We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We had a great week on a great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Vila Ombak

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Vila Ombak to your Saves list
Hotel Vila Ombak
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   West Nusa Tenggara 83000, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 21 Hotels in Gili Trawangan
Malmo, Sweden
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“We had a great week on a great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

There is another great pool build on the north side of the resort, It was always very clean and non-crowded - it is not especially child friendly either, so it was perfect for us parents who were chilling out or more on a romantic mood.

The main pool is a outdated, the bar is too small and very slow, even the water was a bit milky one of the days.

We had two bungalows: one beach bungalow and one family bungalow. The beach bungalow is really nice. The view from the room is directly to the beach, it was great to see the sea as the first thing when opening eyes in the morning. From the back side bathroom there was a beautiful evening view to the park with lanterns in the trees.

The aircon was problematic. In the other bungalow is was too noicy to keep on during the nights, and in the beach bungalow it was just too strong for me. We had it on the warmest temperature, but still I had to sleep with my big tee and woolen socks on - not very tropical! And without it, the humidity and warmth created a feeling of lacking air..

The service was varying. There were a couple of excellent co-workers and they did a fantastic work - but there were also some more ignorant. All in all, they worked long shifts and were a bit tired in many occasions.

My son had got two 50USD notes as a Christmas present, which he kept in his wallet in his backpack - not in the safety box. And during the stay, the other note dissapeared from his wallet. It felt quite nasty, knowing that if it would have been my wallet, it would have gone unnoticed, leaving me wondering that how many local 50.000 notes did I or other guests loose from their rooms. The management took this seriously and we are still in dialogue on this, so I hope they are able to root these incidents away soon.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

899 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    347
    170
    78
    56
See reviews for
128
452
28
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

It's simply awful to write a bad review, which I do loathe. However, the place is "a must stay away from." Just arrived back to to Bali after we spent the day and night from hell on Gilli Island at this resort (reminded me of the song "Hotel California"!) with poor service on every front including when you first check in, a total lack of care and exorbitant prices - $450 AUD for the night for a 1 bedroom villa which was mostly unclean, very small and certainly not worth it considering what you pay in Bali for so much more. The only staff that was friendly and spoke any English, was quickly ushered away from us and told not to assist (he came back later and said "Sorry, my Boss is crazy eh?") so we were pretty much on our own trying to work out how to communicate with staff to find out when our very expensive room would be ready and further how to find the bloody thing in torrential rain, carrying our own bags while staff walked indifferently by watching our dilemma.

Later, my husband did a quick walk around and found a gem of a place next door called "Koko Mo" with significantly lower rates, to the point of almost 50% difference for better, cleaner and more modern rooms and staff that actually spoke English. Shame we didn't look here first for a better experience.

Please don't let this put you off investigating the island, it's really very lovely and we found better pricing and service outside the resort so worth a look see anyway... just stay away from this particular resort and I'm sure you'll enjoy the visit immensely.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

I recently stayed here over the Christmas and New Year period with a friend of mine.
The overall stay was good, as we have stayed a few times in the past, however, the hotel does need some refurbishment and maintenance done, but im not sure this will happen, as they have just built a brand new resort on the Sunset side of the island.

The Deluxe Room we stayed in had EXCELLENT aircon, it work 24/7 non stop and was chilly, just the way i like it.
The room when it was cleaned each day was done well, however, numerous times i had to ring house keeping to deliver fresh towels as they took the towels but never replaced them.

The food in the hotel i would rate as very poor. You can get a lot of great food at better restuarants along the street, try and not eat in the hotel.

We paid $170 each to attend the New Year Gala Dinner. This included, some cocktails at the start of the evening which were pretty weak and then a full on buffet breakfast. However, the cocktails only last about an hour and then you had to start paying for drinks, which were tripple the price of what they usually are! We had a good dinner but wouldn't pay for this buffet again. For that price in indonesia i would expect free drinks all night and food whenever you wanted it. The buffet food was good, but not worth $170 per person. It did include a concert which was on, and an australian DJ, but people could pay $10 to see this so i dont see how the reminaing of the $170 could justify the buffet and a few free cocktails. Lift your game Ombak!

Staff are very friendly and always willing to help. Management are great and always had a smile!

The pool was rather murky and cloudy and didn't seem very clean, but we still had a swim to cool off. I think they need to invest some money in the pool area and swim up bar as it looks very run down.

Overall the stay was good, we had fun and would probably stay here again, mainly because the rooms are comfortable and the aircon works a treat!

Hopefully Vila Ombak can spend some money on the place as Gili T is booming with tourists now!

Room Tip: Try to get a room close to the pool area if possible, as the further down the back of the resort you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

What a terrible place!!!!
This hotel was probably built in the 70's... and it seems management did not care about investing in maintenance.
Service is way below expectations, food quality (breakfast is awful), swimming pool falling appart, no hot shower, in general it is very dirty (bathroom smelling terrible, ashtrays not emptied in the resort, vicinity of the hotel with rubbish everywhere....).
The only thing that was ok was the massage and diving center. Of course Indonesian people working there are very friendly but it is the same everywhere in Indonesia.
There are much better places on the island, for example the Ko-Ko-Mo hotel. It seems the Ombak Sunset is much better too.

