We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Exile

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gili Trawangan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Exile
Save
You added The Exile to your Saves list
Western Beach Front | North of Sunset Point, West Nusa Tenggara, Indonesia   |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 101 Gili Trawangan B&B and Inns
Brighton, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Set in a beautiful location right on the beach, the scenery is stunning. Staff are top people and there is always someone around to have a chat with. In the evening you can chill out on the beach watching the sunset and also there is an area with comfy cushions for when the sun gets to much. The rooms are basic but great experience with an outside bathroom. Only negative was that even though there was a fan in the room it was still very hot at night and a fridge would be good to keep the water cool. Overall great experience.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    16
    3
    3
    3
See reviews for
4
27
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
WA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

The Exile is by far the best bar on Gili Trawangan.
It is on a quiet stretch of beach within walking/biking distance of the busy Central area.
The staff are exceptionally helpful and always very friendly.
The food was delicious, I loved the chicken satay sticks but all the options I tried were great.
We had delicious cocktails here sitting on their seats on the beach watching an awesome sunset. Couldn’t ask for more.
We didn’t stay in the cabins this time as we only found this place when we arrived on Gili and had already booked accommodation. Iwan, the owner of The Exile was kind enough to show us around and we are about to book for our next holiday. The cabins are super. Traditional style on stilts with thatched roofs facing the ocean. The rooms have a large bed with mosquito net, fan and private outdoor bathroom.

Room Tip: Ask the manager Iwan or Rajil or contact Sakinah at lombokhomes@gmail,com
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

We have found this place quite randomly when we were tired of looking for an accommodation. Exile had a fantastic set of local-style bungalows in a peaceful area, great bar&kitchen, lounge areas and amazing ocean view. Add amazing mood setting music and you will get a real Gili downshifting experience. Will definitely come back.

Pros: value, amazing staff, peaceful, local, atmosphere, decorations
Cons: beach is great but ocean bed is not sandy and very shallow, so for swimming you may wish to walk 5-10 minutes to another beach

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

If you're on Gili this is the place to be. Far from the busy center with its own paradise beach, little bungalow houses, chillaxed music, and incredibly friendly atmosphere. The best experience ever. If I could, I'd stay there forever. Totally recommended.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

a very quiet place to stay, a lovely service, a great kitchen and a perfect sunset view. this is everything what you want. the exile is not to far away from the center only 5 minutes with the bikecycle and 15 minutes for walking.
enjoy it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I have been travelling to the Gili islands several times, and even if things have become more modern The Exile gives the lucky travellers the authentic Gili feeling!

It has the cosiest bungalows, the nicest view of the sunset and the most helpful staff. The best part is that your are only a short walk/horse-and-carriage away from the bustling nightlife of the east side of the island BUT you still have the advantage of a more private/quiet b&b. Also the bar at the hotel is a nice way to start your evenings. All in all, it is all you want when you seek to experience the Gilies!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

We stopped here for a break on our cycle tour around the island and I am so glad we did. This place is such a paradise. It is away from the busy area of the island but just a 4min bicycle ride away :) It's got really nice clean traditional style accommodation, a great bar and THE best location, along with ambience, for a romantic sunset with that special someone...but, most of all, the staff were so friendly, helpful...just great! The owner, Ewan, very nice guy! If ever you are in Gili Trawangan...you HAVE to visit THE EXILE...you will not regret! I wish we had booked it before we arrived on the island.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Exile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Exile

Address: Western Beach Front | North of Sunset Point, West Nusa Tenggara, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Gili Islands > Gili Trawangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 101 B&Bs / Inns in Gili Trawangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
The Exile Gili Islands/Gili Trawangan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Exile, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.