We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Social sustainability is far below the standard!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Desa Dunia Beda Beach Resort (Gili Trawangan - Lombok)

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Desa Dunia Beda Beach Resort (Gili Trawangan - Lombok) to your Saves list
Desa Dunia Beda Beach Resort (Gili Trawangan - Lombok)
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Desa Dunia Beda, West Nusa Tenggara, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Gili Trawangan
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Social sustainability is far below the standard!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

We have been on Gili T from the 16th of November till the 20th. We arrived in the main centre and slept here the first night. For us a bit noisy, so luckily we found this lovely spot because we walked around the island. So, next morning we moved immediately to Desa Dunia Beda.
Our bungalow was beautiful, even as the swimming pool and the terrace with the gazebo's at the beach. Each morning we went snorkeling very early in the morning to spot turtles and had a delicious breakfast in the gazebo. The staff was absolutely fantastic and extremely helpful. So far absolutely nothing to complain about!

Though what made me very anxious were the working hours of the staff. From breakfast till dinner they were around, which means they had to work from approx. 6.00 am till 10.00 p.m. (16 hours a day)!! From my point of view this can be considered as absolutely leverage of the local people!! Especially because they (from what I heard), get only paid for 8 hours a day.
This made my stay a bit acrimonious as I couldn't enjoy my stay anymore knowing these people had to work for so long every day. The owner should absolutely take more sustainable aspects into account when it comes to the local staff but also when it comes to the environmental aspects like turning off the airconditioning when leaving the rooms and turn of the lights.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DesaDuniaBeda, Propriétaire at Desa Dunia Beda Beach Resort (Gili Trawangan - Lombok), responded to this review, December 10, 2011
Dear Martine,

Thank you for your comment about our resort and staying with us. Dont worry about the staff and them working time. They have of course break time during the day. You may saw them all the time for the simple reason that they are living / staying in the resort as well. They have a staff mess in the back and we work with rolling schedule not shift time. This is why you will see the same face early in the morning and late at night but dont worry they dont work 16 hours a day..... and of course they also have day off when they go back to them house / family in Lombok.


Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    68
    11
    1
    8
See reviews for
40
149
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

Spent 2 nights of honeymoon here. Staff lovely people, Javanese hut exquisite and authentic, outdoor bathroom rustic and bracing (cold salt water shower makes you feel manly) Cross the road to Desa beach terrace and drink Bingtang beer whilst reading and taking in the beautiful scene. Borrow Desa snorkels and float around the natural coral reef. We swam with a turtle for 20 mins. Just beautiful. We will definitely return one day.

Mr & Mrs James Lucas

Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

I stayed in August 2011 beautiful site and bungalows in a quiet, nice pool and decoration of the rooms, I particularly liked the comfortable rooms, truly another world
with scenery that goes with it, I recommend to all!
I also recommend the room number 2 (family house) or joglos 8,9,10 (beach front)
Besides, the dishes are particularly excellent,
I sign for next year!

Room Tip: the room number 2 (family house) or joglos 8,9,10 (beach front)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yogyakarta, Indonesia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

Recently returned to Jogjakarta from my vacation in Gili. Spent 3 (end of September-Oct) days on Gili memorable by staying in the village of Desa Dunia Beda (DDB).
Nuance, atmospherenya like to bring me back a few years ago. In a quiet location, not many people around and the voices of nature, away from the bustle of activity makes us really feel real relaxed. Joglo rooms with traditional Javanese nuance with its beach front view really made us feel like sleeping at our own place at home.

Snorkling spot to see turtle just in front of the hotel.

The hotel staff... they were outstanding friendly and helpful. They made us feel so welcome in Gili.
For the room rate I believe every person in assessing the views of comfort and satisfaction different from each other. For me comfort and peace during the holidays is everything.

For you who do not like the nature, with a quiet environment and relaxed of nature atmosphere this hotel is not for you. But otherwise if you like quiet, comfortable, relaxed ambience and atmosphere of nature around this hotel is the best for you!

