch and never came to clean it up! The milk just dried in the sun onto the wood. I have several other examples but I think the point is made. I understand from staff that the owners live in Java and only make trips to the hotel when there is a major renovation or repair. My humble opinion is that if this is true, perhaps they should frequent their hotel a bit more to work with their staff on improving service and cleanliness. It is important to add the staff are very kind and do whatever you ask, but one should not have to ask them basic things, that requires proper training.

Perhaps the room price $180/night is warranted because it is an island and difficult and expensive to transport goods. Although I have stayed in more remote places in Thailand,Indonesia and Vietnam that cost less and delivered more in terms of experience. Regardless of the price and quality of service, DDB has cornered the market on GiliT for its location (ideal for sunsets) and unique, well spaced rooms with an ocean view.

In sum, as is, DDB could be a good place to stay on GiliT depending on what you are looking for and what you expect for your holidays. However, it is a shame because with a little love and attention this place could be absolutely spectacular.

Room Tip: Choose rooms 8,9 or 10 for the best views. Rooms 8 and 9 are further from the pool and reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DesaDuniaBeda, Propriétaire at Desa Dunia Beda Beach Resort (Gili Trawangan - Lombok), responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear Nicole,

Thank you for your posting and the nice comment about our resort.
After reading your email we will have a meeting with the room service staffs and others to make sur we can do better in the matter of picking up the dishes in the rooms. Please if next time you stay with us again just give a call to the front office and they will pick it up straight away.

Yes this is correct, I stay in Jogjakarta but f I come every month to GiliT / DDB to make sure every things is going well, meet the staff and check what is possible to do better in the matter of maintenance and services

By the way we take your comment in a positif way and with all our love and attention we will always tro do the best for for the satisfaction of our customers.

All the best

Yves and ddb Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    58
    10
    1
    8
See reviews for
37
133
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shenyang, China
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

I did not stay here, but its a great spot for sun set! And the most amazing toilet in south east asia.

We went and had drinks there, service friendly and helpfull.

After a few Beers we left and 2 hours later I realized I left my phone in the chair, it must have fallen in the sand.

As my batterie was empty I did not try to call, just to make my way back and hope its there.
The supervisor older man with a great smile had it. He rechardged it so that when some one calls he can let them know that he found it. Phones these day mean a lot to us tourist and nothing to Gili people is what he said... I went back the next day with a thank you reward he was so happy...

Its a beautifull spot and made for couples, might be back one day... But that says it all about a place you can trust...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DesaDuniaBeda, Propriétaire at Desa Dunia Beda Beach Resort (Gili Trawangan - Lombok), responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Dear MissMeI1905,

Thank you to pass by our place for sun set time. We are very please to helped you and very glad about your posting on Trip advisor.....

Please next time you come to Trawangan, stay with us it will be a great pleasure for us to see you again.

All the best from us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

This was an absolutely amazing place. So beautiful and quiet. Service was incredible and everything was so romantic. This is definitely the party island but you are perfectly removed from that whole scene. The food was great. We did a few snorkel trips and otherwise just relaxed. Beautiful, natural decor. You'll love it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DesaDuniaBeda, Propriétaire at Desa Dunia Beda Beach Resort (Gili Trawangan - Lombok), responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Dear Kmyrnck,
What a great pleasure to read your comment, we are also so happy that you enjoy our property and concept.
We will be very happy to see you again and make sur you will have a second great time with us

All the best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012 via mobile

Despite my insect fears (I'm a bit funny about that sort of thing), I succumbed to the natural and architectural beauty of this place.

I didn't even get bitten and the enormous bed and epic mosquito net that would not have looked out of place in an Arabian Palace, did a great job. Thou on the whole, we didn't see any insects.

Enjoyed the saltwater shower, which warms up a lot at night, but is refreshing in the day. The rooms are magical and the best accommodation we stayed in during a month of honeymooning in Sri Lanka and Indonesia, and we stayed in expensive places the whole time.

Staff all really friendly and certainly a good spot for families and couples. But of a trek from the main bar and restaurant area on the island, but that made it all the more special.

We'd love to return one day. Felt compelled to write a review.

Tom

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DesaDuniaBeda, Propriétaire at Desa Dunia Beda Beach Resort (Gili Trawangan - Lombok), responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Dear Tom,
We are very happy to read your comment, we hope you had a really perfect honeymoon with us.
Looks like you did like our natural concept but with all the confort possible provide for special occasion.
We hope next year you will come back to us

Thank you for staying with us.

We wish you all the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012 via mobile

Amazing resort. Beautiful villas -specially the joglo villa on the beach front. We loved the service, food, complete stay!! The staff is friendly. The northern side of the island is much better than all the hustle bustle of the center!! Its located on a perfect spot!!

