We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Vila Ombak

Save Saved
You added Hotel Vila Ombak to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Vila Ombak
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Gili Trawangan Island [Desa Gili Indah] | Lombok, West Nusa Tenggara, West Nusa Tenggara 83000, Indonesia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
DIVE
Ranked #13 of 19 hotels in Gili Trawangan
adelaide
1 review
“Fantastic Holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed at Vila Ombak for 4 four days in June.
We had origianlly booked one of the traditional huts but found this to be a bit small and did not enjoy the idea of climbing down the steep ladder to reach the outdoor bathroom and toilet, especially after a few Bintangs.
So we paid a small fee to be upgraded to a deluxe Ombak room which was absolutely beautiful, very spacious with modern furnishings.
Whilst there we completed our PADI open water diving course and can highly recommend the professional and patient diving staff. Also the area around Gili T. has some fabulous dive sites to explore.
All the staff in the hotel were extremely friendly and the breakfast is amazing.
The location is great as it is within walking distance of all the main bars, shops and restaurants. We loved it so much that we will be going back later this year and taking my parents along too.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

661 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    188
    258
    117
    49
    49
See reviews for
95
341
19
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2011 via mobile

This was our first trip to Gili T. Our stay at Villa Ombak was the best part of our vacation in Indonesia. Highly recommended and good value for money if you want a but of luxury.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

We had a couple of nights here and loved it. We wanted a couple of days in amongst the bars to see some of this side of the island, and Villa Ombak was ideal.
We loved:
the pool
the restaurant
the location
the staff
the bar at the pool (happy hours rock)
the dayspa
the beach
the grounds

The rooms were clean and well appointed, the outdoor bathrooms great, and the staff unbelievably helpful. They way they keep the ground so well maintained is amazing. The Restaurant (Sidewalk cafe?) did some great food, and the breakfast was adequate.

I'm under the impression you shouldn't pay rack rate here, that there's room for negotiation or specials. We were looking to extend our stay and they were pretty accomodating but other plans were unchangeable. We booked through a travel agent at a packet price so can't comment on what it cost.

Room Tip: Check options carefully. No Double Storeys!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2011 via mobile

Cleanliness is not the best,chipped plates at the breakfast service literally all of them plus breakfast was not good. We ate out every morning. Rooms are clean but the curtains were very dirty!!!!

Service was great and the people were extremely friendly!!! The staff were ten out of ten!!!!!!!!

The spa is average.

The facilities of the hotel are great. Scuba diving,snorkelling,paddle boarding,banana boat etc plus an out door cinema on the beach!!

We upgraded to the seaside room which was a lot nicer with a private pool,still really dirty curtains though!!!!

Location is the best thing about the hotel ( aside from the friendliness of the staff). Perfect location.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MADAIMADE, Manager at Hotel Vila Ombak, responded to this review, June 12, 2011
Dear ‘shoegirllolo’
My appreciation that you have wasted your time write about us
In fact it means much for us.

The curtains of the room will be the priority – it will be totally over viewed.
Hope that you will spend your next holiday in Gili T with us, I’m promising you that it will be
completely difference.
Breakfast of course also very importance – It will be more control and more attention to them
Do appreciate

Thank you for complimenting the staff – even we still have to upgrade them to be the best ever
Just let me know should you decide to come back

Kind regards | MADA I MADE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2011

Spent five nights in a beach cottage. It’s not really on the beach but it is some of the closest to it there is, if you want a nice pool resort to go with it. Ombak also offers pool villas which also looked nice (shared pool but separate from the main pool area so often empty). The cottage was fine and clean, but could use a loving hand here and there. There is a king size bed at ground level and two thin mattresses at the loft. The ladder is without sides and the ‘railing’ at the end of the loft was very low, so we did not make use of it with the kids (to scare they would get up at night at fall down). The taps/shower is salt water but the hotel offers fresh water in the room to cleanse off. The main street practically ends at Villa Ombak, so all nice restaurants are close by (the Italian next door is GREAT) and so it the local Lucky Seven (7-11). From outside Ombak you can see the sunrise, but for sundowners and surfing you must walk 10 minutes. For the best snorkelling (tons of fish and a few sea turtles!) you must walk 30 minutes OR take a horse carriage (50,000 IDR one way – but early morning you can get it for 30K). (If snorkelling is what you come for I would suggest staying at around Blue Star and Heart bungalows).

Room Tip: Top floor villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2011

The room was unique like Lombok traditional house, made from wood, bamboo and Ilalang/dried grass, the room was small but chic, sophisticated. The bedroom is upstair and living room/bathroom is downstair. The bathroom is outdoor and u hv to pouring from kran to gentong(traditional water pot) and use coconut shell as scoop to take a bath, just traditional way i like it... Wastafel use salt water and accidentally i used it when i brush my teeth, so salty.. lol... food is delicious from local and moderate.. The location is strategic from this corner u take walk to left side and see lots of restaurants, cafe, other villa all beach front.. or just go ahead to the beach in fron of this villa n sit, enjoy the view of Lombok island.. so beautiful.. or go to the right side of this villa with Cidomo(traditional horse transport) for 15mnt you arrive at stage building/open hall to enjoy the sunset here...

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2011

First up let me qualify my rating for 'value' as 4/5 not 5/5 when everything else I rated 5/5 (not something I do very often I must say). We got deluxe rooms (Villa's # 42 & 43) at short notice at an incredibly good price via a friend who owns a lovely property on Lombok. Against the price we paid I'd rate it 5/5 or above! I based the 'value' rating though on the average price I could find at present if I had booked it myself from Australia. It is a little pricey against some other accoms on Gili T hence the 4/5 rating.