Room Tip: do not go there, there are better places on the island
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights during the peak Christmas period so the whole island was busy but the hotel and staff worked quite well. Our room was set back from the main street and quiet but noisy guests in the room above could be a problem. The bathroom was huge but missing basic items like towel hooks or rails. Fresh water is scarce so the salt water shower is understandable. We had no hot shower water but the rinse off is with fresh water from a large container and works best this way. Breakfast was excellent with a good range to suit all tastes and check in/out proficient. New Year preparations intruded on hotel facilities but management made other group hotels on the island available for use - this offer was taken up and appreciated. We recommend this hotel, keeping in mind the limitations of a small island.

Room Tip: Did not see a room we would wouldn't be happy to stay in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

The only good thing about this hotel was checking out. The service is terrible. We never got towels or soap in our room two days in a row. The breakfast is one of the worst I've had. The wifi is only in the lobby area and almost impossible to use. The mattress was very uncomfortable. The shower only has salt water and is very tired looking. You can hear the guests next door in their bathroom. The workers rooms are behind the bathroom and are very noisy. In summary I would never stay here again. There are much better places to stay on the island for far cheaper prices.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

So impressed! Just arrived in Gili Trawagan and couldn't be happier that i found the Villa Ombak. This island is INCREDIBLY beautiful and the hotel is like the maraschino cherry on top. i almost stayed at the Exquisite but am so glad i kept checking out the other hotels in the area because this one is definitely the best. Right on the beach, 2 amazing pools (one for families with kids and the other one perfect for a single traveler like me or for a couple wanting to get away from the noise and simply chill out), very friendly and accommodating staff, beautiful beach bungalow with flat screen tv, DVD player, fridge, outdoor shower, powerful AC unit, etc., and just a general positive feeling vibe to the whole place.

I am writing this after having the first course of my first meal at their restaurant bar on the beach. i first looked at the menu and thought to my self these are inflated hotel prices and that i would find something cheaper if i just walk a few doors down. I did and, while i found the same menu items cheaper at neighbouring places, i noticed that they ALL add 21% service and tax to your bill except at Villa Ombak's where it is already included in the price (strange they would do this because i'm sure many people miss this fact). Anyway, when i calculated it out, i realized that my bill would only be $1.50 more for the three course meal i want to order which is a no-brainer considering it has the most comfortable chairs and it's the only restaurant with these super cozy, rattan, cushion-loaded couches that i decided to move to. Regardless, everywhere you sit in the restaurant you have your feet in pristine white sand...ahhhhh. So far i've had the soto ayam (extra flavourful chicken soup with noodles and other goodies) and am waiting for the kung po chicken and then finishing with the banana split. feeling pretty confident that it's going to be great as well. Also, nice that there's free wifi here at the restaurant which is how i'm able to post this review.

All that said, the best part of my experience so far with this hotel is having met the Asst. director of sales, Jun. He is an absolute pleasure to deal with and truly understands the meaning of quality service. He speaks near perfect english (best of anyone i've met in Bali/Lombok over the last three weeks) and made me feel so comfortable as he dealt with my hard-driving bargaining antics. After negotiating the best price i could with the reception desk i met Jun and started talking about the Toronto Raptors - turns out he is literally a big fan! Then i tried to negotiate an even better price to which he responded very politely and explained that i've already got the lowest price possible - turns out reception called him during my first round of negotiations - however, he then was really kind and lowered the price a little more which made me feel like i truly got the best deal possible. After chatting with him i saw him walk off and pick up some garbage off the ground just outside the lobby...got to love managers that believe no job is too small or beneath them to ensure guests have the best experience possible. in fact, i wish he lived in Toronto so i could hire him to help me run my retirement home.

Kung Po has just arrive so that's it for now. Time to enjoy my meal and then head up to the point to watch the breathtaking sunset.....

If you can, definitely splurge for the Villa Ombak because it is worth every penny!!

SteveG

Room Tip: Beach bungalow 100 was amazing
See more room tips
Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Vila Ombak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vila Ombak

Address: West Nusa Tenggara 83000, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Gili Islands > Gili Trawangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Gili Trawangan
#6 Luxury Hotel in Gili Trawangan
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Gili Trawangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Vila Ombak 4*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Vila Ombak, the first international hotel on the magical island of Gili Trawangan, is a place that balances the comforts of first class accommodation with the natural beauty that surrounds.The Hotel Vila Ombak features the traditional building style of Lombok, and its neighboring islands, to blend harmoniously with the island's landscape.Hotel Vila Ombak is the winner of World Travel Awards as the Indonesia's Leading Hotel 2012, Indonesia Travel & Tourism Awards as Indonesia Leading Island Resort - Lombok 2013, and World Luxury Hotel Awards 2013 as the Indonesia Leading Hotel 2013. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, EasyToBook, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Hotel Vila Ombak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila Ombak Hotel
Vila Ombak Gili Trawangan
Hotel Vila Ombak Gili Islands/Gili Trawangan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Vila Ombak, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.