Regards
Bostjan Pirc and Winnie Daniel

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DesaDuniaBeda, Propriétaire at Desa Dunia Beda Beach Resort (Gili Trawangan - Lombok), responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Dear Pirc And Winnie,

Thank you for your nice posting about our resort, we are very happy that you like it. We hope to see you soon in the most relaxing place of Gili Trawangan.

Best regards

All the staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark, Copenhagen
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

We just wanted to go back to the Gili´s and we where agian very excited about Desa Dunia Beda because of the location at the north coast, relaxation mode of the place, discrete service, cozy Joglo bungalow, perfect sunset, beachside breakfast, etc. This time on Gili T we also stayed a the main strip which where a big mistake and we should had spend all nights at Desa Dunia Beda instead. The north coast is the absolutely best at Gili T and the mainstrip is in our view getting destroyed and look now like Kuta beach 20 years ago. Go to the north coast and rent a bike when you want to go to town. If you are fit it only take 1½ hour to walk around the entire island which is great. Plan to go just before sunset see the sunset over Gili Meno and Lombok. Desa Dunia Beda has a great dinner kitchen and you have other options along the north coast for a few days. Again my best recommendations and hope I will get back another time.
All the best Jeppe & family.

Room Tip: We love the Joglo bungalow and in july you will not need aircon. We even turned of the fan as the wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DesaDuniaBeda, Propriétaire at Desa Dunia Beda Beach Resort (Gili Trawangan - Lombok), responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Dear Jeppe & Family,

Was a great pleasure to have you with us for the second time.

Don't worry we will always keep our place as it is now, relaxing, clean, and confortable. You are right, the north part of the Island is much more quiet and perfect for relaxing holiday.

We hope we will see you soon again.

Thank you again for staying with us

Best Regards from all of us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

Great location, amaizing rooms, exceptional outdoor bathroom, clean and quiet pool, friendly staff.... what else to you need! Bikes are available to go to the main street of the Island. Only 10-15min away by bike.

Room Tip: they are all great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DesaDuniaBeda, Propriétaire at Desa Dunia Beda Beach Resort (Gili Trawangan - Lombok), responded to this review, August 4, 2012
Google Translation
Bonjour LotusBlue,
Merci de votre commentaire et nous sommes heureux d'avoir pu vous avoir chez nous.
A bientot peut etre dans notre petit coin de paradis.
Sinceres salutations de Gili
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Desa Dunia Beda Beach Resort (Gili Trawangan - Lombok)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desa Dunia Beda Beach Resort (Gili Trawangan - Lombok)

Address: Desa Dunia Beda, West Nusa Tenggara, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Gili Islands > Gili Trawangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Gili Trawangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Desa Dunia Beda Beach Resort (Gili Trawangan - Lombok) 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The most quiet resort on Gili Trawangan.We are on the north part of the island and we have the longest private beach (170 mtr). You will enjoy it having a romantic time on our deck facing the indian ocean.With only twelve villa on our fifteen square meter property your privacy will be respected at any time.#################Honeymoon Package#################3 Nights/ 4 Days Package:=========================USD 885 nett (including airport transfer)USD 895 nett (including fast boat transfer)Inclusive:==========3 Nights accommodation at Javanese JOGLO Villa.Daily breakfast for two persons.Welcome drink and fruit on arrival.Return transfer from Lombok International airport or return fast boat transfer from Bali..3x Romantic dinner for 2 persons.2x Lunch for 2 persons.1x around the island trip by Cidomo(horse cart).1x snorkeling trip by private glass bottom boat including lunch box.2 Nights/ 3 Days Package:=========================USD 685 nett (including airport transfer)USD 695 nett (including fast boat transfer)Inclusive:========== 2 Nights accommodation at Javanese JOGLO Villa.Daily breakfast for two persons.Welcome drink and fruit on arrival.Return transfer from Lombok International Airport or return fast boat transfer from Bali.2x Romantic dinner for 2 persons.1x Lunch for 2 persons.1x around the island trip by Cidomo (horse cart).1x snorkeling trip by private glass bottom boat including lunch box.*High season surcharge of USD 60 is applicable from 15 July to 15 September and 20 December to 15 January. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Desa Dunia Beda Beach Resort (Gili Trawangan - Lombok) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desa Dunia Beda (Gili Trawangan - Lombok) Hotel Gili Trawangan
Desa Dunia Beda Lombok
Desa Dunia Beda Beach Resort (Gili Trawangan - Lombok) Gili Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Desa Dunia Beda Beach Resort (Gili Trawangan - Lombok), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.