We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Danima Restaurant

Danima Restaurant
Jl Pantai Gili Trawangan | Danima Resort, West Nusa Tenggara, Indonesia
+62 878-6087-2506
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $25
Cuisines: Italian, Chowder, Barbecue, Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

If you love
the real Italian cuisine
the beach and the music of the sea as background
excellent service with friendly and professional staff ready to exhaust all your needs
you can not try this restaurant!
I've been here 3 consecutive evenings for dinner and were one better than the other.
The food is delicious homemade cavatelli with jumbo prawns, ravioli stuffed with lobster and much more
Last night we asked to organize our anniversary dinner and we had dinner with lobster and wine ..... UNFORGETTABLE.
Worth noting that Danima is the only restaurant on the island to have aquariums with live fish oysters clams and lobsters.
We will definitely be back and next time we hope to spend all our holiday at Danima Resort and Restaurant

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    32
    14
    8
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mannheim, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Overwhelming”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

Feet in the sand, stars above, food was good ( a bit more pepper here and there), Havana rum finished by us, needs to be refilled. Great Cuba libre cocktails so... Cute and lovely staff. Highly enjoyed our dinner there. Only a turtle laying eggs right in front of our table could have made it more then perfect.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Real pleasure for real home made pasta”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

One of the most enjoyable dinner we experienced on Gili. The food was delicious, the home made pasta amazing!
The owner welcomed us himself, both him and the staff were very attentive and the staff professional.
We enjoyed the pasta so much we had it twice the same evening; )
A worthy experience!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“food does not match the delightful setting”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Was difficult to get a booking probably because of the rave reviews on Tripadvisor. To the north part of the island on a beautiful beach setting which my wife and daughter looked forward to. The waiters were very friendly and attentive although the chef/manager was rather surly. The menu provided was incorrect and a friend of the owners explained what was available. My starter of squid was tough and in a rather bland sauce. My wife had a meet kebab cooked on charcoal. The sauce was ok but most pieces of beef fillet were chewy. My choice of fillet of snapper was raw in the middle which I brought to the waiters attention. The chef's answer was to recook the same piece of fish which had already been seasoned post cooking. Perhaps they just had an off day but on my experience I could not recommend Danima.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best italian restaurant in Indonesia!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

The food was amazing. Eating on the beach created an awesome atmosphere. Cavatelli alla Danima is a most if you go to Gili Trawangan. Never had such good Italian food outside Italy!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Danima Restaurant also viewed

Gili Trawangan, Gili Islands
Gili Trawangan, Gili Islands
 
Gili Trawangan, Gili Islands
Gili Trawangan, Gili Islands
 

Been to Danima Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Danima Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.