We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful stay in a lovely place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mango Dive & Bungalow

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gili Trawangan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mango Dive & Bungalow
Save
You added Mango Dive & Bungalow to your Saves list
Jalan Pantai, West Nusa Tenggara 83352, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 103 Gili Trawangan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“wonderful stay in a lovely place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

Upon arriving on Gili trawanagan our boat service called oceanstar express lost our luggage and said they would not return it till the next day. The staff at the Mango dive and Bungalow were very friendly and were always asking if our luggage had arrived yet and were just as hopeful as us that it would be returned safely. The standard bungalows were private and clean and we loved having our breakfast brought to our room in the mornings. Unfortunately the wifi didn't work but we found this was a problem for the rest of the island as well. We only stayed two nights but would love to return and would definitely stay here again! We loved the Mango dive and Bungalow!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    27
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
13
67
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012 via mobile

This is a very lovely place, with nice staff, pretty rooms, good breakfast and nice beach front location. However, I really needed wifi during my stay and could not once in a 5 day period get a single page to load. When mentioned to staff and the owner on various occasions, it was shrugged off and no steps were taken to fix the situation. Also, it's close to the mosque and odds are very good you'll be woken up for the 5 am call to prayer, or more often during Ramadan, which is happening now (something that gili t as the whole does not advertise). That being said, all in all my experience here was good, but would have been much better if the wifi worked as I was told when taking the room.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon, France
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Feedback after 2 weeks stay at Mango Dive & Bungalows.
Mango hotel is 20m from the sea. It is far enough from the crowded side of the island but still at a walking distance from good restaurants and bars. For good local food the Market remains the best place (10min walk)
Lumbung and bungalows are nice, simple and super clean (AC, fan, bathroom,…) exactly match expectations for the price.
What makes certainly the difference at Mango Dive & Bungalows is the people ! The whole crew is very very nice, smiling and always take care of guests. Special thanks to Dive Instructors (Lea & Kai). Highly skilled, super professionals, always take time to share knowledge, experiences and have fun as well !! Dive schedule was managed among divers to avoid going 2 times on the same spot… this tailor made program was very appreciated !! Open Water course was great experience and very successful (thanks Lea).
Mango Dive & Trawangan is an addictive cocktail, highly recommended !

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

The hotel area is one big beautiful garden with lots of flowers. The bungalows have private terraces, where you are served breakfast as well. Breakfast consisted of coffee/tea, toast, pancakes, fruit salad and eggs.
We stayed in one of the lumbungs in the back. The rooms are simple, but nice.
The hotel has a small private part of the beach with chairs you can use.
Also free wifi, a bit slow, but that goes for the rest of the island as well.
The staff is very helpful and always smiling! Would go again!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

We stayed here as a couple and it didn't meet our expectations - we left 1 day early. The lumbung rooms are extremely basic, essentially a shed - not very secure at all. Cold water showers outside, very near the mosque so you are woken early, plus there is a family with children living next door so this also wakes you early. It's basically just a dive shop with some accommodation, so I recommend only staying there if diving. There is no safety deposit box in the room and when we asked to store our passports in one at reception the guy shrugged us off saying they would be fine in the rooms. The breakfast was good although one morning there was no one around to serve us so we had to buy breakfast elsewhere. They also have a very tiny patch of beach where 4 pairs of loungers are, although there is debris surrounding them so we spent time on other beaches paying for loungers. There is no pool but this isn't really required as the sea just outside the bungalows is perfect for swimming/snorkelling

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

Our plan was to stay a couple of nights but we ended staying 5 in a very nice and clean bungalow for a good price (AC, proper bed, clean bathroom, nice garden...)
Ideally situated, Mango Dive is far enough from the over crowded bit of the island but still near enough to get to the good restaurants and bars by foot (the best place to eat at Trawangan is right next to Mango Dive : Blue d'Amare trattoria !)
Georges is The man : very professional, very nice and he took great care of us.
The extra special thing at Mango Dive is indeed the dive : dive instructors are brilliant, equipment is top quality, the boat is beautiful and we had a ball passing our Open Water course with them all. Truely one of the best things I've done in my life !!!
We highly recommend Mango Dive & Bungalows and the staff and we can't wait to come back...
Thank you Georges, Alec and all of you at Mango for making our stay in Trawangan so special !

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Funchal
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

For the first two nights we stayed at a new five-star hotel, Villa-queen. To save on costs and get closer to the dive-sites we checked the other side of the island. The standard bungalows were 450.000RP for a night and received a great value. I also booked 5 dives and got 10% discount for the accomodation as well. Very nice and clean rooms with open bathroom. The dives were well organized and professional (dive instructor's name was Kai). We could use snorkeling equipment for free and hired bikes for 30.000/day/bike. You can enjoy the breakfast on your own terrace.
The mosque is not far and they call for a prayer at 5AM. You might need earplugs if you wan't to sleep well. This is true for most of the hotels on this side, since there are no distances on the island.

Room Tip: I think doesn't matter which bungalow you get. Our standard bungalows were just great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mango Dive & Bungalow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mango Dive & Bungalow

Address: Jalan Pantai, West Nusa Tenggara 83352, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Gili Islands > Gili Trawangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 103 B&Bs / Inns in Gili Trawangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Perfect and charming"! Mango Dive & Bungalow - beach side resort - offers 3 traditional lumbungs and 5 Balinese style influenced bungalows all with AC/Fan, partially open bathroom and fresh water. Liked for its tranquil location at the beach side, friendly team and "breakfast till afternoon", served on your private terrace, surrounded by a beautiful tropical garden, it is the perfect place to stay. While chilling out in your hammock, you can stay connected with your friends via free WIFI. Relax at the beach side with white sandy beaches, crystal clear waters and a stunning underwater world. Our dive resort offers you dive courses from beginner to dive master level. All dive sites are within easy reach and an international, experienced and professional dive team will guide or teach you, in a relaxed, enjoyable and safe diving environment.The right place to stay, to discover and enjoy the magical tropic island Gili Trawangan. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mango Dive And Bungalow
Mango Dive & Bungalow Hotel Gili Trawangan
Mango Dive & Bungalow Gili Islands/Gili Trawangan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mango Dive & Bungalow, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.