People says you can't buy happiness...but you can book room and buy ticket to get a flight here and get those comfort. For me myself, here i get my happy time and release from hectic activity from our routines.

Will back to Gili and stay at this hotel again!

Room Tip: I stay in Kampung Villa at DDB and still can hear the sound of waves even it located in middle of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali, Indonesia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

we stayed in the family joglo,big and comfortable room, love the kampung looks of the joglo, fantastic pool kids loving it. my fav spot is the beach deck...perfect place to get some tan in the morning, romantic place in the evening .... staff are friendly and very helpfull especially when you travel with kids under 5 years....going around the island with cidomo kids love it! definately we will stay there again for next trip to gili T....!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

I think it's the kind of place that you love or you don't. In our case it was not a great experience.

First the room is very dark and the air con was not working well. At 2:00am, it was still 32 celcius. Clean room tho.

The site is the Farthest one from the village which cause a long walk for dinner as the food at the hotel is not very good. It's also difficult to swim in front of the hotel because of the rocks. That would not matter if the pool was ok but not the case. It was greenish and we could not even see the bottom.

The site would need serious revamp as the pool and beach chairs have seen their best days. We are far from the picture on the site. On the good side, Yan the manager is a star.

Horse ride from the boat is 100 000rp per way just so you know.

We met some Belgian who loved the pllace so you may like this place but in our case, it was a big no.

For the price, I think Kokomo, Eco villas among other are better choices.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Java, Indonesia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

we spend 2 weeks a this hotel ... the location is perfectly quiet save and healty for familly .... location in front of the beach amazing sunset ..... take a diner on the beach ...the room we call JOGLO traditional javanesse house ..... confortable , quit far from other room .....

using bicycle to go arround island real discovery for the kids ......

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Desa Dunia Beda Beach Resort (Gili Trawangan - Lombok)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desa Dunia Beda Beach Resort (Gili Trawangan - Lombok)

Address: Desa Dunia Beda, West Nusa Tenggara, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Gili Islands > Gili Trawangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Gili Trawangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Desa Dunia Beda Beach Resort (Gili Trawangan - Lombok) 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The most quiet resort on Gili Trawangan.We are on the north part of the island and we have the longest private beach (170 mtr). You will enjoy it having a romantic time on our deck facing the indian ocean.With only twelve villa on our fifteen square meter property your privacy will be respected at any time.#################Honeymoon Package#################3 Nights/ 4 Days Package:=========================USD 885 nett (including airport transfer)USD 895 nett (including fast boat transfer)Inclusive:==========3 Nights accommodation at Javanese JOGLO Villa.Daily breakfast for two persons.Welcome drink and fruit on arrival.Return transfer from Lombok International airport or return fast boat transfer from Bali..3x Romantic dinner for 2 persons.2x Lunch for 2 persons.1x around the island trip by Cidomo(horse cart).1x snorkeling trip by private glass bottom boat including lunch box.2 Nights/ 3 Days Package:=========================USD 685 nett (including airport transfer)USD 695 nett (including fast boat transfer)Inclusive:========== 2 Nights accommodation at Javanese JOGLO Villa.Daily breakfast for two persons.Welcome drink and fruit on arrival.Return transfer from Lombok International Airport or return fast boat transfer from Bali.2x Romantic dinner for 2 persons.1x Lunch for 2 persons.1x around the island trip by Cidomo (horse cart).1x snorkeling trip by private glass bottom boat including lunch box.*High season surcharge of USD 60 is applicable from 15 July to 15 September and 20 December to 15 January. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Desa Dunia Beda Beach Resort (Gili Trawangan - Lombok) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desa Dunia Beda (Gili Trawangan - Lombok) Hotel Gili Trawangan
Desa Dunia Beda Lombok
Desa Dunia Beda Beach Resort (Gili Trawangan - Lombok) Gili Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Desa Dunia Beda Beach Resort (Gili Trawangan - Lombok), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.