We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and convenient” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Vila Ombak

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Vila Ombak to your Saves list
Hotel Vila Ombak
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   West Nusa Tenggara 83000, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 21 Hotels in Gili Trawangan
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Comfortable and convenient”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Vila Ombak must be one of the first, if not the first, higher end hotels on the island. As a result, operations run smoothly in its own island-like pace. I stayed at the huts which for a bit of extra cost seemed to me much nicer than the general rooms. I loved the outdoor showers, the generous morning buffet, the beautiful gardens. A great asset is also the central location of the hotel but at the same time, the place is quite well shielded from the party noise down the street.

For those who appreciate quality food, Pearl Lounge next door to the right is highly recommended. The Pearl Lounge also has its own pool which is much better and fresher than the main one of the hotel.

Also, if you would like to do some diving, I'd recommend the dive shop of the hotel as it has well-maintained equipment and safety conscious staff. The prices are the same across the island but the offering of some other dive shops on the island are really bad.

Well-heeled travellers will spot some flaws with Vila Ombak here and there but I do not consider it material so will leave it to someone else to make a comment.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

899 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    347
    170
    78
    56
See reviews for
128
452
28
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
105 hotel reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
257 helpful votes 257 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

I loved this hotel , i got upgraded to a room with its own pool ! Needless to say it was fantastic , the staff are so friendly and cant do enough for you and jn 3 months i think they win the prize for the best breakfast ! I also did 9 dives with the hotel dive centre who were excellent ! I loved gilii trawengan and this hotel , could have spent a month there ! Totally recommend!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Booked a room here through Agoda. A deluxe luxury bungalow! $200US per night including 20%tax. The pictures shown on Agoda indicated the bungalow was situated so that we had views of the sea and that it had 4 rooms. On arrival it took 25min to check in. We were then guided atleast 70m to the rear of the property, guided up the external stairs to the balcony which was sun drenched to the extent you could have fried eggs on it, with no umbrella or awning for shade. The room inside was dated (15yrs) and certainly not worth $200 per night. And only a standard size room with bathroom, Not 4 rooms. We were moved to a new section of the hotel, 30m from the beach and close to a pool. Checking out took another 25min. Staff were pleasant. My tip: You can get better quality and value on the Island for around $70-$80US per night.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glady L, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Vila Ombak, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear Valuable Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your review regarding your stay with us. We are certainly disappointed that your stay was not at all that it could have been.
We would like to apologize on behalf of the Hotel and its team for your stay if unpleasant.

We have examined your reservation accordingly and we have learned your room reservation voucher was for our Superior Terrace instead of a Deluxe Luxury Bungalow. On Agoda, the rate of USD 200 was the non discounted rate. Above this rate you could find our 40% discounted rate of the Superior Terrace. Many of our guests have chosen and enjoyed the discounted rate. Just to let you know we have been having a 40% off promo since January until 30th of June 2013.

We have submitted our request to change the Superior Terrace room description to Agoda since it might be confusing and causing misunderstanding about the 4 room complex. However we could not find the pictures indicating Superior Terrace was situated with sea view. We found it written that the room is Garden view which is accurate.

Our standard procedure for checking in and checking out should be less than 10 minutes. We will bring your highlight regarding this into our board meeting to make sure the check in/checkout procedure is well maintained.

We thank you for mentioning our staff was being pleasant. We always welcome guest’s feedback as they keep us motivated. Please feel free to contact us directly if you would like to make any suggestions to help us improve our service. We would appreciate any further feedback that you may have.

Should you be planning to visit Gili Trawangan again, it will be a pleasant chance for us to be able to show you how we might have improved and all based on guest’s generous feedback. Wish you have a better experience next time.