Okay... now to the review.

Our intention was to stay in a fan only, clean, budget room for under $30 a night. Given we got an opportunity that was too good to pass up (even though lots more than $30 a night obviously!) we changed plans and checked into the Vila Ombak.

From the moment we arrived by taxi to Teluk Kodek port on Lombok (avoiding Bangsal fortunately) the Vila Ombak took care of us. Immediately onto their waiting speedboat and whisked within 10 minutes to their beachfront restaurant where the nicest tasting 'welcome' drink we've ever been given awaited us (I forgot to ask what it was but may well write to the management to ask as we all thought it was truly delicious). Some ice cold cloths were offered for our brows also (very welcome in the heat). Checkin was a breeze and only took moments then our bags were delivered, with us, to our deluxe rooms.

WOW. WOW. WOW. Massive bedroom with most comfortable king size bed and also a king size day bed come lounger set into the window area. Lots of wardrobe space (and I mean LOTS) and a lovely long writing desk and table area with the TV on it with a welcome platter of fruit and water bottles, etc.

The bathroom is a sight to behold in itself; absolutely massive and has a western toilet, lovely amount of bench space and cupboards around the vanity with massive mirror as well as a shower are you could hold a party in! Seriously, the shower is HUGE. This is all set amongst a small indoor/outdoor garden setting. Plenty of room to get changed and also put up the clothes horse provided for your wet clothes.

Water is salt water from shower but next to it is a large urn with water dipper and fresh, tepid (almost lukewarm) water from a tap. We found this no hardship at all and actually liked that Vila Ombak is conserving the precious little fresh water available to the island. To wash my hair I'd use the salt water shower and shampoo, then dump the lukewarm fresh water over to rinse, then conditioner and again more fresh water to rinse the conditioner out. Worked fine and only took a few extra moments.

All amenities are provided in the bathroom including hairdryer etc.

Gardens are beautiful with lots of Balinese style gazebo's with cushions to relax in, as well as hammocks tied under beautiful old trees, etc. No shortage of shade or a quiet, romantic spot to take a breather.

Towels supplied down by pool for usage there so no need to cart back and forward to your rooms.

Pool bar and swim up bar was great in the terrific pool. The pool bartender made me the best fresh strawberry juices (crushed strawberries and crushed ice) of my entire month long trip across Malaysia, Singapore and Indonesia. He told me he would make me the 'best one ever' and I told him that would be difficult as I've had some good ones... but true to his word it was perfection! He also makes lovely cocktails and serves ice cold beer (reasonably priced come 2 for 1 happy hour)! :)

Other guests were wide ranging; younger set coming in groups, a few families, some diver types, many couples in the mid 30's to mid 50's type set. It seemed to cater well for everyone.

Hubby dived with Ombak Divers and loved them. Even though he has seen better coral and fish elsewhere he particularly commented on one of the dives as being sensational due to the relaxing and professional nature of the dive master. Hubby is a rescue diver so no novice but he was really impressed with all the staff at this dive centre. He also enjoyed floating along in the current with a whole bunch of turtles that were checking him out.

My friends who snorkeled off the beach also saw turtles snorkeling and were rapt (I was too busy drinking strawberry juices in the pool to bother with the beach).

Breakfast was fantastic; equal to many we have had in 4 or 5 class accoms around the world (although for the BEST BREAKFAST EVER you need to check out the W Bali Resort & Spa at Seminyak - now that is INCREDIBLE and the best we've ever had). But that is a different story and for a different review. Suffice to say, the breakfasts at Ombak include a buffet, in effect, of hot, cold, western and local foods with eggs cooked any way you like to order.

Location is good; southern end of Gili T and 2 doors up is the absolutely fantastic food of The Beach House (Scallywags was nice too but we couldn't fault The Beach House for both food, cocktails and ambience). It is only a few min walk to Ko Ko Mo if you want to eat in a fine dining establishment (one of best on the island and very romantic) or a few more minutes walk see's you at the Sunset Bar at sunset point for a sate and beer on the beach.

Also we had free wifi internet; just ask at the travel desk and they give you the daily password. Too easy.

All in all - a fantastic stay for 3 nights and wish we had stayed longer but Ubud was also calling our name! Would we stay again - YOU BET. Absolutely. We will be back Vila Ombak.

Room Tip: Our deluxe rooms (#42 & 43) were faultless!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Vila Ombak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vila Ombak

Address: Gili Trawangan Island [Desa Gili Indah] | Lombok, West Nusa Tenggara, West Nusa Tenggara 83000, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Gili Islands > Gili Trawangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Gili Trawangan
#3 Luxury Hotel in Gili Trawangan
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Gili Trawangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Vila Ombak 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Vila Ombak, the first international hotel on the magical island of Gili Trawangan, is a place that balances the comforts of first class accommodation with the natural beauty that surrounds.The Hotel Vila Ombak features the traditional building style of Lombok, and its neighboring islands, to blend harmoniously with the island's landscape.Hotel Vila Ombak is the winner of World Travel Awards as the Indonesia's Leading Hotel 2012, Indonesia Travel & Tourism Awards as Indonesia Leading Island Resort - Lombok 2013, and World Luxury Hotel Awards 2013 as the Indonesia Leading Hotel 2013. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Expedia, HostelWorld, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hotel Vila Ombak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila Ombak Hotel
Vila Ombak Gili Trawangan
Hotel Vila Ombak Gili Islands/Gili Trawangan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Vila Ombak, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.