We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Towels smelt like cigarettes, Very rude staff” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Mango Dive & Bungalow

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gili Trawangan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mango Dive & Bungalow
Jalan Pantai, West Nusa Tenggara 83352, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 92 Gili Trawangan B&B and Inns
Halifax
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Towels smelt like cigarettes, Very rude staff”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

Mango was recommended to us by a couple in Pemuteran (which is amazing). Unfortunately they did not stay there, just saw it and thought it looked decent. We checked this site and even though there is only a few reviews they are mostly positive so we said let's do it!
During check-in the one guy working Alec sat on his computer and did not look up to greet us except for snide remark about what a waste malaria pills are and how our doctor ripped us off. They wanted a down payment so we handed our visa...oh no machine is broken. I looked at it and it looked fine. So we gave cash on the condition it would work when we checked out...they said ya totally. OK fine

rooms are fine. We paid 50usd approximately per night...which we found out after was pretty expensive compared to other places. AC, no hot water, wi/fi Never Worked anywhere at mango, bed was nice but only single sheet provided, No shampoo, body soap or face cloths provided and only half a role of toilet paper. Pretty weak compared to every other place in that price range. Ended up moving to scallywags and got all that and more.

Breakfast included eggs or a single pancake. It was fine except no juice and the toast was just bread. Don't think they knew the meaning of toast. Coffee was terrible

Beach front is two chairs
wide. Either side is not for mango costumer use and everyone puts their stuff on one of the six chairs provided early in am and then come and go through the day. So good luck getting a spot. Better off going to west side of island and buying a drink at one of the resorts and using their lovely chairs

Dive was good, instructor was named Arie from Germany. Nice guy and decent equipment. 40 usd/ single dive. Always return to mango afterwards. Great except everyone smokes all the time.

Owner was not there and I think he would be disappointed with Liah. When we said enough is enough and went to leave she was short tempered and rude. Of course credit cards still did not work 4 days later, yet they worked fine everywhere else. She also surprised us with a dive tax that she casually said oh I never told you...whoops. well pay in cash as its all we can process. We asked her a few questions her response was I don't have time ask someone else. She needs to take lessons from the locals in manners. I would never hire someone so rude.

We loved the gili islands. Sad we wasted some time staying at mango. Save yourself the headaches and go to scallywags or martas...if you want luxury go to queen villas. Its empty still and we saw excellent deals, though we never stayed there.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MangoBungalows, Inhaber at Mango Dive & Bungalow, responded to this review, May 30, 2012
First off all i would like to apology to this customer.
I'm pretty sure, that some things went wrong. Otherwise nobody would give such a review.

I don't wanna reply to his subjective perception, just read other reviews and get your own impression. But i wanna make some facts clear:
- Our credit card machine was broken by a software failure. This is not recognizable by just looking at it.
- We never offered hot water, shampoo, soap, etc. and this customer agreed with the price after he has seen the room.
- Scallywags room rates are average twice as much as ours.
- For our all-you-can-eat breakfast we serve different typs of coffee and tea, pancakes, toast with any style of eggs or/and toast with butter and jam. Our meaning of toast is similar to http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Toast . If the customer gets or expects something different, sorry for this.
- Our beach front is 7 meters wide. A average sunchair is 65cm
- We have 8 (soon more) sunchairs in two rows
- The 50.000 rupiah dive tax, better known as a one time donation for the Gili Eco Trust, was accepted by the customer before the dive, cause he signed rigth below this information on our diver information form.

We try to satisfy our customers and take critics seriously. In case of any problems during your stay, please let as know immediatey so we can respond directly and make you holiday as pleasant as possible. tolerating a problem but saying nothing for a few days and then checking out disappointed is not how we want our customers leaving.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    72
    20
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
12
53
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
EoinDublin1
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

Planned on staying for 3 nights but ended up staying for 5.

Great location just opposite the best beach on Gili T for swimming and snorkeling.

About 5 mins away from the buzzing strip close enough to walk/cycle but far enough away to not be disturbed.

Georg is really helpful and his staff are the friendliest we met on our 3 week trip.

We completed our diving course with Georg and Rob and had an amazing time.

The rooms are basic but very comfortbale with an outside bathroom and (coldish) fresh water shower. Nice chill out deck with a hammock for unwinding in.

good value too.

would thoroughly recommend especially if you plan on diving.

Room Tip: we preferred the rooms to the Lumbungs as they seemed to be cooler during the day. they are also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

Mango Dive and Bungalow is located on the north eastern part of Gili Trawangan, propably the best spot on Gili T. The busy center can be reached within a few minutes and still the business doesn't reach the bungalow area.
Mango staff is perfect!! Georg, the owner, knows the island very well and always helps with tipps and recommendations. He is very friendly and keeps his place in perfect shape.

