We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stayed for 2 nights, nice room, nice hammock:), clean..close to everything but not too close” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pesona Indian & Sheesha Restaurant

Pesona Indian & Sheesha Restaurant
Main Strip, West Nusa Tenggara 83352, Indonesia
+62 370 6123 521
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Come for some authentic INDIAN CUISINE & SMOKE SHEESHA.Our specialist chefs prepare the food using the best imported ingredients to delight your taste buds.Wonderful freshly prepared kebabs and breads are cooked in the smoky tandoor and our curries are cooked specially to order- all spiced to your taste. Pesona Resort is the only place on the island where you can indulge in the exotic sheesha pipes.
Jakarta, Jakarta Raya, Indonesia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“stayed for 2 nights, nice room, nice hammock:), clean..close to everything but not too close”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

location and the verandah with hammock, pool is great for lounging around in a hot day..overall great place..price is bit high but it's OK.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

75% Recommend
    38
    35
    13
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Smokin' hot!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We had dinner here and it was excellent. The food was great, the atmosphere relaxing and the sheesha was really nice. I highly recommend the orange and lemon mix. For mains I had the chicken dopiaza and it had a great flavour and although spicy, it wasn't too hot. The Chicken Tikka Masala was delicious too. This place is worth a visit and if i'd been on the island longer we would definitely have gone again.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“lovely indian”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Lovely indian meal. Pakoras nice and spicy. However the bill ended up being pricey, the wine per glass was the most expensive that we encountered during the trip so a couple of glasses added over 135,000 to the bill!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Awesome Indian cuisines & the most fantastic sheesha”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Ambiance: A 5-7 minute walk from Manta Dive, this beach side place nearly resembles the pic on their website. The sitting arrangement is very unique, vibrant & comfortable. Bright colored, soft cushioned, floor mattress with raised & stitched back rest for you to lie down, small square low tables for placing the hookah nd drinks and the sea right in front – perfect setting to relax your muscles after a dive. On the left you have the 2 regular chair & table seating which can accommodate 4 people each. On the right are 2 Huts with thatched roofs, accommodates 4-5 & you can sit with legs either stretched or folded comfortably with cushions around. If you do not wish to sit in the open, they also have a bar side right opposite to this beach side.

Just 2 negative points – (1) many of the ground Cushion Covers were torn, needs replacement and (2) the place is not as spacious as appears from the pic – a small move and you may touch the person beside you.

Food: Authentic Indian dishes are definitely something that I did not expect. The naan (Indian breads) are soft, delicious daal and veggies. The kababs and tikkas with chutney & the XXL size pappadums are a must try! You also have the option of customizing the level of spiciness. The servings are generous and 1 portion can easily serve 4. The food quality is commendable given the far off location of the island. Lassi (sweetened yogurt) is awesome and also available in flavors like pineapple, strawberry & mango.

Sheesha: The only restaurant offering sheesha - settle yourself on the ground cushions in the evening and puff away the flavour of ur choice. The quality of tobacco used is very nice which enhances the flavor. The flavors that we tried were - apple, lemon, cappuccino with milk base & some other that the Pesona Staff suggested. The Cappuccino still remains our best tasted one till date (tried on their request). In Kolkata (India), since hookahs are prepared over coal and not tobacco, we could realise the striking difference in the flavor.

Staff & Service: The staffs were very friendly and will suggest you good options to try out from the menu after understanding your taste. If you have never tried Indian Cuisine before, this is the place to try. The service, at times, was a little slow but nothing to complaint about as we were not in any kind of a hurry.

Surely recommended!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Food, Great Vibe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

We only had four nights to stay in Gili T, and we ended up eating here three times (so much for trying new places haha) - the food is delicious and high quality, the atmosphere is perfect (we especially loved the little private huts down by the water), and the prices are good. I definitely recommend it!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pesona Indian & Sheesha Restaurant also viewed

Gili Trawangan, Gili Islands
Gili Trawangan, Gili Islands
 
Gili Trawangan, Gili Islands
Gili Trawangan, Gili Islands
 

Been to Pesona Indian & Sheesha Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pesona Indian & Sheesha Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.