We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best food on Gili T” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kafe Kecil & Taman Thai

Kafe Kecil & Taman Thai
Gili Trawanagan, West Nusa Tenggara 85372, Indonesia
+62878-6534-9403
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: Indonesian, Thai
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best food on Gili T”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013 via mobile

Just one street back from the main traffic area is cafe kecil...lovely fresh food cooked consistently well at a great price(no 21% tax here)...music is chilled, staff are friendly with good English and owners Doll and Wayne always cheerful! We eat here very regularly..it's our favourite!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    47
    40
    12
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gili Trawangan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great food and a nice place to hang out.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

.As someone who lives on gili trawangan, Taman thai is one of my favourite venues. I was already a fan of Dolls thai food when she was running a delivery only service, but the new restaraunt really sets her apart now. I'd reccomend the massaman cury.

For the quality of food and size of portions, the value is excelent. The new place is really nice, lots of big sofas and obviously a lot of thought has gone into the music selection, giving an atmosphere that encourages conversation.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malapascua Island, Philippines
2 reviews
“Amazing!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

As it says in the name Kecil this restaurant is a great place to relax have some beer and in my opinion the best food on the island. they serve everything from local Indo food to western and thai. We spent just about every night there for the month and half we were there. The staff is very friendly the main cook Doll will make you just about anything you can think of and she is such an amazing cook. Can't wait to get back there and eat the chicken kiev again

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haarlem, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Allround favorite restaurant on the island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

During my visit on the island, this is the place where I would keep going to. The owner, Doll, cooks a wonderfull variety of food, which doesn't only taste wonderfull, but is affordable too. Her husband Bob is always around to tell you about the island, where to go and where the parties are at. To top it of, the place has got great staff, and it is nice and clean.
There are plenty of tables, and a seating area in the back, with big chillout chairs and there is even a beer garden.
If you're looking for a good and affordable restaurant, this is the place to be.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gili Trawangan, Indonesia
2 reviews
“Great food at the right price :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

I stumbled upon this restaurant a few months ago; and what drew me into the restaurant was the amazing vibe from the staff and customers which were there.
The menu of Thai, Indonesian and western food gives everyone a choice of great food. One of the really great things about the Thai owner 'Doll'; if their is something you like and its not on the menu, she will do her best to accommodation your culinary requirements.

This is defiantly one of the best restaurants to visit on Gili Trawangan.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kafe Kecil & Taman Thai also viewed

Gili Trawangan, Gili Islands
Gili Trawangan, Gili Islands
 
Gili Trawangan, Gili Islands
Gili Trawangan, Gili Islands
 

Been to Kafe Kecil & Taman Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kafe Kecil & Taman Thai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.