We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel I've stayed at” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Vila Ombak

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Vila Ombak to your Saves list
Hotel Vila Ombak
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Gili Trawangan Island [Desa Gili Indah] | Lombok, West Nusa Tenggara, West Nusa Tenggara 83000, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Gili Trawangan
Kuta, Indonesia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Best hotel I've stayed at”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012 via mobile

Everything here is so perfect. From the view to the service and the ambiance. The swimming pool is so inviting, and it was a wonderful experience to have your drink while enjoying urself at the jacuzzi.

They also provide fresh water to rinse your body.
The lumbung hut room is so unique and gives u different experience. The garden is also magnificent and the lounger they provide helps u enjoy it. I don't recommend the lumbung hut room to elderly though, as it requires considerable amount of effort to go to the toilet as u need to walk the down small wooden stairs. For me, still it's wonderful experience.

The buffet breakfast is also nice for indonesian hotels standard, and staffs always greet u with smile. Overall it was a nice stay

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

817 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    317
    157
    73
    55
See reviews for
117
416
24
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denpasar, Indonesia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

If you do like happening place, so stay here. You wont be alone, so much places to hang out get some foods and drinks with beautiful view. Highly recommended you woke up and stay awake early in the morning just waiting for awesome sunrise which came out from the sea, amazing! beautiful garden, and friendly staffs. Will be back soon there. Cheers.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuta, Indonesia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

it was a very short break away from hustle and bustle of my work and escape to the beautiful island east part of indonesi's archipelago .

1st night was in villa ombak sunset, the hotel has just opened a few months ago, the location is in west coast of the island where you can enjoy the stunning sunset. the beach is so while and clear. and the ambiance make you feel relax. The villa has 5 star class with excellent services. I am happy if i can return to this resort on my next vacation in this island.

The second day, we move to villa ombak in east coast of this island, and the hotel has 4 star class with excellent services.
I am very sure to recommend both of these hotel as a first option for your accomodation in gili trawangan.

Room Tip: good for honeymoon and family
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

We loved our week at this hotel. It was peaceful and very relaxing.
We loved our lumbung beach cottage. It was so close to the beach, very clean and everything worked!!! Our safety deposit box was repaired immediately when the battery ran out.
The service from staff was always polite and they were always ready to assist in any way they could. The only thing to note was the room was a little dark.
We were able to rent bicycles from the hotel at a very reasonable rate.
The staff made us feel very welcome and we enjoyed top quality service. Thanks to them all!

Room Tip: The beach front rooms are so nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

Stayed here for two nights, April 30- May 2, 2012 in one of the Lumbung Seaside Vilas. It was spectacular. The room was gorgeous, beautifully decorated and the out door bathroom was amazing. We felt we were in heaven! The ool by the villa, and the pools by the main building were just as spectacular as the villa we had (#104).

After reading other reviews on this site on my way to the island, I got concerned about the room and our safety; the step down to the out-door bathroom, slippery floor, bugs and ease of breaking into the room while sleeping. However while getting to the room my concerns vanished: the step was less than an inch (and if that is a concern one need to stay at home. And tile floors are slipper anywhere so just be observant) and there were no mosquitos or other bugs that disturbed. The room could be safely locked from the inside, so we felt safe. The hotel also had security personnel patrolling the premises as well.

When it comes to the issue of water- this is a desolate island and I don't expect freshwater for shower. Salf water is fine and as long as I can rinse off in fresh water. This was available in a big bucket by the shower.

I was on Gili Trawangan 18 years ago and was afraid tourism and the demand for fresh water- which here is a rare resource- would ruing the place. I'm glad to report It did not. But, if you want the comfort of a New York Hotel or a resort on Hawaii, go there instead. Stay home and leave the Gili Islands to the rest of us!

Over all we were truly impressed by the property and we had an amazing time. This was by far the best propertyon the island and we were so happy to be able to enjoy it. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: The ocean front villas are great but there may be too many people passing in front. The Lumgung vill...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sumbawa
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

super disappointing! i have to wait 26 minutes for them to pick up from blue water express fast ferry. latest breakfast at 10:30am but by 09:30 most of the food (beans, fruits) are already running out and no one cares to refill it and no staff asking me for coffee or tea :(. trust me, find another hotel near central area. this ombak hotel is too expensive with lousy service. with over $200/night and you get salt water showers! hahahah what a suck deal.