The rooms are new and spacious, beautifully furnished, with aircon and fan and some have special Balinese style doors and windows. You can choose between lumbungs, the typical Lombok style bungalows, family bungalows, standard bungalows and a larger superior bungalow. The garden is amazing, beautiful flowers everywhere, and Mango trees :)

Mango Bungalows also features a diveshop with brand new equipment and a spacious boat. The dive staff is friendly and very experienced, Wayan and Marc do an awesome job guiding through the beautiful underwater world. The variety of fish is great, you can see sharks, turtles, frog fish, scorpion fish, lion fish... many colorful reef fish and many things more.
Snorkling is brilliant right in from front of Mango. Just offshore you can find several turtles.

Everyone is superfriendly and the barkeeper Udin speaks very good English, German (and some Italian).
We enjoyed our stay from December 27th till January 10th a lot and the next time on Gili T we'll of course stay at Mango again!!

I very much recommend Mango, welcome to my paradise!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

We have had a very good time at Mango Trawangan. The bungalow was comfortable, good bed, well styled, good working airco.
The bungalow is located on the good side of Trawangan, the east, that is the best spot for snorkling if you want to see turtles, and it central located and far enough of the music.
There was no hot water shower, it was warm enough because of the sun, so we didn't care. The bungalow was clean, very friendly staff and owner, and we really liked the breakfast on the veranda.
I highly recommend Mango Bungalow.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2011 via mobile

I stayed three nights at Mango Bungalows. The gentleman that runs it is very kind. This is also a dive school.

The bungalows are simply designed with all the basics. You get a private little porch with chairs and a hommock. Open air bathroom with fresh water. Linens were crisp and clean.

Breakfast is basic, but got your day off to a good start.

Location is great, further away from the hustle and bustle of the village/wharf area. On a nice stretch of beach where you can swim and snorkel out front.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hebden Bridge, UK
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

Travelled to the Gilis and hadnt booked accommodation as off season and were pretty confident we would find somewhere. Chose this one due to price and location and it was lovely. 3 of us shared a room, it was v clean, basic but fine ! No tv/fridge etc - just beds, air con and an outdoor bathroom, open to the elements but v charming and private. No hot water but it didnt matter as it was lukewarm and all part of the charm. The room was cleaned daily, the staff were v helpful and friendly. Under the steps at the front, there was a nice seating area where we had breakfast each day - fruit/eggs/toast/coffee. We would highly recommend this place to stay,- plus the gardens are lovely and colourful !
The location - as all in the Gilis is v near to the beach and cafes/bars etc, but this is just far enough away to be a bit more peaceful. When chosing your location here, please remember it is a muslim country and calls to prayers started at about 0430 - and we could hear it !!

Room Tip: If its off season ask for special rate ! ALways ask to see the room and check what it includes - eg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

Mango Bungalows are very high standard, new build rooms and lumbungs in pretty gardens with really lovely outside bathrooms and interesting features,quiet AC units and fans.We chose and booked Mango bungalows using Trip Advisor from home and were really glad to have done all our homework beforehand as once we arrived at the island we could just relax and enjoy ourselves!Mango is set back from the road so it is nice and quiet and no one can look into your room like some other places we saw.Breakfast is huge and lovely. Georg and all his staff are very helpful,friendly and chatty and can tell you everything you need to know about the island.We stayed for 2 weeks at Mango and we were all very sad to leave for Bali at the end of it.. we had the most amazing time on Gili Trawangan -snorkelled with turtles and learnt to dive, made friends and drank beer on fantastic tropical beaches,went fishing and biking round the island.. you must go!! It is a tropical paradise!!

Room Tip: the lumbungs are fun to stay in-quite romantic with the big white mossie nets and lots of hammock ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mango Dive & Bungalow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mango Dive & Bungalow

Address: Jalan Pantai, West Nusa Tenggara 83352, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Gili Islands > Gili Trawangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 92 B&Bs / Inns in Gili Trawangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
“Perfect and charming”! Mango Dive & Bungalow offers 3 traditional lumbungs and 5 Balinese style influenced bungalows all with AC/Fan, partially open bathroom and fresh water. Liked for its tranquil location at the beach side, friendly team and “breakfast till afternoon”, served on your private terrace, surrounded by a beautiful tropical garden, it is the perfect place to stay. While chilling out in your hammock, you can stay connected with your friends via free WIFI. Relax at the beach side with white sandy beaches, crystal clear waters and a stunning underwater world. Its new opened dive resort offers you SSI and PADI dive courses from beginner to dive master level. All dive sites are within easy reach and an international, experienced and professional dive team will guide or teach you, in a relaxed, enjoyable and safe diving environment.The right place to stay, to discover and enjoy the magical tropic island Gili Trawangan. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mango Dive And Bungalow
Mango Dive & Bungalow Hotel Gili Trawangan
Mango Dive & Bungalow Gili Islands/Gili Trawangan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mango Dive & Bungalow, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Mango Dive & Bungalow to your Saves list