We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Perfect Base” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ricel Homestay

Ricel Homestay
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Ricel Homestay to your Saves list
Ricel Homestay
West Nusa Tenggara 83352, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 101 Gili Trawangan B&B and Inns
Kerikeri, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The Perfect Base”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We stayed here for 11 days on the recommendation of our son and didn't really know what to expect as our ideas differ markedly at times. Upon arrival we were pleasantly surprised how spacious and modern the room was and it was nice and bright with a good fan and air con. We had been warned about the mosque and cold water showers so we had good earplugs and took a solar shower which the staff very kindly boiled the kettle for on the occasions we got home late and found it cold. The bed was comfortable and we slept well. Breakfast was scrambled egg & toast or banana pancakes (which were very yummy) with tea or coffee. We taught them how to make poached eggs also. The staff were friendly and always willing to help. Location was convenient away from bars but 5 mins to beach. We basically only slept there.

Room Tip: The air con units are quiet and very efficient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    10
    10
    6
    1
See reviews for
1
23
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kerikeri, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

We spent a few nights staying at Ricel, the room we stayed in was fantastic! The nights on Gili T can be unbearably hot which made having air conditioning and fans a complete luxury. The staff were very friendly, helpful and knew everything there is to know about the island. Its a small place but that in my books is a good thing, Will definatley stay there again next time i go back to the Gili's.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surabaya, Indonesia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

chose this homestay because homestay that we booked online suddenly under renovation and by the staff we were showed this homestay. The room was spacious, clean and nice designed, friendly staff, but this homestay located very far from the beach. They served very simple breakfast. For Rp 350k, i think it's a bit overpriced, better choose other place

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Spent a couple of nights in this nice little accommodation, not too far from the beach and main strip. The room was lovely, basic but clean and quiet and quite modern. I had the air con room, bed was great and bathroom really nice.I liked this accommodation because it is Gili Is. style, I didn't come to this Island to go into a hotel that I could be in at home. The breakfast was nice with very friendly staff. It is not big, I think only 4 rooms, and the price was inexpensive. No TV which for me was good.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halmstad, Sweden
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Me and my friend booked this hotel based on all the rewievs on tripadvisor. We didn't want to go to Gili without having some kind of accommodation booked, in case all the hotels would be fully booked already.
As soon as we arrived at Gili everyone tried to make us choose their hotel, endless amounts of rooms to really low prices, and most of them at the beach.
Ricel Homestay was one of the few places that wasn't that close to the beach (for being Gili that is), we paid twice the price compared to the nice hotels we were offered on arrival, the room had a lot of bugs in it and apparantly we had no cleaning service at all. The worst part was the breakfast, that was included. Every morning we had to run around everywhere to try to find the guys working there so we could get some breakfast, and the first day we received a pancake and one piece of toast, this was not possible the other days, then we had to share on pancake and one toast, because the guys serving us refused to give us one toast and one small pancake each.
I have no idea why the people on tripadvisor gave the hotel such good rewievs, because we were only disappointed. You can pay half the price for a place at the beach, that have internet (this one did not), and breakfast can be bought at the beach for really low prices.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oslo
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Behold everything you want and need for your stay in Trawangan. Clean sheets, comfy bed, nice owners, peaceful nights. My boyfriend and I moved from a "luxurious" hotel to stay here. You don´t need fancy paint and bathrobes in the Gilis; What we got at Ricel was no more and no less than the perfect room at a great price, with a great secluded location away from the crowd (yet only a few minutes´ walk), genuine home made morning toast and scrambled eggs, and nice owners!!
Another great thing about Ricel versus some of the hostels on the island is that you don´t feel obligated to eat the often unspeakably disgusting lunches and dinners in their restaurants, made by mushroom-stoned teens.
Owner Rusydie is an awesome dude. You´ll usually find him beachfront at Aquaddiction diving centre where he works as a diving instructor. He´s been diving in the area for 9 years and diving with him is SO much fun!! We are definitely going back.

Room Tip: All rooms look the same. Fan rooms have very powerful fans and aircon rooms have great ACs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

The rooms are clean and basic, with a nice little patio area overlooking the garden where you sit and take breakfast. The rooms are equipped with both fan (super high power) and aircon. It would have been nice to have had warm water for the shower, but certainly not a problem without. In fact all the "fresh water" on the island is brackish, so you soon get used to having a permanently salty feeling. The owners are very friendly and helpful, offering advice on places to visit (on Lombok too) and where to eat etc.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ricel Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ricel Homestay

Address: West Nusa Tenggara 83352, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Gili Islands > Gili Trawangan
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 101 B&Bs / Inns in Gili Trawangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ricel Homestay is family run, laid back and friendly place located about 2 minutes from a lovely beach with top quality snorkeling. You will be 5 minutes from the main restaurants and bars - a great location whether you want to have a laid back retreat or finding the nearest party. Several rooms have been newly built with the others being refurbished at the same time. Fan and air-conditioned rooms are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Ricel Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ricel Homestay Gili Islands/Gili Trawangan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ricel Homestay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.