We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location - good grounds/resort” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Vila Ombak

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Vila Ombak to your Saves list
Hotel Vila Ombak
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   West Nusa Tenggara 83000, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 21 Hotels in Gili Trawangan
Melbourne Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Good location - good grounds/resort”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

We liked our stay here, but were not blown away or anything. We think given the restraints of island life, it's pretty good. Showers are salt water, which is the way the island runs. No cars or motor bikes is nice. The service here was good, not amazing. Our air con packed it in, so we had some room switching dramas. I think the whole place could be managed and maintained better, but having said that we still loved our stay. I think there are nicer places to stay though.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

899 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    347
    170
    78
    56
See reviews for
128
452
28
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Villa Ombak is the largest resort on Gili Trawangan, the rooms are spacious and clean but does not have desalinated water (all hotels in Gili Trawangan have fresh water), breakfast not great if you arrive after 9 am there's nothing to eat.
Nice hotel but too expensive for what it offers, there are many other places that cost less and offer more.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

My partner, and I stayed at Vila Ombak for 9 nights as we had heard about it's great reputation.
Starting with the positives, the staff, particularly the hospitality staff were pleasant, and very willing to please. Great service from them!
The grounds, and its gardens were beautiful, and it'd be easy to lose your day sitting quietly amongst it.
Location is the best. It is amongst everything you need, but on the quieter end of everything you need. Bonus!
The pool was a lot smaller than what it appeared in the pictures, and it had loads of algae.
The buildings were tired, and run down, and in need of maintenance. Fittings, fixtures, and parts of furniture were rusted. Paint work was cracked, and peeling. Wood, in parts, was rotten.
Both my partner, and I became sick with food poisoning just over midway through our much needed holiday at Vila Ombak. After eating quite safely in regards to our food, and water previously, we come to the conclusion that it was very likely as result of the breakfast. We noted - The timing of when we got sick (at the exact same time, only 5-7 hours after ingestion), -it was the only time we ate the same meal. -Storage of the meal.
We ate muesli, and yogurt. The muesli was pre mixed with milk in a large bowl, which was sat in a tub of ice, along with the yogurt which was sat in a bowl in the same tub of ice. This had sat there for the hours of the buffet each morning, without being changed.
The ice melted quite quickly as the room was warm, and there are lights directly above the muesli, and yogurt. Enough said. Of course, we observed this after the fact.
After 2 days of being very unwell with gastric issues we met with a member of management (we were still sick) mostly to have the problem fixed, and for some sort of acknowledgement of our ordeal. He appeared very diplomatic, and friendly. Although we were merely expecting an apology, it appeared as though he may reimburse us with a meal on them, or with something of similar value. He did state that no one had ever complained of such a thing, we did in turn explain that many westerners were polite, and simply would not come back, along with telling there friends,and family about the experience. Our alternative, we explained, was the far better alternative.
Although we did our best to not let us being sick impact on our holiday, we remained unwell for a further 5 days. We checked out of our hotel without merely an apology. Nothing.
At Vila Ombak we had felt that the positives outweighed the negatives, and as result had planned to return to Vila Ombak yearly, even after our ordeal (had our issue been rectified) Now, we are not so sure...

To the management of Vila Ombak, there's a lesson in this.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights fromt he 31/8/13 to 3/9/13 in a "Superior Lumberg Terrace" Room in the new building. Ask for the "New" building as some of the hotel is older.
Easy check in and welcome drink. We travelled with two other couples and all three rooms were ready early and all next to each other in a lovely quiet part of the resort.
Rooms were a good size, comfy bed, day bed both inside and on the covered terrace. All mod cons available which surprised me due to the isolation of the Gili Islands. Every thing has to be bought to the islands by small boats, and then moved around the island on small horse drawn carts. Even fresh water has to be bought over. I think a lot of people forget this side of things when rating this hotel or any hotel on the island for that matter.
The Room Attendants did a great job of servicing our room.

The grounds were well maintained and beautiful.

We only ventured into the smaller pool which was lovely and shady complete with a swim up bar. The pool and surrounds was always clean and the bar staff friendly. Good priced cocktails and drinks.

Staff all friendly.

Resort in a great position at the end of the busy strip. Only a short walk to anything you may need.

The only downside for me was the salt water shower, but there was a huge barrel of fresh water with coconut ladle to rinse with.

I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the New Building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pucon, Chile
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for 6 nights for our honeymoon. As soon as we arrived we got upgraded and the room had been beautifully decorated outside with flowers for us. The attention to detail was fantastic. This place was the highlight of our honeymoon. The hotel, the island, the people were all amazing. We thought the staff were fantastic, attentive but not obtrusive. The breakfast was delicious. Fair enough it may have seemed a bit chaotic but that added to the character of the place. It was great to have the hustle and bustle as there is nothing worse than eating breakfast in a silent room. The food on the nighttime was the best on the island.
All in All we would come back here anyday. Thank you to all the wonderful staff who work day in and day out just to ensure the guests who stay here have a fantastic time.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford Hertfordshire UK
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

I have given this an average because it falls below very good in some ways. It was certainly an experience as we lived in a traditional indonesian style house. To be fair an upgrade could have been on offer but initially we thought it would be an exciting experience and to be fair it was. However!!! The outside bathroom had the worst toilet I have encountered in a "hotel" -and its Indonesia so insects were a constant! Ants and cockroaches so not for the fainthearted. Also there was a rule of no food or drink bought in from outside and the staff were watchful so i felt although I had bought a holiday there were some rules to be obeyed! I would agree that the gardens are lovely and also that the pool area is run down but the island is beautiful the staff at breakfast friendly and the food very nice!

Room Tip: Dont go for the basic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford Hertfordshire UK
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Ssecond time at the Santrian and thought it even better than before! Staff friendly and helpful. The facilities are very good and kept in good order! It is a peaceful oasis with busy Sanur right outside the magnificent entrance! The breakfast buffet is really good! For anyone looking for a hotel in sanur this place I recommend!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Vila Ombak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vila Ombak

Address: West Nusa Tenggara 83000, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Gili Islands > Gili Trawangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Gili Trawangan
#6 Luxury Hotel in Gili Trawangan
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Gili Trawangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Vila Ombak 4*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Vila Ombak, the first international hotel on the magical island of Gili Trawangan, is a place that balances the comforts of first class accommodation with the natural beauty that surrounds.The Hotel Vila Ombak features the traditional building style of Lombok, and its neighboring islands, to blend harmoniously with the island's landscape.Hotel Vila Ombak is the winner of World Travel Awards as the Indonesia's Leading Hotel 2012, Indonesia Travel & Tourism Awards as Indonesia Leading Island Resort - Lombok 2013, and World Luxury Hotel Awards 2013 as the Indonesia Leading Hotel 2013. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Vila Ombak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila Ombak Hotel
Vila Ombak Gili Trawangan
Hotel Vila Ombak Gili Islands/Gili Trawangan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Vila Ombak, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.