We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic little resort on Gili Trawangan” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oceano Jambuluwuk Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Oceano Jambuluwuk Resort to your Saves list
Oceano Jambuluwuk Resort
North Gili Trawangan, West Nusa Tenggara 85532, Indonesia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
OCEANO GETAWAY PACKAGE
Ranked #36 of 101 Gili Trawangan B&B and Inns
Tamworth, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A fantastic little resort on Gili Trawangan”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

We were over the moon with this hotel and couldn't really find a way to fault it!

I know a lot of the reviews question the 5* nature of this hotel, but when you get on Gili T you will realise that 5* on an island without cars is different to your standard 5* resort. For Gili T this place is 5 stars.

Staff - The staff were awesome! No other word for it. I got the feeling that, being October, it would have been their quieter period but at the same time they did everything really well. We were greeted on arrival, the room was cleaned fantastically, the bar staff were always helpful and the general staff around the resort were always cheerful and helpful!
**A special mention has to go to SOPIANDI (sof) who really made the trip for us! It was such a little thing but he asked for our names on the first morning we were there and we were greeted every time after with "Hello Miss Cat and Mr Dan!" Following this he was always happy to help and it was quite sad to say goodbye to him when we left! (Thanks Sopiandi if you're reading this!)**

Room - We stayed in a lovely hut/lodge (picture attached) and had no problems. The air con was brilliant. Room was large and clean. Good sized bed with clean linen. bathroom was clean with good facilities. Free water was provided every day which was an added bonus.

Food - We ate at the resort for all our meals and had no complaints. The breakfast was a good variety (same sort of items cropped up during our stay in Indonesia) and the food was well covered. Meals were cheap and tasty with plenty of variety. Best thing were the milkshakes which were really cheap but fantastic. We pretty much lived off these for our short stay!

Resort - Grounds were lovely and well maintained. There were animal statues dotted all around which were a nice touch, random but looked good. The ship by the pool looked great. The pools were of a small to medium size with salt water and were always clean. There were plenty of loungers around the pool and there were towels provided. The beach in that area had a lot of coral embedded and the waters were very shallow so I would definitely pack diving shoes and maybe look for somewhere else to dive if you are interested in that. The beach part of the resort had bean bags and loungers to use and also had shaded huts if you wanted to stay out of the sun. The breakfast area and beach bar were very nice and cleaned regularly.

All in all this was a fantastic resort. We had a walk up and down the stretch of the island we were on (North) and it looked to us like we had picked the best resort. Leading up to the North of the island all the other hotels were really dive shops etc. We would stay here again!

**One thing to mention is the horse ride to the hotel. The path does take you through the central part of the island past homes and back gardens and it does look like you are staying on a dodgy bit of the island but when you emerge on the North beach you know your stay is going to be awesome!**

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    44
    29
    8
    5
See reviews for
14
34
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

We stayed at the gili for 3 nights. This resort was about 30 minutes walk from the main street though I enjoy the walk but not recommended for family bringing stroller or elderly as we can only used a horse cart at the island. If I can rechoose the hotel I will choose somewhere closer since we stayed with my grandma. The food was average and it's hard to find nice restaurants nearby the hotel. The room and the breakfast were like a 3 star hotel though they give an extra bed without extra charge or without asking. It seemed all the rooms were for 3 people. The staffs were helpful. We can borrow umbrellas and when we had problems with the sink they come right away. I also don't recommend this hotel for honeymooners because it didn't have any private areas. Just gardens, villas that all nearby and pool that stands up front. But for people who want to be away from the bustling crowd of the main road this is the hotel. Since the island doesn't have many attractions and services,only handful of small spas,boat services,diving, Just stay 3 nights top.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We stayed at the Oceano Jambuluwuk after our friends stayed there for a few days a month before us. We chose it because it's far away from the club area. The location turned out to be both its biggest strength and weakness. It's really quiet and isolated, but you're likely to need to take the horse carts (which is not the most humane way to travel) if you need to go anywhere on Gili T. Biking takes about 25 minutes and walking takes about 40 minutes.

The staff were very nice and helpful, but as previous traveler pointed out, lack experience. The room (although really big) and facility are also not what you'd expect from a 5-star resort. The door of our room didn't lock and they couldn't fix it for the 4 days we stayed there.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

This resort is on the quieter side of the island which appealed to me as this was the about relaxation. Yes this resort is advertised as 5 star but I think you would be challenged to find anything on Gili T which is 5 star, we got a great deal on Agoda. Our family loved the pool, the snorkeling directly off the beach (yes we saw turtles) and we enjoyed the breakfast selection. The family room was spacious and clean and the staff were particularly courteous (special mention - Ibra). The sunsets were another fantastic bonus of this location. It was a short pony ride to town (about 10 mins) and cost about $7. We often walked which took about 30 minutes, paddling along the way. I really enjoyed my time here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barcelona
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

I would give to this hotel 3 stars- and that would be far too much; yes, it's in the beach, but a beach you wouldn't want to get into unless you want to cut your feet (it's full of coral fragments). The breakfast is very simple, the variety is non existent and for example, the croissants weren't remotely fresh. I sent a mail telling them we were on honeymoon, and they gave us a room with a stained towel and an obtructed water basin that filled up with water anytime you used it. The towel rack fell down at the 1st day, but at least they did repair it (in our last day). Btheetter go to a hotel near the harbour, unless you preffer tranquility, 'cause you'll have to walk like 30min to go to were the action is.

Room Tip: The best rooms, the ones in the sea front, or at least overlooking the swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

There must be something wrong with me, but I think this hotel is an absolute joke.

Beachfront, but on the worst part of the beach. Only good for snorkelling.

The worst breakfast ever.

They call them self 5 star hotel, charge $5 for a bike in case other simple properties in the better and accessible part of island charge only $2.5.

The access to the hotel is nightmare.

I would not spend more time writing about this hotel, as I already spent 6 days of my holiday trying to find anything good about this property.


  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tongeren, Limburg, Belgium
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

very good, far enough from the busy "strip", nice coral just off the beach, excellent diving schools nearby. The rooms are big and nice, even the cheaper ones in the back. just like a postcard.............

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oceano Jambuluwuk Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceano Jambuluwuk Resort

Address: North Gili Trawangan, West Nusa Tenggara 85532, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Gili Islands > Gili Trawangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 101 B&Bs / Inns in Gili Trawangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Resort on Gili Trawangan island with Fresh Water Shower and 5 stars facilities. Located in 100 meters of pristine sand beach, consist of Lumbung House Lombok Style. Tropical swimming pool, beach volleyball, and gazebo. Enjoy nature island of Gili with picturesque view of beach, mountain, sunset and sunrise. Live in non polluted island yet vibrant with nightlife and activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Oceano Jambuluwuk Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oceano Jambuluwuk Resort Gili Islands/Gili Trawangan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oceano Jambuluwuk Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.