We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I don't understand how this place is so highly rated” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Danima Resort & Restaurant

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Danima Resort & Restaurant to your Saves list
Danima Resort & Restaurant
West Nusa Tenggara 83553, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Gili Trawangan
Ashby de la Zouch, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“I don't understand how this place is so highly rated”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

The only only good thing about this hotel is its staff. They go out of their way to help and will help arrange anything for you. Unfortunately the rest if the hotel needs some work.
The bed sheets have stains and cigarette burns in them.
The curtains don't fit the windows so let light in and wake you up and people can see in your room.
The towels are old, stained and falling to bits.
There is a bar next door playing loud music until the early hours every night.
The air con doesn't get the room cold enough so it's hard to sleep.

We're not picky travellers and I have stayed in many places that are worse but you when paying 130 usd per night and staying at a "resort" in a "delux" room I was expecting much more.

We were on our honeymoon and very disappointed. I really don't understand how it's the 3rd best place on gili t. We walked round the island and saw much better places.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    50
    11
    6
    7
See reviews for
28
142
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lugano, Svizzera
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Me and my wife just returned from Danima Resort and I have to say that the good reviews on Tripadvisor were absolutely true. This is a small resort (just 4 cottage), 15 mins walk from Gili T downtown with a friendly and taking-care staff. Food is absolutely genuine cooked in a real italian style (in my whole life in just one other occasion I've eaten spaghetti outside Italy!).
I would surely recommend Danima Resort to all my friends and if I would go again no doubt I'll stay here.

For future customers I would just give a small suggestion: to go to Gili T downtown it's better to rent a bike than walking as it's faster (and very cheap!).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, UK
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

4 beautiful and spacious villas set around a lovely pool in a great part of the island with turtles outside your front door, the beach 30 seconds away and free sunloungers!!!!
Head any further north and you'll be in the incredibly quiet part of the island, a five minute walk further south and you're likely to be kept awake at night (if you're not out partying) by one of the late night bars,
For us it was a perfect location ... A 10 minute walk south and you're in the heart of the island, but a few minutes and you have some lovely laid back bars and restaurants to choose from.
A little pricier than some other options in this area but by far the nicest and you're talking about a ten dollar difference per night, for a pool and a great location a few steps from the beach.
The staff are ridiculously helpful and friendly ... Particularly the lovely Suzanna and Tony who can't do enough to help you.
This place is spotlessly clean and swept to within an inch of it's life!
The restaurant also serves great food ... Particularly pasta and Annie's afternoon cake is a must at tea time!
The beds were a little firm but not rock hard like a few of the other hotels on the island.

We snorkelled with the turtles right outside the hotel ... Pop over the road to hire snorkels and walk further north for a couple of minutes on the beach ... Before you get to the corner head into the water (backwards if you're wearing flippers) and don't swim out as far as the small drop off to see the turtles ... Morning is a great time to catch them as it seems to be breakfast time for them and you can just drift back with the tide to about a 2 minute walk past Danima the other way.
The only downside is the coral on the beach ... You need some sort of footwear to get out to swim
But it's like swimming in a fish tank when you get out there ... Head as far as the drop off and you'll see trigger fish, moorish idols, butterfly fish and a host of other interesting fish that I can't remember the names of!

To all at Danima thanks so much for a fabulous stay and Sampai Jumpa!!!

Room Tip: We stayed in 3 of their 4 villas over our stay ... All are spacious with great bathrooms and warm fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Danima is located just far enough away from the hustle and bustle, but close enough to walk to other restaurants and bars etc. It is certainly worth mentioning the fantastic staff, who went out of their way to ensure we were as comfortable and happy as possible. Particular mention to 'tony', who was attentive and warm at all times.
The hotel itself is made up of only a few well finished and spotless villas, lovely pool and excellent restaurant, sitting opposite the beach. Bikes and snorkels are available there also.
Hopefully gili t stays serene and calm and does not get over ridden by developments..
Thank you for the 4 nights we spent with you at Danima!

Room Tip: Choose a villa at the back of the group for the quietest
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

this was our 2nd stay at Danima and we would go there again tomorrow if possible. We were met by the gorgeous staff there when we got off the boat which took us directly to the beach in front of the resort. It was like going home. We have Villa number 2 same as last year. Our daughter was 2 1/2 last time and now at 3 1/2 she could really take in the surroundings. The Villa was perfectly clean, the extra bed had flowers on it as did the King size bed and we quickly hired our pushbikes down the road and went for a ride. When Daniela and Luca (the owners) arrived it was like catching up with friends. We hugged and laughed and chatted, they do an amazing job of making you feel like one of the family. The staff at the resort were yet again absolutely amazing! Susan, the gorgeous smiling Annie, Elios and the boys were always playing with our daughter, helping us and doing whatever they could to make our stay fantastic. I have to say that we stay all over Bali and Lombok and Danima has the best yoghurt, muesli and fruit breakfast we have had! We will definately go back (hopefully next year) and spend more than 5 days there as it is our little piece of paradise. With the snorkelling beach in front, the salt water pool and the beautiful people who could ask for more.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

We can never forget the five days spent at Danima Resort
The beauty of the rooms, the atmosphere romantic, candlelit dinners on the beach, the warmth and friendliness of the staff and the delicious cuisine of Daniela.
This and more is the Danima Resort!
Thanks to daniela to luca Clara and all the staff for this unforgettable Honeymoon

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

We loved staying at Danima. Mainly because of the wonderful friendly staff. Always smiling and our room was cleaned two times a day (not really necessary) but still great service. Trawangan is a bit expensive, so the price of the room (about 125 dollars in peak season) is maybe fair, but you don't get a lot extra for that amount. Only a good location on the beach, good service and a nice, but nothing special, large room. Good bed.

When we arrived at the "harbour", we were told that Danima was very far away, but that wasn't our interpretation. Only a 15 min stroll down the main road. The beach in front of the hotel is wonderful, private and a great starting point for a snorkeling trip down the beach, meeting big turtles and what not. The view of Lombok and Gili Meno is amazing.

There is a couple of eating places next to Danima and a small kiosk selling cigarettes and soda/water and a snorkeling-equipment rental, so you have everything to enjoy the day by and in the sea.

But for the better restaurants and nightlife you have to walk 5-15 minutes. Not a problem, sweet locals and tourists, nothing to be afraid of even when it's dark (if anybody was apprehensive about that)
15 minutes walk to the other side of the island for the crazy beautiful sunset overlooking Bali and Mt. Agung.

So thank you to the young staff of Danima to make us feel welcome (we sure hope they are paid good - they are good, good "kids")

Gili was one of the best places on our trip, but everybody was talking about Air, so hopefully we will get to stay there someday.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Danima Resort & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Danima Resort & Restaurant

Address: West Nusa Tenggara 83553, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Gili Islands > Gili Trawangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Gili Trawangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort was opened by Daniela and Pancrazio Palmieri in 2009 and is thereby one of the newest on Gili Trawangan. Only four Deluxe Cottage are situated within a beautifully arranged tropical garden with look on the pool. Our double-bed rooms are set with: fresh hot water, air con, Dvd, frigobar, safety box and free wi-fi. Located right on the beachfront, with seating on the beach, our restaurant is always open enjoy one of our delicious meals overlooking the ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Danima Resort & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Danima Resort And Restaurant
Danima Resort & Restaurant Hotel Gili Trawangan
Danima Resort & Restaurant Gili Islands/Gili Trawangan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Danima Resort & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.