We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everyone happy would reccomend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Trawangan Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Trawangan Resort to your Saves list
The Trawangan Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Gili Trawangan | Pemenang, West Nusa Tenggara 83355, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Gili Trawangan
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
1 review
“Everyone happy would reccomend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

7 nights in a 2br villa, kids had their own separate room & bathroom which left us undisturbed, they loved having their own pool & the option to use the main pool. Yes its just out of the main strip but that's the fun part to rent a bike and ride off to meals each day, or ride your bike to choose a different beach spot. We enjoyed our villa it was large enough to hang out in if we didn't feel like going to the beach. Breakfast was from a menu but you could choose as many things as you liked and the food was REALLY good - we also had lunch & dinner here & food was still great. (had some shocking meals back in Bali) Rooms clean & serviced each day, staff very friendly. We cant actually think of one bad thing about our stay. Wifi wasn't strong - but hey we are all on holidays to get away from that stuff aren't we and remember we are on a tiny little island not some major city? I still managed to send off our staff wages on the wifi. Beach huts were cool to hang out in too. Cant wait to go back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thetrawangan r, Guest Relations Manager at The Trawangan Resort, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
We are so pleased to hear that you and your family enjoyed your holiday at The Trawangan Resort. The two bedroom villa is the perfect option if you have children and it's great to know they enjoyed playing in their own private pool! We are sorry that you found the Wi-Fi connection weak but we are glad this didn't affect your holiday - we have since rectified the problem so you will have a strong signal during your next stay. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    83
    44
    16
    9
See reviews for
49
116
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Booked a 2 bed villa and enjoyed the private pool. We had Villa 6 which was close to the kitchen, but not too bad.

Staff are very enthusiastic and are accommodating however sometimes language differences gets in the way. Mr Fandi at the front desk is very good and if you have any problems he is the go to man.

Breakfast was very good most days and their fresh juice (extra charge) excellent. Espresso coffee is worth the extra cost.

One thing that needs to be fixed is the WIFI. Poor at best.

The hotel is located quite a distance from the main area, but this was expected. Hire push bikes and it is not an issue.

Would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thetrawangan r, Guest Relations Manager at The Trawangan Resort, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review The Trawangan Resort, its great to hear that you had a good stay and would like to come back and see us again. We understand that language barriers
can be a problem when travelling however we now have an English resident manager who will be on hand for all our international guests to make their stay 100% hassle free. You will also be pleased to hear that we have redesigned our menus and soon a fresh juice and cappuccino or espresso will be included in the breakfast rate so you will be able to enjoy this when you return. The Wi-Fi is available in public areas and normally there is a strong signal, there can be times when connection is lost however we have now rectified this problem and do apologise is this affected your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We stayed in the Trawangan resort during a four day stay in Gili T. As we did not want to stay at the busy ‘strip’ of Gili we choose this resort at the southern part of the island.
The hotel is clean, the staff is friendly and the breakfast was nice. Downside was that each room was surrounded by big wall, that made the rooms dark.
The sea at the southern side of the island is a bit rough and it’s quite windy. We rented bicycles and during the day we stayed at the northern side of Gili T. You have good places for snorkeling and laying at the beach. If we would go to Gili again, we would choose an accommodation in the northern side.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thetrawangan r, Guest Relations Manager at The Trawangan Resort, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Thank you for your review of the Trawangan Resort and we are pleased that you had a good stay with us. The sea can be slightly rough around the south of the island and the wind can pick up but sometimes whilst being in the tropics the sea breeze is very much welcomed and the waves definitely keep the surfers satisfied! We do hope this didn't affect your stay too much and you found some calmer water whilst exploring the beautiful island. It is a shame you found the room slightly dark but we hope the surrounding walls provided you with a nice secluded villa feel whilst having all the facilities and services of a resort to hand. We do hope you come back and visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BARCELONA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012 via mobile

We stayed 4 days in October 2012. I don't recomend this hotel because:
-The wifi service is really very bad.
-The recepcionist that was working in the morning, made us to change the last night to another room without any reason.
-The breafast is not a buffet and you have to choose in a list. They charged 82000rp for two capuchinos.
-The tax in the restaurant of the hotel is 21% (the most expensive in Gili)
-The hotel very far crom the touristic area
-The beach in front of the hotel is not a good option to swim (full of stones and coral)

