We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great setting but expensive!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Vila Ombak

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Vila Ombak to your Saves list
Hotel Vila Ombak
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   West Nusa Tenggara 83000, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 21 Hotels in Gili Trawangan
Stamford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great setting but expensive!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We had a room which was fairly big with outside bathroom but the deluxe bungalow was tired, definitely in need of updating. The hair dryer useless and you had to keep all curtains closed as everyone could see in all the time - no privacy. The staff were pleasant enough but initial check in failed to point out our exclusive use of a pool ( this made a big difference for a bit of peace & quiet) for $400 per night incl taxes & other add ons it was not value for money compared with Tanjung Jara in Malaysia or the Maldives. That said the location was good and we did enjoy our stay, breakfast was good but no fresh fruit juices!

Room Tip: If you have deluxe bungalow have an upstairs one for privacy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

898 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    347
    170
    78
    56
See reviews for
128
452
28
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
south west france
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Spent only one night here between Christmas and New Year. The boat trip from Sanur was long and uncomfortable as the fast boat was in dry dock for repairs so by the time we arrived on Gili T at lunchtime we were all pretty tired. Our rooms were not ready and wouldn't be for some time. Found the reception staff pretty offhand. Not a good start. Eventually got into our rooms which were all on one level, large and cool and, in our case, had a king size and a single bed. An outside bathroom with salt water shower which is not very nice...according to a local this is not always the norm on Gili T. During the night there was a typical downpour and the roof line deposited all the rain in the 'flower bed' of the bathroom, which then filled up and lapped muddy water onto the bathroom floor. Strange design! I fail to see the attraction of outside bathrooms given the livestock around these places. There was a comfortable sitting area outside our room but as we were in a little 'street' of cabins facing each other it had a definite holiday camp feel. Breakfast continued this illusion. It was mobbed, with not enough staff, and those who were there were (again) offhand and inefficient. Eventually had to go to the kitchen in person to get a pot of tea. The selection of food on offer seemed pretty comprehensive though.
We stayed at Vila Ombok as it seemed to be the last bed available for a spur of the moment trip to Gili Trawangan during the Christmas holidays but if we ever returned we probably wouldn't stay here as we now know there are places with much more charm.
Did find our trip fascinating, so don't be put off by a poor review of Vila Ombok.

Room Tip: New cabins on the south end of the resort all seemed to be on one level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We booked to stay at Hotel Villa Ombak from 1 Jan to 5 Jan 2013 but ended up staying from 1 Jan 2013 to 3 Jan 2013.
We were booked to stay at Hotel Villa Ombak, which is well located. When we got there, we were told we don’t have a room and moved to Hotel Villa Ombak Sunset, on the opposite, remotest part of the island. With 2 small kids, this was only accessible by horse cart, at $10 per trip!
When we arrived at Hotel Villa Ombak Sunset we had to wait for a room. We were then put into a small room, full of insects and bed bugs. Every room has a huge can of insect killer! There is no fresh water on the island, so you bath in salt water. Service is also almost not existent!
The pool was fine and but the beach had lots of coral and was not at all well maintained.
The restaurant was terrible and if you went late had no food!
The Gili Islands are completely overrated. They are dirty, not merely rustic. The beaches are terrible (and dirty), with the coral making it unswimmable. I honestly cannot see the attraction of this island.
I would certainly not recommend the Hotel Villa Ombak or Hotel Villa Ombak Sunset.
When we tried to shorten our booking, management were not helpful. I eventually got the Shangri La in Jakarta to change my flights, now that was service!
The hotel is 2-3 hours from Lombok airport. 1.5hours by car and 20 mins by speedboat. The transfers were fun!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

My Girlfriend & I went to Gilli Island for a Scuba Diving trip without much expectation and we were pleasantly surprised with the whole trip. I though the Hotel Staffs, even though didn’t have great English were really nice and helpful. The scuba diving centre was awesome and so cheap. Best Value for money and they make sure that they take you to different spots each time. I had a total of 13 Dives there and they were absolutely fantastic.
We stayed in the deluxe Villa and I thought the room were great, no real complain. There weren’t any fresh water from the tap but quite frankly that didn’t bother us at as there are so many good things about the whole island.
We would certainly go back there!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

I am not a serial holiday complainer and I am loathe to write a bad review for a hotel located on an island where the economy is so/solely reliant on tourism, however my hope is that this review will only disuade your from staying at Villa Ombak rather than visiting the Gilli islands. The hotel tries to present itself as a 4/5 star hotel but it falls a long way short of the mark. We stayed in the "Lombok style" cabins which have the bedroom located upstairs and an open air sofa area downstairs with an outside bathroom at the back. The design is ridiculous on so many fronts, given the number of mosquitos there is no way you would ever want to use the lounge area situated downstairs at the front (I did not see any other guests using this area). The bedroom upstairs makes you feel like you are staying in a loft. There is no storage space and for a couple you end up on each other's toes as the room is so small. The requirement to go outside and down a very narrow and steep flight of stairs to use the toilet is also a strange and an unhelpful design flaw, especially as the mosquitos congregate in damp places so you are quite likely to get bitten if you need the bathroom.

The food was average and the pool needs a revamp. Gilli Trawangan is lovely, Villa

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

The room i stayed was ok, but not too big and it has an outside bathroom with the salt water shower which i don't really like it. They have 2 lovely swimming pools in the hotel. i really like the swimming pools. I think the service at the hotel was a little bit disappointing, some of the man who work there was lazy and unhelpful. The thing i like the most about this hotel is the location, it is located in the heart of Gili Trawangan Island, but the surroundings wasn't too busy, which i like it. i would totally come back to Gili but i don't think i will stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

This place is overpriced (we paid roughly the same for a huge private villa with our own pool in Seminyak), service generally very poor with staff unknowledgeable and poor English.

Rooms are small resembling an attic, all taps dispense salt water and we had regular power outages during our stay.

Location is on the main 'street', but we found this area had a bad vibe (in our opinion) with poorly maintained roads, hectic traffic at times including horse carts and bicycles tearing through the often flooded streets, local hecklers pushing drugs and vacant backpackers recovering from the night-before.

Luckily discovered Ombak Sunset (the sister hotel) while bicycling on the other side of the island and were able to transfer across. Totally different experience there with very friendly staff, beautiful spacious accommodation and more secluded beaches. 15 minutes to town by cart but worth it in my view.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Vila Ombak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vila Ombak

Address: West Nusa Tenggara 83000, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Gili Islands > Gili Trawangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Gili Trawangan
#6 Luxury Hotel in Gili Trawangan
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Gili Trawangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Vila Ombak 4*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Vila Ombak, the first international hotel on the magical island of Gili Trawangan, is a place that balances the comforts of first class accommodation with the natural beauty that surrounds.The Hotel Vila Ombak features the traditional building style of Lombok, and its neighboring islands, to blend harmoniously with the island's landscape.Hotel Vila Ombak is the winner of World Travel Awards as the Indonesia's Leading Hotel 2012, Indonesia Travel & Tourism Awards as Indonesia Leading Island Resort - Lombok 2013, and World Luxury Hotel Awards 2013 as the Indonesia Leading Hotel 2013. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Hotel Vila Ombak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila Ombak Hotel
Vila Ombak Gili Trawangan
Hotel Vila Ombak Gili Islands/Gili Trawangan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Vila Ombak, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.