Room Tip: just don't book here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

My wife and I crossed from Lombok by speed boat after 5 great days at the Sengiggi Sheraton. Fully expected a much more laid back anbd "rustic" and "Indo Island" experience and knew what to expect having come by this way in 1994 by chartered boat on a surfing trip. As a surfer of 40 years have "roughed" it all over in chase of waves, camping on Oz, so we're not 5 star snobs in anyway !

We knew about the salt water showers and refreshing bucket of fresh water to rinse off - that was fine, part of the experience - the outdoor bathroom great also - all part of the experience. Welcome was friendly and helpful. Took us to our beach side villa - view to die for looking over the strait to Lombok and the mountains - private balcony. Headed over for a Bintang and snack - Over at the beachside cafe which services the hotel(magnificent view also) the front of the hotel - there's construction going and in typical Indo style has been for months by the sounds of a few other reviews.

There was a guy there squatting with a hand grinder cutting tiles and stone pretty much all day - fag in one hand, grinder in the other and cancerous silica all over him - you know that high pitched sound when a grinder hits metal or whatever?

Kinda destroyed the ambience a bit. No apology or advice of it when we arrived. But we did see a sign later.

Golden rule of Customer Service !!
Tell Customers what to expect, especially bad stuff and they'll forgive just about every time.

Headed back to the room to chill out on the balcony just before 5pm, expecting the ambience we'd paid for and the hotel promotes itself as an "international" hotel - and there's there's this din of 2 very large concrete mixers going clack,clack,clack !, workers shouting, right behind the villa.

Not too happy about that as even in Indo you'd expect the locals to down tools around sundown . Walked around to reception and asked/complained - to the duty manager - a young guy maybe in his teens or early 20s?

He was very apologetic explained that it was a different to Ombak site behind the hotel and they were pouring a swimming pool with a continuous pour. He said it would definitely shutdown by 6pm - which it did.I thought ah good they've done something.

15 minutes later, clack,clack, clack again - ambience destroyed. went around to complain again and the young manager pretty much explained that he couldn't do anything as they had to finish the pour to late that night, 11pm or so.

He said he'd tell the "big manager" the next day ,and the big manager would speak to construction supervisor. We went out for dinner, by the time we got back at 11pm it was quiet

Dead silence near our room apart from occcasional hammering the next day (the workers were probably sleeping off an 18 hour shift the previous day -but still the incessant tile saw with this one guy near reception and the pool.(why they couldn't put him around the back to cut the tiles is anyone's guess.

And our final day - a bit more hammering and a little bit of clack, clack but tolerable.

Overall the place was really good - seriously - I'd recommend it. But the thing that let it down was simply poor management. The "big manager" never came near us. None of the managers warned anyone of what to expect - but the Ombak was happy to take our money.

Oh and one other thing. Every night around 7pm the power(everything) cuts out - aircon the lot. Sitting there in the dark the first night dark thinking, yeah this is Indo, is the power going to be out for 3 days ? 10 minutes later it comes back on. Same for the next 2 nights. Probably just an island generator switching regime(why at night time ?) - but again the hotel didn't warn guests of this. So simple to open your mouths Ombak managers and offer the kind of service even 3 star hotels offer all over the world.

Room Tip: Find out of there's construction going on anywhere near the hotel before you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Vila Ombak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vila Ombak

Address: Gili Trawangan Island [Desa Gili Indah] | Lombok, West Nusa Tenggara, West Nusa Tenggara 83000, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Gili Islands > Gili Trawangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Gili Trawangan
#4 Luxury Hotel in Gili Trawangan
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Gili Trawangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Vila Ombak 4*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Vila Ombak, the first international hotel on the magical island of Gili Trawangan, is a place that balances the comforts of first class accommodation with the natural beauty that surrounds.The Hotel Vila Ombak features the traditional building style of Lombok, and its neighboring islands, to blend harmoniously with the island's landscape.Hotel Vila Ombak is the winner of World Travel Awards as the Indonesia's Leading Hotel 2012, Indonesia Travel & Tourism Awards as Indonesia Leading Island Resort - Lombok 2013, and World Luxury Hotel Awards 2013 as the Indonesia Leading Hotel 2013. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, HostelWorld, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Vila Ombak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila Ombak Hotel
Vila Ombak Gili Trawangan
Hotel Vila Ombak Gili Islands/Gili Trawangan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Vila Ombak, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.