We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Hotel, good choice for some quiet chilling holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Trawangan Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Trawangan Resort to your Saves list
The Trawangan Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   South Beach, Gili Trawangan | Pemenang, West Nusa Tenggara 83355, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in Gili Trawangan
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Charming Hotel, good choice for some quiet chilling holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2011

We were staying here for two nights while exploring the island, snorkelling and relaxing on the beach!
The Resort is modern, quiet, and we were staying in one of the single suites. We had a nice small private swimming pool which we shared with the 3 other suites, and each suite has a semi-open air bathroom. The hotel's location was perfect for us, their lazy treehouses and sunbeds on the beach were absolutely inviting, and if you want some "action" (like restaurants, bars..) you can easily walk up 5mins to the more busy beachstrip (next to the boat arrivals). Rent a bike for a day and cruise round the island!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    89
    47
    20
    10
See reviews for
53
123
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2011

There is not that much to add to all the other great reviews The Trawangan Resort is getting. The lockation is perfect. Two bed-room villa was excellent, everything is well-designed and charming. The beach is great. It would be an absolute paradise if all illumination at the villa worked.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2011

We stayed on Gili Trawangan for a total of 4 days. For us this was a perfect amount, as we were visiting Bali during this time. I wanted to stay in a hotel with a beautiful location right on the beach..... so I searched online quite a bit to check out the hotels. I can only tell you - best on the island! We rented bikes one day even to see the island, and not one hotel came close to having this nice of a beach and so close to the main village. So if you are looking for a nice place to stay with a little bit of luxury, then The Trawangan is your place to stay! Otherwise, most of the other places are for backpackers.

How to get there:
We booked our trip from padangbai through Sea Marlin for $35 per person (round trip). Unfortunately, the so-called 1 hour trip took 2 hours..... and the boat does not dock on the pier - the lay anchor in the bay, and then put you on an even smaller boat and you have to more or less jump into the water to get on the beach... once you get onto the island, take a horse-carriage... we ended up paying around $5, even though I know we could have gotten to the hotel for much less... but for $5, you get a very interesting ride.... it takes only 5 minutes, and you are at the hotel.

The rooms are very nice. But it is more like a hotel than a bungalow or villa. The rooms are great, we loved the outdoor shower. Only problem is that you hear your neighbors - but it was not really a big deal....

PROs
- directly on the beach
- great restaurant (recommend the Soto Ayam soup!! Mmmmmm....
- tasty breakfasts
- great view by breakfast (palm tree park)
- secluded, yet still within minutes from the main port for dinner
- staff was really upbeat, always smiling!

CONs
- for the hotel? NONE!

Tips for the island:
- in general, the beaches on this island are full of coral, so while walking into the water, you have to be careful when going into the water.
- bike ride around the island - you can rent a bike to go around the island.... but be forewarned... it took us about 2 hours... even though the guy said it takes 1 hour... in general, he forgot to mention that the path around the island is mostly sand... which makes life really difficult on bike...
- snorkelling is ok in Gili Trawangan, but I would almost recommend going on a hired tour. The coral riffs I saw by going from the beach were not so impressive. I assume the areas around the other Gili islands are better.
- eating out.... best place to eat is Beach House... but dont be afraid of the other smaller restaurants... they were much better in price.

All in all, great hotel, great staff, great location... would recommend to anyone who wants to relax, without all the hectic of the main villiage/port. If you want that, you can walk to it within max. 5-10 minutes!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2011

We stayed for 3 nights in one of the suites and loved every minute of it. The beach set-up at the front of the resort is definately a highlight, I would have to say it's the best on the island in fact. Gorgeous little treehouses to laze the day away, or just to spend the afternoon enjoying 2 for 1 cocktails and watching the surf. I had the pleasure of checking out one of the 2 bedroom villas and they are superb, the owners clearly have good taste and it shows. Breakfast was great, they have espresso coffee and the banana pancakes are the best I have ever had. Oh and the WiFi is incredibly fast!
The Trawangan Resort is in a perfect position too, just far enough out of town to be relaxing and feel a little exclusive, but only minutes away from all the action.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2011

This small hotel is fantastically located away from the noise but still within an easy walk to the bars and restaurants, to get there walk past Ombak Hotel (great fish dinner buffet) and then past Ko Ko Mo hotel (exposed beach front with a bit of a smelly pong from drains).
Good rooms, clean and well laid out with all that is needed. Stayed in villa 8 which consists of 4 individual rooms which share a small pool and break out area, would be good for a group of friends. Breakfast excellent and enjoyed in the main pool area / garden away from the beach. Food very good and can be taken beach side or pool side, or in the tree houses on the beach which catch the breeze. Staff: excellent service, young, energetic and have good english and sense of humor. Great beach in front of hotel, kept clean of washed up rubbish and has sun beds/chairs. Staff come by often to take drink orders and clear the empties. Only been opened less than one year and will become a popular choice. Great snorkelling out front to the left of where the waves break, i.e. in front of Ombak & Ko Ko Mo, appx 200m off shore, saw turtles everytime we snorkelled, big trigger fish, some good coral and even a sizeable moray eel - drop off quite impressive and can see some larger fish passing by in deep water. Cant forget the massage we had, one of the best to date.

Room Tip: book or get there early as the place to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2011

We spent 6 fantastic days at The Trawangan Resort in one of their 2-bed villas. Would highly recommend a visit if you're looking for something off-the-beaten-path but highly luxurious. We loved relaxing by our private pool, interacting with Garth and his attentive team, and enjoying the beautiful setting. Will miss the breakfast pancakes with blueberry topping!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2011

Absolutely awesome. From the beautiful clear aqua surf to the luxurious accomodation, this is the one. Cannot speak highly enough of it. Magnificent.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Trawangan Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Trawangan Resort

Address: South Beach, Gili Trawangan | Pemenang, West Nusa Tenggara 83355, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Gili Islands > Gili Trawangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Gili Trawangan
#3 Luxury Hotel in Gili Trawangan
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Gili Trawangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Trawangan Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the south beach of Gili Trawangan, THE TRAWANGAN RESORT brings a superior level of comfort and sophistication to your Gili Island experience ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your The Trawangan Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Trawangan Hotel Gili Trawangan
The Trawangan Resort Gili Islands/Gili Trawangan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Trawangan Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.