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thetrawangan r, Guest Relations Manager at The Trawangan Resort, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review The Trawangan Resort however we are very sorry to hear that you were unhappy during your stay. The main beach road of Gili Trawangan runs from north to south along the east coast of the island and whilst we are located on the south of the beach road we feel its the perfect position with just a short walk or bike ride to the hustle and bustle of the island but guests can also enjoy peace and relaxation on their doorstep, we are sorry to felt to far from the central area. The island is surrounded by stunning coral reef which includes the beach area at the front of the resort. We are sorry if this was a little uncomfortable on your feet and hope you managed to find and enjoy a good swim elsewhere on the island or in one of our swimming pools. The Trawangan is a boutique resort and we like to provide an individual service for each of our guests which is why we offer a fresh cooked to order breakfast and not a buffet service. We have now revised our breakfast menu which includes a cappuccino or espresso in the breakfast rate. In addition to the normal charge of 11% tax all the boutique resorts and larger hotels on the island charge a 10% service which encourages staff to maintain a high standard. We do apologise if the Wi-Fi service affected your stay, we have now rectified the problem and have a strong signal in the public areas. We hope this wasn't to much of an inconvenience to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth WA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Fantastic resort on a paradise island. Standard room was more than acceptable for a couple, mini bar prices were good. Outdoor bathroom was fantastic. very private with walls about 8 foot high. I am 6'4" tall and could easily stand under the shower rose. Photo shows the wall height there. Pool and breakfast area fantastic, great choice a la carte for brekky. Bar and restaurant area very nice on the beach but under used. Only negatives were wi fi didnt work whilst we were there and it is a bit away from the main area, although a bit of a walk after a nice meal didn't do any harm. A dip in the pool cooled us off anyway. The conversation rate used from USD to INDO Rupiah wasn't great, but not too bad to complain. Check they charge correctly for mini bar use. Overall very happy with this resort and our stay on Gili T.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thetrawangan r, Guest Relations Manager at The Trawangan Resort, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Thank you so much for your review and we are very pleased you enjoyed your holiday with us on Gili T. We are glad you particularly liked the outdoor bathroom; it is lovely to shower under the stars! We are sorry you were unable to connect to the Wi-Fi; we hope this wasn't a big inconvenience to you along with the short walk to the main area. Hopefully you allowed yourself an extra ice cream or two because of it! We will hopefully welcome you back to the Trawangan in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Hedland, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

What an amazing place!!! The villa was exquisite and very tastefully designed. The staff were wonderful and contributed to our excellent 8 day stay. We could easily have stayed on longer. My husband and I opted for a 2 bedroom villa as we wanted a private pool and even tho we paid extra it was well worth it. The pool was a good size........not a plunge pool and we had a lovely shaded hut to relax in and day beds as well.
Breakfast was good but we are not big brekkie people so we were happy. The main meals were good except we had a dish with beef one night which was really tough. Also a bit disappointed one night as happy hour was on but they finished it early as they were busy? Oh well thats a very small matter.
The tree houses were amazing there also. It was a very happy and relaxing bar/restaurant again the staff were great. It is a nice quiet part of the island and not far to walk to everything.
The beach directly in front is ok for swimming but it is much better further down near Horizontal.
We will definately be back and recommend it very highly.
It would have been really good if there was a spa attached to the resort especially after a day of sun and swimming and a walk back. That would have been the icing on the cake :)
Paradise!! Thanks to all at The Trawangan!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Right at the bottom of the main Central strip about ten minutes walk from the main action on Gili T but far enough from the bustle if you wish to escape to a quiet well designed open plan pool Villa complex next to a sandy beach.
Only negative was the poor WiFi signal

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Trawangan Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Trawangan Resort

Address: Gili Trawangan | Pemenang, West Nusa Tenggara 83355, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Gili Islands > Gili Trawangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Gili Trawangan
#2 Luxury Hotel in Gili Trawangan
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Gili Trawangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Trawangan Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the paradise island of Gili Trawangan, THE TRAWANGAN brings a superior level of comfort and sophistication to your Gili Island experience ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, AsiaRooms, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Trawangan Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Trawangan Hotel Gili Trawangan
The Trawangan Resort Gili Islands/Gili Trawangan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Trawangan Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.