Regards,
On Behalf of Hotel Vila Ombak Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

This is my 1st time came to trawangan and stay in villa ombak. Im very satisfied with services, when i departed in lombok airport until daparted villa ombak port is full good service. Mr rully is nice man as personal in charge villa ombak, he is very know how to be make satisfy their customer and with he cool's hand i think all customer will be back again and again to villa ombak..ones again i would like to say for villa ombak " outstanding services "
I'll be back soon and will call first mr rully to arrange since he know how to make cust happy.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Just got back from my honeymoon vacation in Vila Ombak, Gili Trawangan (March 23-25, 2013). The room is clean and comfortable as I expected. They even gave me sweet gifts such as: a couple of traditional umbrellas in front of my room, honeymoon cake, fruits and a heart made from red flowers laid at my bed cover, hahaha!
The breakfast menu is average, compare to the other hotels in the same class in Jakarta or other cities in Indonesia
Swimming pool, a lot of free hammock hanging in big trees for me to lay down (it was soo good!) and quiet surroundings is so perfect for holiday
Thx Vila Ombak, you made my honeymoon felt so good!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glady L, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Vila Ombak, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear Valuable Guest,

Thank you for writing and sharing your experience with us. We are glad to know your honeymoon holiday went so well.

Honeymooners and young couples are always our favorite guests and we have been receiving many great stories of the unforgettable moments while staying with us. We arrange unique and special decorations for our honeymooners as complimentary and courtesy from our Hotel Vila Ombak. Also for the couples we have a special package with many good value inclusions to enhance the special occasion.

We work hard to increase better quality to our breakfast buffet. Through your kind feedback we will continue to improving our service and facilities.

Please feel free to contact us directly should you plan your next visit to Gili Trawangan and we will take good care of your inquiries.

Regards,
On Behalf of Hotel Vila Ombak Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

I am surprised with the negative reviews: we loved this hotel. Yes, it is pricey for Bali standards, but we love the Balinese flavour and quietness of it. The location is ideal, too: far enough from the busy market, but close enough to get to the the action on foot. We loved the beach-front restaurant/bar and the waterfront loungers. Contrary to other reviews, we found the service to be excellent. However, we had booked 3 nights through Agoda and had to change it to 2 nights and were disappointed that the hotel could not reimburse our last night (they upgraded our room to make up for it.) I did not like the salty pool and showers, but understandable considering it's a small island. The breakfast was outstanding and I was happy that it was included in the price. The air conditioner in our first room stopped working in the middle of the night but they switched rooms for us the next day. The manager, Imam, is a lovely man and very accommodating. We would definitely return.

Room Tip: Ask for a room close to the front of the hotel to avoid a long, hot walk back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandung, Indonesia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

this is my first time come to Lombok and stay at Hotel Ombak.....i'm very satisfied with the service. Many thanks to Pak Rully, who arranged us to have a pleasant honeymoon at Lombok.......if i have a chance to come again to Lombok, i will certainly contact Pak Rully.......Thank you so much......

Room Tip: the bathroom is unique
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Vila Ombak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vila Ombak

Address: West Nusa Tenggara 83000, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Gili Islands > Gili Trawangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Gili Trawangan
#6 Luxury Hotel in Gili Trawangan
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Gili Trawangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Vila Ombak 4*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Vila Ombak, the first international hotel on the magical island of Gili Trawangan, is a place that balances the comforts of first class accommodation with the natural beauty that surrounds.The Hotel Vila Ombak features the traditional building style of Lombok, and its neighboring islands, to blend harmoniously with the island's landscape.Hotel Vila Ombak is the winner of World Travel Awards as the Indonesia's Leading Hotel 2012, Indonesia Travel & Tourism Awards as Indonesia Leading Island Resort - Lombok 2013, and World Luxury Hotel Awards 2013 as the Indonesia Leading Hotel 2013. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, EasyToBook, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, getaroom.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Vila Ombak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila Ombak Hotel
Vila Ombak Gili Trawangan
Hotel Vila Ombak Gili Islands/Gili Trawangan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Vila Ombak, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.